We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Certificate of Excellence
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't eat here”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I always used this as a stop over until the food got very poor. I hoped on a recent trip to Newcastle that it may have improved since then, I was wrong. Three meals purchased the first night - two had substantial amounts left on the plate since they were dry and generally un-eatable. The next morning my daughter-in-laws breakfast bacon was so over cooked she couldn't actually get a fork or knife into it. Hotel was very nice but the next night we went to The Badger pub down the road so we didn't have to eat a dinner there again. Horrendous!!

Room Tip: All rooms good just don't use the eating facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christineKL48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    158
    65
    24
    6
See reviews for
162
154
37
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This Premier Inn is located about 1 mile from Newcastle Airport, ideal location if you are flying from Newcastle or if you are planning to visit Newcastle and surrounding area. My wife & I stopped here for one night and as usual it was to the expected high standard that you get at all Premier Inn locations. The staff were very friendly we did not eat at the adjoining restaurant as we were planning to eat elsewhere but The menu did look tempting however. I would highly recommend this location it's easy access to the A1 less than a mile away, Airport again about 1 mile away, 15 mins from Newcastle City centre, price unbelievable for what you get.

Room Tip: We had room to front of hotel away from airport side, it was quiet, not sure if you hear planes taki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAL000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Close to the airport and the metro station is just opposite so a trip into Newcastle is a breeze. There is a pub next door serving good value meals. This was ideal for our short break to see a concert in Gateshead.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel ticked all the boxes for cost, comfort, quietness and being near the airport. Good clean rooms and a good shower. Plenty parking and a good Fair Square pub/restaurant next door. Pleasant friendly staff in both places .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandaudrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback regarding our clean and comfortable rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

very nice comfortable Premier Inn - i would stay again, staff were helpful and it was close to the places i visited. i would not have an evening meal unless you like microwave meals, b.reakfast was ok

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
416 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Does what it says on the tin...... welcoming staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Surprisingly quiet given the proximity of the airport. Sadly the adjacent eatery is poor. Avoid if possible, although not part of the Premier Inn itself.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kernowcouple94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently stayed in Newcastle Airport South Premier Inn to visit family in Gateshead. Now, this may seem a strange hotel to stay in for the location of where we were visiting, especially as there is a Premier Inn only 5 mins away from my family, but the location of this particular hotel is right next to the Metro and meant that I could go into Newcastle, Gateshead, the seaside and even to Sunderland (if I really wanted to) without having to use the car. The hotel is next to a 'Fayre & Square' pub which was ideal for breakfast and also having a drink in the evening before turning in for the night.

With regards to the room and staying there, it was great. My fiancee suffers from a bad back and we have an orthopedic mattress at home. This normally causes problems when we stay away from home as the mattresses are normally substandard for her needs, however the mattresses at Premier Inn never cease to impress us and it really was a relaxing and peaceful stay, despite being close to the airport. The noise from outside was never an issue.

The rooms were impeccably kept and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, General Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms and for taking the time to write a review; we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Mark Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolsington
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
2.0 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Airport
Novotel Newcastle Airport
#33 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airport
Britannia Hotel Newcastle Airpor...
#69 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
5.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#13 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
5.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel
Address: Callerton Lane, Woolsington, Newcastle upon Tyne NE13 8DF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne > Woolsington
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Woolsington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Newcastle Airport South hotel is an ideal stopover if you're jetting in or out, visiting Newcastle or the local area. We're only 0.3 miles from the airport and 200 yards from Callerton Parkway Metro station leading to Newcastle City Centre. After time spent in the air or out and about exploring, retire to our spacious rooms and ultra comfy beds. Whether your stay is for business or leisure we have you covered and with free parking for hotel guests it doesn't get much more convenient than a flying visit to Premier Inn Newcastle Airport South. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel Woolsington
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport (South) Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne/Woolsington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing