We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfortable Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel for a wedding at Dissington Hall. We received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was very clean, comfortable & quiet - amazing as we were only 200m from the airport. The room was also a good size, & the bed very comfortable. Rooms were kept immaculate by staff who were unobtrusive & efficient. Nice breakfast buffet available as well. I am just amazed at how effective this hotel's sound proofing is as they were fully booked, we did not hear other guests or any aircraft noise, would definitely recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: we were in room 262 - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank persie127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were passing through town and stayed here because we knew we could count on a quality hotel by Doubletree/Hilton. We were absolutely correct in our choice. The parking was excellent, the rooms were large by European standards, very clean, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and an excellent breakfast buffet. It's also very nice to have a dinner restaurant located on the premises. The rooms are very well soundproofed because we got absolutely no aircraft noise at night. It was also quite a treat to have air conditioning that worked well. Plus, the warm chocolate chip cookies on arrival are a huge perk :) We were very happy with our choice for a one night stay and can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I have just spent the night at the Doubletree Newcastle Airport, and had an excellent time! We were warmly greeted by Adam in Reception, and he ensured that we had all that we needed for our stay. Dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant were excellent with a friendly staff who looked after us exceptionally well, and first-rate food.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: I always ask for a high level room away from the lifts. It often involves walking a bit, but I'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Douglas0504, thank you for your fantastic review of our hotel, we will ensure that your comments are passed to Adam. I am glad that you enjoyed your meals with us also, and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We booked this hotel as we were booked on a 6 am flight the following day. This meant checking in from 3.30 am onwards. Sadly this meant that we did not partake of the hotel's breakfast but did however sample the bar offerings and the restaurant menu. The former was highly priced (for the North East) and the latter slow in providing ones food. The room was however excellent but due to our time constraints we could not avail ourselves of it for too long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank knowlesian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Setting just a few feet (two minute walk) from the Newcastle International Airport is the Doubletree hotel. A little pricey for an airport hotel but the amenities are worth it. This is a very good hotel because of its large rooms, modern fixtures, cleaniness, parking, functioning A/C, great wifi connectivity, and adjacent restaurant (airport restaurants are also available within the airport main lobby). The staff were friendly and professional, the cookies they hand out were a hit, and the parking is on the property (for a small surcharge). Breakfast is provided for a reasonable surcharge. Be aware that the GPS location (Hertz Never Get Lost unit) brought us within a quarter of a mile of the property but not within sight. I had to stop at the Premier Inn down the street to ask for directions at which time I was instructed to continue to drive in the same direction another 800 yards, though two round abouts, and I will see the property. They do need signage on the road leading to the property or at least to the airport entrance. Surprisingly, there is minimal to no aircraft noise although the hotel is not far from one of the runways.

Room Tip: Some of the hallways are long so ask for a room near an elevator to reduce long hall walks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed before and after our holiday. Very high standard and the friendly professionalism of the staff was a delight to experience. Do not hesitate to stay at this hotel you will not be disappointed or let down.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a lovely hotel! Where do I start? From the super friendly receptionist, to the delicious home cooked cookie, to the fab grade cask ale? Not to mention the fantastic rib eye steak! I've not even commented yet on the King size bed I could play cricket on, THIS HOTEL IS SUPERB! Anyone and I mean anyone travelling from Newcastle airport, even if you live in Newcastle must MUST try an overnight stay here! Just wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pallionlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
3.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#33 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,094 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,446 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,528 reviews
6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range: £54 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing