We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The location is excellent but meals could be more attractive and more healthy. For travelers, breakfast is very important to start the very day every morning. I wish I could have enjoyed it much more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Hikaru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,066 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Most people just stay in transit for one day. We were a wedding group and the first impressions are striking and modern. Parking reasonable for £5 per night. Swift check in with hot cookie accepted with pleasure.
Room large and clean with a fridge and ironing board. A trip to the Bar with friendly and knowledgeable staff.
Good nights sleep on a mattress to die for. Breakfast was good and although very busy you could order "Eggs to Order" I noted that house keeping had been roped in to support the rush of breakfast
All in all a pleasant stay of 4 nights for the delights of Newcastle

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for the air side runway view. You only get a glimpse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJW153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear TJW153, thank you for reviewing our hotel, it's great to read that you enjoyed our facilities, our bedrooms are modern and well equipped, and our bar and restaurant staff are very well trained in a high level of service. We hope that we will see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely clean, comfortable and modern hotel, and even though right next to the airport the noise was kept low due to treble glazing windows.
The only fault we had was with the restaurant, there was a large group of us (18 pre-booked), the staff were great on arrival, sorting drinks and food orders, but 45 mins after our starters arrived we ask where I mains were, we were told they were coming. An hour after starters we found out there had been a small fire in the kitchen and the fire brigade had been called to give the all clear. These things happen, but why were we not told about the problem and the delay. At about 10pm (we sat down at 8pm) we got our mains, give the staff their due after complaining to them they did give us a large discount.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willowslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Have been using this hotel regularly since it opened. There were a few teething troubles soon after its début, but that is now well in the past. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The restaurant works, and the bar is relaxing. But its the staff that deserve the accolades. Knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. They are the success story behind this continued improvement, I cannot praise them highly enough. I actually look forward to my stays, calm comfortable and no drama.

Thanks DT, great job.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Parky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here a couple of times now and its superb. Really clean, fresh and classy. The food in the restaurant is really nice and i will certainly use this as my hotel of choice whenever I'm in the area. If youre flying out of Newcastle, you won't find anything more conveniently placed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I booked a local venue for our wedding and the DoubleTree Hilton helped to arrange some guest accommodation.
Emma, the events manager was fantastic and organised a selection of amazing rooms. All of our guests commented on the quality of the rooms, the comfort of the beds and the excellent breakfast!
We had a great nights stay and a special thanks to the staff for adding romantic touches to our room! It was a lovely surprise!

The airport is within walking distance so it was also great for some of our guests who had flew in.
Lorna and Simon x

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angel_of_the_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed in the Double Tree on the 24th May 14. No complaints, the Hotel was great and we were welcomed with warm Cookies (a great touch). Everything was great. The bar was well stocked and the staff were quick and professional.

I would say however that there is a fine line between tentative bar staff recommending someone a drink and ignorant bar staff who spend a considerable amount of time chatting with a customer who clearly isn't ready to order and is just wasting time, this is quite minor although when there is a busy bar and someone repeatedly asks "What's strong and cheap" 3 or 4 times, it's time to serve someone else.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,085 reviews
6 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,305 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#27 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,503 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range: £56 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing