We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, the facilities in the hotel were great and a high standard of cleanliness. Definitely great value for money. Unfortunately on a number of occasions over our three day stay we found that the staff were not always helpful and friendly which was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank andrewmA7657KQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,076
    563
    106
    32
    38
See reviews for
218
829
117
428
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
232 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed for one Saturday night recently. The hotel is very close to the airport. If you come out of the terminal building and look to your left, you'll see it.

The staff were helpful and pleasant. My room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a well equipped bathroom.

Breakfast was buffet style and adequate, and the room rate (including breakfast) was just £70.

I would definitely stay at the hotel again when next in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Coach55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel to be great value in a great location. The room was excellent as we're the staff, we did report a leaky shower which was not fixed. There is some aircraft noise but not during the night and the blackout curtains make it acceptable. The parking is very good and on the whole we would stay there again. It's just a shame they did not take more care over the maintenance

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gerard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear G_P56_12, thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that the problem with your shower was not rectified, this feedback has been passed to the relevant department. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay otherwise, and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Superb hotel with extremely welcoming and friendly hotel and restaurant staff. Room was immaculately decorated, modern, and spotless. Location excellent, within a few steps of the airport. Room was very quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Garth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Had to wait to be checked in but staff were dealing with people properly and not rushing them. The welcome warm cookies are great. The rooms are a good size with ample storage space. The bed is comfy. Large flat screen tv with lots of channels. All the staff are helpful. Parking is reasonable at £5 for guests. With the metro newcastle and the coast are very accessible. Hadrians wall is a rp moon drive. This would be my hotel of choice if in the area and I could get another bargain rate

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsutdskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This was a great value hotel and perfect for when flying from Newcastle airport.

The terminal building is less than a 2 minute walk from the hotel which was particularly good for me when my flight departed at 6:30am!

Upon checkin you will be given a warm chocolate cookie which was a nice welcoming touch and there is free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel still has a new feel to it and includes everything that you would expect from a hilton hotel. Everything was really clean and comfortable bed for a good nights sleep.

Given the close proximity to the airport there was quite a bit of plane noise which may disturb your sleep. This is to be expected given how close you are but bear this in mind!

Overall good value and well located for travel from the airport. I wouldn't stay here for any other purpose though. Well done!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Internship10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatherineG_DOS, Director of Sales at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Internship10, thank you for your kind review. Our location makes us perfect for travellers using Newcastle Airport. I am so glad you enjoyed your time here and I hope that you will book with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for just one night. I really enjoyed it. The check-in at reception was very welcoming and they were really helpful. Had a cocktail in the bar, which was good. After that a dinner in the restaurant. The food was amazing. Staff was very friendly, although a bit slow towards the end. However, the manager explained that they had a lot of unexpected guests from a cancelled flight, so it was understandable. Breakfast in the morning was good and again very friendly staff. The room was really nice and didn't have a lot of noice from the airplanes. I would definitely return and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KvZ92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
6.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
6.4 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#16 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Address: Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8BZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering contemporary, upscale accommodation and ideally situated adjacent to the terminal building, express links to Newcastle city centre via Metro and the A1, it is the perfect hotel for business and leisure travellers.The hotel has five meeting rooms with inbuilt state-of-the-art AV and function suite to accommodate 40 to 150. Fratello’s restaurant offers guests a range of Italian cuisine with more informal dining options available in the hotel’s Columbus Bar. Boasting 179 spacious en-suite bedrooms with complimentary internet access, soundproof windows and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds; it also has a business centre, 24-hour room service, fitness centre, continental lounge and onsite car parking including Park and Fly options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing