We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night sleep in a long time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best night sleep in a long time”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. Just stayed the one night as I was flying to malaga the following morning but I wished I.could have stayed much longer. The room was beautifully clean with everything you needed.to make your stay a good one. The. Established thing was the welcome cookie, such a good idea and I can safely say it goes down a treat with the hot chocolate served on your tea,coffee tray.

Look forward to.staying here again!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank stevensliam93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear stevensliam93, thank you very much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially your Doubletree cookie! We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,146
    595
    117
    35
    39
See reviews for
236
893
127
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here the night before an early flight for our holiday. There was a bit of a queue to check in due to a wedding party arriving but when we got to the front of the queue service was quick and efficient. Our room was modern and spacious, king size super comfy bed and pillows with a large shower in the bathroom. Fridge kettle large tv etc all looked brand new. Not much space for hanging clothes but not the sort of place you would spend more than a couple nights so not a problem. Had dinner in Frattellis restaurant which was very tasty but service was a little slow. Good night's sleep, no noise from other guests in the corridors considering there was wedding party and the drinks were flowing in the bar! Breakfast again in Frattellis which was excellent - buffet style with a very good hot and cold choice. Very short walk just across the road to the airport terminal for a leisurely start to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlesintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I use this hotel a few tfavouritees per year if I have early flights. On this occasion I was treating my 17 year old daughter to a long weekend away in Amsterdam. My daughter is high maintenance and her list of demands and the fact it takes her ages to get ready I thought it would probably be best if I used up some of my hhonors points and got two rooms for her and a room for myself.

Check in. Brilliant, the young receptionist knew my face from past stays and we chatted about my daughter being a nervous traveller. I took my welcome envelope consisting of two breakfast vouchers, two drinks vouchers and a letter from the duty manager welcoming myself back...as a gold hhonors member I always receive an upgrade but on this occasion although it said my room had been upgraded it hadn't...to be fair though I did state in my booking that if I didn't receive an upgrade I wished to have the two room numbers that I got.

The room (154) itself is of a high standard..the large LCD tv has free view channels and the room has an ironing board and iron. The bathroom only had a large shower in which the water seemed to pour out of the bottom of the glass door as there was a problem with the drainage of surplus water in the shower unit. I always have a wonderful sleep in the Doubletree bed..the mattress is just right as are the pillows.

Breakfast. I do love the Doubletree breakfast..it is the only time I make a pig of myself (Not when i'm going to connect to a long haul flight though)
the restaurant breakfast staff are always very friendly asking if I needed anything extra cooked. My daughter did spot the the window blinds were dirty and the floor beside the blinds looked dirty as well...I thought not to mention it until check out.

Check out. Swift check out from again a friendly new faced member of staff. I was asked if everything went ok during our stay and at that point I brought the dirty blinds/flooring up...the receptionist thanked us for bringing it up and would act on it...and at that point my daughter and I received two vouchers of £20 each..i'm not sure if my gold status had anything to do with it or not though?. I would hope not.

This hotel is one of my favourite hotels and i'm so pleased it's at NCL airport. I always have a nice stay..it's a great start to any trip away whether short, medium or long haul. Using points to pay for rooms is a dream 10,000 for a free room or 4,000 + £22 is simply awesomely fantastic especially when I receive top wifi, a free drink, a free breakfast and a room upgrade.

Thanks for another great stay and see you next month :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Excellent room, well worth room upgrade total room price £82 per night, we make this a night before we fly, even though we live within a hours drive, feel of luxury great staff and restaraunt, 2 min walk to airport terminal, refreshed for our holidays

Room Tip: Runway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samtranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked a deluxe room for 2 nights, but was very disappointed. Room small and mot that clean. All felt a bit tired and sticky. When we asked what the difference was between a 'deluxe room' and a standard room, we were surprised to be told they are exactly the same rooms with deluxe having addition of bottled water, slippers and robe - not worth the extra cost especially when we had to ask for the water. We ate in the Italian restaurant one evening and I had the worst bowl of risotto I have ever tasted. When I complained the manager told me it was a very popular dish that was obviously not to my taste. I wish I had pointed out to the manager that a customers taste is not for him to pass opinion on. He is not Gordon Ramsey and should remember some of his guests may be Michelin trained chefs!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank elihenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear elihenderson, many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry to read that you did not find your bedroom to your expectations, we pride ourselves on providing clean and comfortable accommodation with modern amenities. Our Italian restaurant serves a contemporary menu made with fresh and locally sourced ingredients. I can assure you that your comments will be passed to the relevant departments to ensure that the quality and standards our guests expect are maintained. I hope that this will not deter you from returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for one night before catching a morning flight from Newcastle airport.
We were greated at the reception by a pleasant young man who gave us hot chocolate chip cookies.
We were shown to our room which was lovely however on inspection i noticed there was no bath. I like to have a bath so we rang down to ask if there was another room available with a bath. There was and we were shown to this room which was even nicer than the first. On top of that we were also given 2 vouchers for free drinks for the inconvenience!
We ordered breakfast early, about 6am but as room service with a hot breakfast had not started yet and i wanted to eat in my room my husband was able to go down to the restaurant and bring me back a hot breakfast. The hotel was a stones through from the Airport terminal and very good value for money. We will definatley stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank velvetbrownova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was the second time we've used the park and fly deal. Had another fantastic meal in the hotel, looked after by friendly efficient staff, then had a lovely sleep in the big comfy bed. We were flying to Malaga at 7 am and live 1hr from the airport so for us this really is the easiest way to have a short break abroad, and it is the only way we will ever do it again (if it's an early flight...) Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.2 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,080 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,373 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,182 reviews
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,074 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing