We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent pub!”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent pub!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

An excellent pub in a great village! They have a wide variety of beers on tap including three beers from the area. The armosphere is also amazing. If you are passing through Carrbridge, don't miss out on this pub!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathancathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    73
    12
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
95
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, great food and pub in our favourite highland village with a roaring, cosy log fire and live music! Great whiskies, real ale and banter. I recommend the Tomatin!Very near the famous bridge! Love it. Cheers :)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianacathrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Three of us ate at this hotel today, and as soon as we walked in the door we were made to feel very welcome, the meals were lovely, and very filling, great price, my husband was very impressed with the beer selection, we will be back soon !!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojane498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

I arrived and stay at hotel in New Year. It great room and restaurants. It have super meal and bar have great of beer and whisky range!

It easy access to Aviemore and great local for walk and bike ride!

Great value of money!

I will like go back again in next year!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Travelling down from the North West Highlands of Scotland we stopped here on a whim for lunch. My fish was very fresh and beautifully cooked the best I had all week, my husband had macaroni with smoked haddock in a cheese and leek sauce WOW it was good. Quite cold in the room where we were sat as the log fire was further away but delicious food promptly served by pleasant staff all we could ask for.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Lovely, clean room, super comfy bed and utterly delicious food!! Tried the linguini....superbo!!!
An excellent location for travellers, good craic in the bar with friendly, helpful staff.
Would definitely recommend :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemadder14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rang
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel although the bedroom was quite small (like many places in Scotland), but it was clean and quiet. We had a warm welcome, and even if we arrived late (and wet !) we could still have dinner which was very good actually.
Moreover, the hotel is located in a beautiful area, so it's definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandbikers7364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
252 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,285 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing