We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Had a fantastic meal at the Cairn with family. The starter of monkfish and cauliflower puree was so delicious I nearly licked the plate clean. Lovely lovely staff. Ok bit of a wait at times but it was really busy and we weren't in a hurry. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    73
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
95
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the Cairn for two nights, 3rd & 4th August. We had stayed there a few years ago and remembered it being really good - it was! The staff are friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the food, both at breakfast and in the restaurant in the evening, was very good, especially the roast dinner on Sunday evening! My husband enjoyed the variety of beers available in the bar. Wish we could have stayed longer and are looking forward to a repeat visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank griffs004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on 8th & 9th July 2013. The staff are extremely helpful and polite. The bar area is smothered in local history, which to me, makes it very special and interesting. Although I arrived by train (station is a mile from the hotel) it is quite easy to get to, even if you are dragging your suitcase down the road. For anyone arriving by car, there is a petrol station 300 yards away, and it's only 10 minutes from Aviemore by train, but trains to Carrbridge are few and far between, so plan carefully. Room was very comfortable, the only draw-back here is the lack of en-suite facilities, there is a vanity unit in the room, but WC & shower are shared. From Aviemore station, you can get straight onto the Strathspey Railway or a bus to the bottom of Cairngorm Mountain for the funicular railway. Food at this hotel is traditional pub fayre, cooked and presented very well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay here was good. From the warm welcome from owners and staff to the high standard of cleanliness in the rooms. The breakfast set us up for the day and the meals in the evening were terrific value. They even made our small dog welcome. My only gripe is we're only staying 5 nights , could easily have stayed longer but look forward to returning.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Braingirl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boat of Garten, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Unfortunately waited over 1 hr before our food was served tonight (Tues 6th August) When my burger did finally arrive it was cold, as was the chilli topping and the burger bun had a burnt taste to it. Overall standard of service was poor, I.e we were not offered any sauces or condiments and it was an age before the plates were cleared away and we were asked if anyone was having pudding. Would not return again with a large party unless I could be assured of some service... Which is a pity, because we are local to the area and would return a lot, if standards were consistent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaOj283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Charming small town. Hotel seemed to be center of all activity. We had a small clean room with small flat screen, newer shower. Great bar with bar food and plenty of draft beers. It was nice to sit outside in the front of the hotel and have our lunch. The Carr Bridge itself is just a stroll away. Easy car park in the back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed here on the first part of a holiday in the Highlands, very clean and comfortable rooms,friendly and helpful staff and owner,who made the best breakfast using local produce!!.We ate all our meals in the hotel which was of very high quality again using local produce,would highly recommend a stay in this lovely friendly hotel.!!!!!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the garden which was very quiet, wakened only to the the sound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57quine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,267 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing