We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel,friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel,friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2010

We chanced upon this hotel by accident. Our luck was in as there was one room vacant as somebody had booked it but not turned up. We could not have chosen better. The proprietor was charming and most helpful. The food was cheap and delicious. The staff were lovely including the barmaid. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryCorkIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    70
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
56
95
26
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

On visiting Carrbridge with my husband and children our accomodation was most comfortable, clean, with most friendly obliging staff and with good food and the location perfect for our needs and i would definatly recommend The Cairn Hotel to anybody wanting to stay in Carrbridge.
The Kerr Family, Lanark

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thekerrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

Myself, husband, and 2 young boys have just returned from this hotel. I have rated this 5 stars all across the board. The room were spotless as was the bathroom. The breakfasts were lovely, grapefruit, cereal, fruit juice, tea/coffee, toast, cooked breakfast, kippers. We also ate in the restaurant at night which was great and relaxing. Starters cost £2.95 and the most expensive was £8.05 which for Venison Pie and mash is pretty great value.

The bar had a right local feel to it and the punters had good banter.

Last, but by no means least, the owners of this hotel are fantastic, they made us feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble, we will definitely return. I will recommend this hotel to my family and friends as you and your family deserve every success. Thanks very much.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2010

We had a very comfortable stay at the Cairn Hotel. All staff are friendly and welcoming and aim to make your stay a pleasant one. Carrbridge is in a great location for enjoying outdoor pursuits or relaxing in a lovely setting, this hotel is perfect for relaxing at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMAScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here for a few nights while doing some walking in the area. It's a good small hotel in an ideal location if you plan on doing some outdoor activities, it's only a quick drive from Aviemore/Cairngorms.

The rooms were very comfortable and spotless, they obviously spend a lot of time and effort keeping them looking good.

The pub was very good, real fire and real ales on tap. My only slight disappointment was with the food, it isn't expensive but not really inspiring just standard pub grub. The breakfast as well was a bit disappointing with only a few things available on it.

The staff were all very friendly and eager to help out.

While we were in Carrbridge we looked in a few of the hotels and this definetly seemed to be the best of them, espcially considering the money some other places were charging.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Away_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Last minute trip to take the children to Landmark another excellent place to take the children. Lucky the Cairn Hotel had a family room unfortunately we could only manage a night, would have liked to stay longer as there is lots to do in the surrounding area. I have given the Cairn Hotel 5 stars all the way through as value for money it was also clean. We had a good meal and once again can't fault the meal. Previous reviews mention size and variety, but didn't mention the price. All starters were under £3 all main courses were under £7 and all the desserts/puddings under £3. The Hotel a few doors down does the same starters for £6 yes more choice but twice the price. We had a meal for two adults two children ( 3 starters 4 mains 2 puddings) and a very good bottle of Australian red for under £42, excellent value. All the staff were spot on and the bar staff very efficient. We are very happy to recommend and give it 5 star value for money clean and comfortable and great for the families, couples etc. We also looked at the McDonald Hotel in Aviemore that looked great updated and choice and facilities 5 star but at £180 a night couldn't justify. The Cairn Hotel owners Andrew and Susan are very friendly and efficient from the phone call booking to the departure. Also very popular with the locals and has a great atmosphere for the travelers in the bar and the outside sitting area to enjoy the sun with a glass of wine. The funicular train at the Cairngorms is a great visit also.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2009

Going on Holiday in November can sometimes be disappointing, this, however, was not! The lovely proprietor, his wife, and the staff make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door. Its a lovely village, a little quiet at this time of year, but that is something you have to expect in the Scottish Highlands in November, just like the cold weather! Although, you can soon warm up by snuggling in front of the cozy log fire. The bar meals are exactly what you expect for the price you pay, if not more. Decent quality and served with a smile! The rooms are cozy to snuggle up in and are tastefully decorated, and always very clean. Andrew, the proprietor, is very helpful in guiding you with what to do if you are stuck, and really helps you make the most of your time there. The children really enjoyed themselves, and have even said it was their "best holiday ever!" (I think Landmark helped!) I would recommend to everyone. We've already booked to go back in the summer!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewKirk, Proprietor at Cairn Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2009
Thanks so much -you have made it all worthwhile- we have been trying our best since 1992- and have so many people saying so many nice things during and on leaving that when we get an unhappy and bad review it is such a downer.We do wish people would say something at the time rather than post a bad review which apart from making us feel really like giving up means the business must suffer which makes it all the worse.
So much of our business is repeat we must be doing something right!!
Very many thanks -you really have made us feel so much better ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#2 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Main Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Highland inn, full of rustic charm and the perfect base for a tour of the Scottish Highlands and the Cairngorm National Park. Our award winning real ale & whisky bar is the centre of our community, providing a genuinely welcoming atmosphere and a great source of information on what to see and do in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing