We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbots Salford
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Booked mid week for the steak offer, when given the menu the offer wasnt on there and we had to ask. We had the steak but it was very salty in fact the whole meal was very salty and when they point was made the waiter just had no response. The room was too brightly light and there was no atmosphere.

This hotel looks lovely from the outside hence wanting to go, it looked charming and full of character but we wont be returning it was cold and souless.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    360
    125
    56
    40
See reviews for
118
588
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2014

There is nothing bad to say about this stay. The log fire a bonus on a cold wet January night, the lounge was comfortable and the service from all the staff was exceptional. The Tudor house and themed rooms are picturesque and alothough raining on my visit the surrounds were rural and interesting

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We went to this hotel with a groupon voucher, so we didn't pay full price. The room was quite small and I wondered was this because we didn't pay the full price. The rooms advertised on the web site were much nicer than the one we had. We were also the youngest people staying in the hotel, the was an elderly coach trip staying so maybe they got the rooms with the four poster beds. Room was clean and ok, nothing special really. Bar downstairs was tiny but ok. Nice conservatory area to drink in, lovely a bright. Food in the restaurant was ok, nothing special really. A really lovely pub along the road called The Bell if you want excellent food. I wish we had eaten there both nights of our stay. The outside of the hotel looks amazing and I loved all the information about the old parts of the building, hanging around the walls. It was an average hotel and from the outside I expected much more so bit of a disappointment on the whole.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marston Moretaine, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived and checked in by 3pm, had to sit with my coat on in our room as the central heating was on a timer and the room was freezing. Moved to a second room, heating working but still very cold, was given a fan heater but unfortunately this was broken. Room was covered in cobwebs, house keeping obviously absent. Moved to room 3, a four poster room in another building. Charming you might think, bed dirty, but at least the room was warm. Breakfast is missable, lack of quality ingredients apparent, lack of stock visible, ran out of fresh fruit, yogurts and pastries very disappointing. On a plus side the duty staff were kind, understanding and visibly embarrassed. This gorgeous building needs a serious injection of cash and somebody with taste and vision to bring it up to the standard it deserves. The lack of effective leadership and management is evident.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalfordHall, Sales Manager at Best Western Salford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your candid commentary on your recent visit; we hope that all guests will enjoy their stay and are saddened to hear this was not the case on your visit.

The housekeeping and breakfast issues raised are most concerning and have been passed to the relevant HOD's for review. I''m pleased to hear the on-duty staff did all they could to rectify the failings.

We would like to assure you that your comments and observations have been taken seriously and the appropriate action will be taken in order to ensure we maintain our standards of service in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This hotel could be perfect but the heating and the food were a let down when I stayed. Got moved to another room as the radiator didn't work (It was -2 outside) BUT the food was a real let down. Lunch had finished when I arrived (1.45 pm) so had to have 'bar food' - "Roast Beef and Horseradish on Bloomer Sandwich" was actually roast beef with cream cheese with chives on a tesco's finest sliced loaf. Breakfast, advertised to run from 7.30 to 10.30 on a Sunday; arrived for breakfast at 10 to be told that the chef had finished, so no cooked breakfast. Finally go a cooked breakfast, just as well as the buffet was empty; no croissants, no fruit, only yoghurt to put on the cereal. Staff friendly but you get tired of having to ask for everything that should be there; clearly at this time of the year they would rather not be troubled with guests. If you want to eat when you go there, there is a pretty good pub down the road.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalfordHall, Sales Manager at Best Western Salford Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Salford Hall.

I'm pleased to hear you found our staff welcoming, and appreciated the beauty and charm of the building; though I'm terribly sorry to hear of the issues you encountered during your stay.

Your comments regarding the below-par food served have been passed to the kitchen team.

The efficiency and effectiveness of our heating system when it is first turned on is an inevitable consequence of the age, size and nature of our building, nevertheless, this should not have been allowed to impact on your stay. We have reviewed the timings of our heating to ensure this does not affect future guests; and thank you for bringing the matter to our attention, giving us the opportunity to improve.

Despite the problems raised I do hope you'll consider visiting us again if you are in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimbledon, London
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We arrived at this beautiful Tudor hotel as the light was fading on 30th December 2013. We were welcomed with afternoon tea in front of a real log fire (rather strange portraits on walls). We had booked two singles but were upgraded to doubles, my male companion being allocated a superb four-poster room in Tudor Court (29, which I coveted); I had a room in the main building (5). This was fine until New Year's Eve when I discovered it was over the disco and early-hours revellers!! The gala dinner was held in a marquee, which was rather chilly, but the food superb. Fresh berries were a lovely touch at breakfast. The staff were helpful and hard-working, turning their hand to different roles and working long hours to ensure their guests had a great time. Only one real concern and that was the lack of a grab rail in the bath/shower. We are 'mature' travellers and my friend suffered a nasty slip and hurt his knee. I am surprised it is not an 'elf and safety consideration when refurbishing bathrooms. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 night package over the New Year, and thought it very good value. We arrived on Monday, and tea / coffee scones & cakes were available on arrival. Dinner was excellent, as it has been on every other stay. Breakfast was very good - and a great improvement on our last stay. The gala black tie dinner was excellent - champagne and canapes, then 2 pipers to pipe us into dinner. Everything was well organised. A great way to bring in 2014!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abbots Salford
3.6 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,006 reviews
4.5 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
548 reviews
6.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,082 reviews
5.1 mi away
Travelodge Stratford Alcester
8.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Best Western Salford Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Address: Evesham Road | off the A46, Abbots Salford WR11 8UT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Abbots Salford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abbots Salford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Salford Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Salford Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Abbots Salford
Abbots Salford Best Western
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel Abbots Salford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing