We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cairn Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairwinds Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carrbridge Hotel(Carrbridge)
US$119
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Boat Hotel(Boat of Garten)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nethybridge Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mountview Hotel(Nethy Bridge)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
150
77
12
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
77
12
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly localsthe pubmacaroniopen firesmoked haddockgreat atmospherepopular with the localslocal produceowners and staffscottish hospitalitycooked breakfastneck of the woodswee gemate herereal alefish and chipslandmark adventure park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely, clean room, super comfy bed and utterly delicious food!! Tried the linguini....superbo!!!
An excellent location for travellers, good craic in the bar with friendly, helpful staff.
Would definitely recommend :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemadder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel although the bedroom was quite small (like many places in Scotland), but it was clean and quiet. We had a warm welcome, and even if we arrived late (and wet !) we could still have dinner which was very good actually.
Moreover, the hotel is located in a beautiful area, so it's definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I booked a single room at an extremely good price. I had to share a bathroom on the corridor which wasn't brilliant for night calls. Also the bed was on the short side which woke me up once or twice. That said the room & bathroom were clean& service and food was good. At this price its still worth considering for a second visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank ReiseRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I got a good rate for a single room. The guys on reception were very friendly and one carried my bag to the room. The room was very small and not en-suite but the shared bathroom was unused and very clean - can't complain for the price paid.

Slept well although the bed was a little £99,99 from Argos style.

The hot breakfast was nice although a lack of fresh fruit and juice was disappointing - just cereal and a bowl of tinned grapefruit available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianjmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

On a previous visit to Carrbridge I went into the Cairn Hotel a couple of times for a drink and was so impressed by the place I felt sure that it would be a great place to stay, so booked for a couple of nights on this year's holiday. We were not disappointed.

Hotels are all about people. Hotels of any size or class are only as good as the people who own them and the people who work there. They are also influenced by the people who frequent them and in all categories the Cairn is blessed. The owners are charming, the staff are friendly and very helpful, and the punters in the bar are as welcoming a bunch of locals as you would ever wish to meet.

As the bar is the place that initially attracted me to the Cairn, it is perhaps worth a few words. It is, in effect, a good, plain local bar - with all the positives that entails. The owner has resisted the temptation to tart it up and left it as his "locals" prefer - which is a bonus for we temporary locals of the tourist variety. The bar is very popular and always has a lively atmosphere. The beers are good and it is family friendly. They also serve fantastic bar food, or you can eat in the restaurant if you prefer.

Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished. It was also roomy and very comfortable and far superior to many I've stayed in at supposed 4 or 5 star hotels. The room rates are also very reasonable for what you get.

The food here is also top-notch and we thoroughly enjoyed everything we had. I particularly enjoyed the "smoked haddock macaroni cheese"; and our steaks the following evening were simply perfect, served with well-cooked "real" chips and a simple leaf salad. The portions are generous and whereas the onion rings are very tasty extra, don't order them unless you are really hungry! Breakfasts were also very well cooked, tasty and plentiful.

Carrbridge itself is a lovely village and is ideally situated to visit various parts of the Highlands. So when you add the fact that there is a great hotel here - what better base could you have for a holiday?

Highly recommended and we look forward to many return visits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews