We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dine here instead of Landmark!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottish Highlands
Level Contributor
184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Dine here instead of Landmark!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I love the Scottish summer- it's my favourite day of the year! It's also a big disadvantage though, because so many people in the Highlands flock to Landmark Adventure Park. Stupidly, we did the same.

Landmark was SO busy, with a 45 minute queue to enter (for non season ticket holders) - and lengthy waits for most of the attractions. So, to pass the time until the crowds dispersed, we headed for the restaurant. WRONG DECISION AGAIN! It was mobbed too, with a 25 minute delay for hot meals. So we left!

We left the car at Landmark and strolled along the Main Road in Carrbridge in search of an eatery of some kind - this is when we found the calm oasis calling itself The Cairn Hotel.

We had children with us so chose to avoid the public bar, but made our way through to the deserted restaurant and say at a table in the window. In no time the waitress appeared with menus and took our orders. The kitchen staff must have been very efficient as our food arrived super fast. Two of us chose fish and chips, and the others went for burgers and chips. The burgers looked lovely and were very tasty I'm informed. Personally I found the fish and chips a little disappointing as I went for the lunch option, rather than the full option. This meant just a half fillet of fish, which I think should have been stated at the time. My only other criticism was that the food was served on cold plates, consequently the rustic style chips were cold too quickly for my liking. However, when the deserts came the hotel redeemed itself. They were superb and of generous portions.

So, on balance, I think you should enjoy the fun of Landmark, but eat at the Cairn Hotel - you can always return to the Landmark after your meal as you can gain access easily using the 'stamp' on the back of your hand.

I hope you have a great day!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TellTheTruthPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    69
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
94
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Evening Meal and breakfast very good. Helpful staff. Room rather small, very little space around the bed with limited access to the wardrobe. Bathroom very small really only fit for one person at a time. Rural location.


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Booked into this hotel on Saturday 26 July for 1 night B&B. Only booked on the Friday evening and was pleased to be allocated a double room. £50 which included me bringing Kaos with me who is a boxer.

We checked in at 3 pm. The checkin staff were very friendly. The room was at the back of the hotel, was quiet and was overlooking the garden. Ensuite with very pristine white bed linen & tea/coffee making facilities.

The bar was extremely busy with locals and holiday makers & drink prices were reasonable.

The menu was fairly extensive with the food being supplied mostly by local producers. I ordered the dot fillet steak medium to well done with peppercorn sauce and the trimmings. It was cooked to perfection.

The only down side was that there was a tight time slot for breakfast 8am-9am and there was a 30 minute wait for breakfast, but was freshly cooked and tasty. Also there was only some cereal and grapefruit which you could help yourself to, some fruit and yoghurt would have been nice.

All in all a nice night away with extremely friendly staff and will most definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We did not stay in hotel...just had meal. Food had probably once been very nicely cooked but when served was dry and looked re heated. Staff pleasant enough and clearly working hard. My main reason for posting this review is to say that I would not have eaten in pub if i had visited the loos first. Ladies was grimey...really grubby
..dirt on pipes...filth on window..muck on floor..the more i looked around the more revolted i felt. Clearly there is a problem with damp which makes cleaning difficult...it should be dealt with.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Couple50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were stuck for accommodation on a Saturday night when everything was booked out or too expensive. Cairn hotel were nice enough to give us a single room for 2 people without breakfast. It was a nice room with comfy bed and little sink. Enough room for one of us to sleep on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Was in Carrbridge visiting and it was suggested the Cairn as a place for a meal. Sat in the "conservatory" area windows nice shame about rest of décor. We were given (very stained and grubby)menus quickly but took another 20 minutes to get someone to take our order. The mains were OK both priced around £9 each. The pudding (sticky toffee) was disappointing it looked good but, was look warm. We were brought another which had been zapped in the microwave and was not pleasant to eat. The lattes were look warm (too cold to bath a baby in) and with very little coffee in them, again they were taken away the second lot were just the same. It took a tour of the premises to find anyone to pay and table service was very poor. Don't risk the toilets unless you are desperate - they look like a throw back to public toilets in the late 70s, and the view of the kitchen staff sitting outside on the ground smoking was not a good one. As I said the mains were OK but have since been informed that there is another hotel of a similar name in Aviemore where you will not be disappointed. We will go there on our next visit to the area

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited Landmark so stayed for 1 night with other half n 2 kids. Food was lovely, room was clean and spacious. Staff were all very friendly and polite. Kids got some DVDs to watch which kept them amused for the evening. Great breakfast in the morning ready for the day ahead. Would recommend and will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing