We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a fantastic little hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stapleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a fantastic little hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

A fantastic and pictureque place. The staff, the owner and his wife are so friendly.
The room was superb and clean. Stayed for three nights and very accommodating around breakfast time. Evening meals and presentation fantastic. Well worth every penny. We will be back!
A wonderful place to sit and do work. Many walks available locally. Free internet and parking available.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinborland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    67
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
54
91
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Stayed one night on return trip from highlands. Room was spotless and comfortable. Staff and management friendly and efficient. This was the only hotel on the trip where we were taken to our room. Safe private car park with additional carparking at door for loading/unloading cases etc. Good quality Scottish breakfast served in hotel restaurant.
We ate dinner in the adjoining public bar and this was well cooked and served by efficient staff. Friendly bar with log fire and great atmosphere. This is now the only hotel we will use when holidaying in this area or passing through on tour.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Four of us stayed here for one night as part of our LEJOG trip, in two twin rooms.

Gareth, our host, was happy to store our bikes safely in the front room.

We ate outside in the sunshine ( excellent pasta with smoked fish , with apple crumble to follow), while enjoy a few pints of the local real ale ( this was one of only two pubs we found on our trip that had decent real ale.)

Breakfast was excellent and they were happy to make porridge on request (always a good start to a hard day's cycling)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HowardB49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

I suppose that the sign of a good hotel is that when it is time to leave you just don't want to get in the car and go!!
That is just how we felt about the Cairn.
From the moment we arrived we were made most welcome by Gareth an his staff who all went that extra mile to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.
Quiz night and the live music was an added bonus and we found the locals very friendly. The old boy with the huge moustache can certainly play the guitar!!
Food was really good with huge portions perfectly cooked and the bar prices more than reasonable. Bar staff excellent.
Our room was large and clean and, above all, quiet.
Returning to Carrbridge after almost 60years away, the Cairn was the perfect place to return to.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaptainKrunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2011

My partner and I wanted a place to stay near the slopes with the true feeling of being in the Highlands of Scotland.

The Cairn did not disappoint!...but more so it offered a service you would not expect nor receive in a much higher rated hotel.

The Cairn appears to be a bar, restaurant and also accommodation. The new owner Gareth has recently taken it over and by all accounts appears to be aiming high in terms of customer service as I'll detail.

Bar - They have a very friendly and professional team behind the bar. The locals who surround it are testament to this. Drinks are very cheap and coffee is ridiculously so. The room is dark but we liked that and there are plenty of whisky boxes lying around, stag skulls, swords and an open fire to set your scene. We were even lucky enough to catch some of the local music who were playing in the bar area.

Restaurant – The service from the owner and his young staff was professional but personal. We didn’t want to be talked to like a cheque or a ‘giver of tips’ and were pleased. Some of the younger locals who were employed were clearly not going to be silver service waiters when they leave school, however we enjoyed discussions of skiing, kayaking, biking and what to do in the area. As a negative we were told that there is a waiter who the locals call ‘Manuel’ due to his clumsy-ness…we didn’t see him but no doubt it was so bad it was funny.
The food was good; they have a dedicated chef who clearly takes pride in his work..to our enjoyment.

Accommodation – At this price we weren’t expecting much to be honest. There are no frills but the rooms are very clean and well presented. There are local produce through, nice pictures, soaps and the beds were comfortable.

In the whole we had a great time and this was largely due to the surroundings, the hotel and how we were treated by the locals and staff.

We will return! Hopefully often and for a long time as bi-annual regulars.

As an aside – we spoke to Gareth regarding the negative feedback on trip advisor and were pleasantly convinced that it was completely false but Gareth chose not to go into negative details about anyone and simply rising above such potential damaging lies. We’ll do the same.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry_Shep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We did not stay at this Hotel but called in to have dinner on 3 separate nights.
We were a family of 6. 3 adults and 3 children. The food was fantastic and the service was
excellent even when they were busy. I would recommend the food at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob3gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

A group of 5 of us booked the cairns hotel for a seven night stay, one of the couples pearl anniversary when we got there after travelling 10 hours from Leeds, This owner Gareth denied any knowledge of our booking he was most unhelpful. We had to find another place ourselves we were not even offered a complimentary drink or meal and he made noises about finding us somewhere but that was it so please BE AWARE

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNgillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.9 mi away
Eriskay
Eriskay
#13 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing