We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time already booked for this december” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First time already booked for this december”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in the family room 2adults 3 kids very clean comfy and big enough for us and small dog . Upon arival we were greeted by Gareth the owner very nice friendly guy very helpful good sign . We all went down for dinner where the staff were also very friendly and helpful food was very good too and very good value for money we were there for the bells and stayed new years day barstaff and local people very friendly breakfast menu very good anything u asked for u got we had room above bar and we slept well couldnt hear any noise and the bar was very busy with live music from 2 brothers gilly and fergie two very gud musicians would recomend this hotel to anyone and as i said we will be bak thanks Gareth for our stay ....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasgowfamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    67
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
54
91
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carp, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel was just what we needed after driving from Skye in the pouring rain. It was warm and welcoming and provided a perfect Scottish dream stay ! The owner was friendly and greeted us like long lost family ! We had dinner here too in their dining area which had a fireplace and cosy bar area. We were very pleased - breakfast was really good too - only about a million calories ! Whew ! Would love to stay longer next time as the area looked quite interesting.

Room Tip: I dont know if there is a bad room ! Ours was cosy and had antique and modern touches with a fabulou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We booked a family room for a much needed one night break. When we arrived we were a bit disappointed to find the bar absolutely heaving, and it never eased up. We ate in a dining room off the bar, which was OK, but it lacked the cozy character which we had been anticipating. Our room was tatty - sorry, I cannot understand how there are so many rave reviews if the other rooms are in a similar state. But we would have put up with all of this and been content, as the staff were very friendly and attentive. Sadly the residents' lounge (complete with the open fire we were all looking forward to collapsing beside) had been taken over for a private function and was not available.

Unfortunately there was a further serious sting in the tail for us. Unbeknown to us, our booking coincided with their Halloween Party, which took place in the bar, which was pretty well directly underneath our room, displaced by a couple of feet. Having been walking in the hills, the whole family was exhausted and retired to bed at 9.30pm, only to be woken at 10.00pm by the live band kicking off immediately below. This and the further loud music didn't stop until past 2.00am. Now, I don't have a problem with the hotel throwing a Halloween Party, but I think it's really sneaky to take the money for our room and give not one word of warning, or offer to move us to a quieter room. At check out I did actually complain (which doesn't come easily to me and doesn't happen often). The girl at check out was very apologetic. I asked to speak to the Manager, but he wasn't available, so I left a message asking him to get in touch with me urgently. The girl assured me he would. But he hasn't yet, and I've delayed 6 weeks to post this review in the hope that he would.

You can choose to ignore this review, because there are so many good ones of this place - that's why we booked. But if it was you who paid good money to, in effect, sleep in a club environment, and then got no recognition or care for your discomfort afterwards, you'd be as p'd off as me. My advice, don't book online, ring the hotel and get their assurance that there are no events going on to disrupt your stay. Only with this assurance should you book.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mordrydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

Had another very enjoyable stay here, room warm and comfortable, good food and relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Real ales and open fire very welcoming. A real home from home. Hopefully be back again soon.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fifewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I will most definitely go back if we are near Carrbridge again, we where staying at a self catering place a mile away and used this beautiful and very friendly pub for excellent evening meals and tried several of the excellent beers,
The service was very good and very friendly (just as it was when we stayed here 18 months ago) We had agreat holiday and to have a place like this to go to in the evening was the icing on the cake, also very friendly locals.
Thank you very much.
Reg & Lynn
PS our two dogs loved sitting in front of the blazing open fire
Bandit & Elly

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arielsq4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Was on a business trip, stopped overnight at the Cairn Hotel enroute to Inverness. Was warmly welcomed by staff, and immediately upgraded rooms with their compliments.
Room was lovely, bed was very comfy & had freeview, ensuite shower room etc. with lovely views.
Dinner was delicious, a tad expensive, BUT well worth it!! Spent the evening infront of a lovely fire, speaking to the really friendly locals & staff, it was like it was my local..!
Breakfast was served very quick from ordering, & was delicious.
would definitely recommend & will be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Stopped here with my hubby and 2 children, en-route to Inverness. Definitely worth it - the welcome was warm, food delicous, service first-class and location just stunning. It's clearly a favourite with locals too, the bar was busy but everyone was very friendly. Kid's menu is made up of 'real food', no frozen rubbish or poor quality. Our kids polished off their meals and ours were top-notch - generous portions for well-priced options and plenty of choice too. The owner is a great host, obviously takes great pride in his hotel and rightly so. Totally recommend it, hope we will be back soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyBeeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing