We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”
Review of Newforge House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Newforge House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magheralin
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were delighted to find such a wonderful boutique guesthouse so close to Belfast.It really is a hidden gem and since our visit I have told lots of people about this special place.It is difficult to find a luxurious country house in Northern Ireland that doesn't need updating but Newforge House has achieved that wonderful mix of an old house with modern features. The food cooked by John the owner is fantastic and it is not surprising that he has won awards for his cuisine.We were also very well looked after by both Eithne and Hannah who helped make our stay so comfortable.We loved this place and will return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hannah room and it was large and luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
127
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I loved this small but luxurious country house with a personal touch.
We ate there both nights and the food was excellent with lovely friendly service.
Rooms and house in general were of a very high standard- just beautiful.
Fiona and Gerry march 2014

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramelton, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Newforge House really is a gem. It is a beautifully restored house with every modern convenience . The bedrooms and bathrooms are large and comfortable . The food is excellent and prepared with great attention to detail by chef/ owner John. The service is warm and friendly . Overall this is a wonderful place and we will definitely return

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kb-claragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Newforge House is a wonderful wee gem should you require an escape for some relaxation with superb cuisine ( John is an amazing chef!)
This old yet very cosy house has a number of bedrooms & a lovely lounge area which had a blazing fire going when we arrived. Located near Magheralin this would be an excellent spot to use as a base for touring counties Down & Armagh. Whilst Moira is within easy reach of an affordable taxi I wouldn't bother dining out as you would miss the highlight of the experience in the dining room. Only one table can be booked for non-residents although if staying you may bring guests. If this was my local restaurant I'd be a regular. Newforge is a perfect size to host a private family / friends gathering and even though it's on my own doorstep I will definitely return soon.

Room Tip: look at all the rooms as they differ a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bellefast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed with a group of friends for one night and from arrival until we left everything was simply perfect. John and his staff are amazing hosts and the simple little touches they provide add to the overall experience.
We stayed in the Pickering room on the third floor. The room was spacious and had every comfort including a large bathroom. The bedding was the most luxurious I have ever slept in. Toiletries from the white company are lovely and towels fluffy and luxurious.
Our meal was delicious, every course was served with great attention to detail and my fillet steak was absolutely perfect. Vegetables left you wondering what he had done to make them so tasty and the staff were happy to tell us exactly how they were cooked. The fresh breads were irresistible. Cheeses and dessert were special and service was the best one could wish for.
Breakfast also was amazing. Fresh fruit, yoghurt,compotes and the usual Ulster fry with a vegetarian option served with their free range eggs again fantastic.
Don't hesitate to come here. I'm already thinking about how I can manage a return visit.
This place is special. Thank you John and staff for a memorable stay. I didn't want to leave!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowsfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

There is nothing about this place that you can fault. 100% satisfaction

I stayed here for just one night whilst in Craigavon on business and I really wish I had more time there

The house is stunning, both inside and out. Unfortunately we were not blessed with good weather whilst we were there, so didn't get the opportunity to explore the grounds of the house.

We were warmly welcomed by the proprietor, and every thing from that moment on was more than superb. Both owners have such a friendly approach, and really make you feel like you are welcome within their home.

I was fortunate enough to have the Hanna room, with the Four Poster bed and quaint furniture to match.
The bathroom was amazing, and so spacious!!!

The food both for dinner and breakfast was lovely, and couldn't be faulted either.

What a remarkable place, I definitely need to go back there for a longer stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Monkey_nutz_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a fabulous couple of days here as a belated wedding anniversary mid week time away and had a fantastic time. Quiet and peaceful, wonderful hospitality and the food was exceptionally good. There are not many bedrooms but as a quiet place to stay with excellent cuisine it is a perfect getaway. The rooms are very tastefully laid out - an excellent get away from it retreat spot - all at a very reasonable value.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magheralin
Bannville House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
215 reviews
Culloden Estate & Spa
#1 of 2 in Holywood
1,731 reviews
Down Royal House
#2 of 2 in Lisburn
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mile
The Fitzwilliam Hotel Belfast
Golden Mile
Premier Inn Belfast City Centre (Alfred Street) Hotel
Rayanne House
#2 of 2 in Holywood
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newforge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newforge House

Property: Newforge House
Address: 58 New Forge Road, Magheralin BT67 0QL, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Magheralin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Magheralin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Newforge House 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cradled in mature trees, gardens and fields, Newforge provides a unique opportunity to stay in the luxurious surroundings of a lovingly restored historic Georgian Country House. Original features have been retained, whilst modern bathrooms and excellent beds have been installed to ensure the ultimate in comfort. First class food is an important feature of our welcome. We source seasonal local produce and meals are carefully prepared by John, a trained chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Newforge House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newforge House Hotel Magheralin
Newforge House Magheralin, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing