We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Three nights were not enough but we could use the long days to advantage.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 9 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Three nights were not enough but we could use the long days to advantage.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

Pine Ridge is first class and we recommend it highly.

We hope to return someday and would choose Pine Ridge again without hesitation.

Our family (mum, dad, master 10 and miss 7) had a fantastic 3 week tour of the UK and Ireland through June and July. Our feet barely touched the ground at times and we were blessed with great weather for 90% of the trip.

Our trip was planned early in the year from Australia with a lot of faith put in TripAdvisor reviews. Weekends were spent staying with friends and mid-weeks in B&B style accommodation.

Our experience is that Tripadvisor helped us greatly with no disappointments (out of 6 B&B's) and very accurate pictures painted of each location.

Our kids are extroverted and really enjoyed meeting the proprietors at each B&B and any kids or pets they could find along the way.

Pine Ridge had the nicest rooms of our whole holiday but thanks to the sunshine we spent most of the long days on offer exploring the outdoors. The area offers much for walkers and riders and we got some great photos. I imagine the scenery would change greatly from season to season.

Shona was wonderfully helpful and patient with the kids.

We liked Carrbridge as a base for the region as it seemed to retain more of a village atmosphere than Aviemore. We did have a car.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

My husband, parents and I stayed at Pine Ridge for 3 nights and we all really enjoyed our stay. Shona made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Our rooms were large, comfortable and homely. Shona's breakfasts were delicious and she was extremely helpful in giving us advice on things to do and see. When we left we were sad to say goodbye to Shona, Alan and Buster (the dog)!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raybelline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

Shona and Paul Rankin run this lovely B&B and we felt ever so welcome and were looked after in a great way!
Such good value for money and one of the cleanest and nicest B&B's we have stayed in.
Would recommend it to anyone!
A wonderful addition to our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busybees69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

Shona and Alan made us very welcome and were most informative about local attractions. Breakfasts were delicious and the en-suite room was huge and well equipped. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and I have no hesitation in recommending this establishment for a short or long break. It is walking distance from the Landmark Adventure Park adored by children of all ages or to the local golf club. It is an easy drive (or train ride) to Inverness and the Black Isle and the road network allows easy access to other towns and villages through charming countryside abundant with wildlife.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFM205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

Shona, the proprietor, is an excellent hostess and runs a very clean, quite and comfortable B&B. (Breakfast being a particularly splendid full Scottish). We had a very roomy bedroom with en-suite which was quite welcoming after a days exploration.

We used Pine Ridge B&B as a base to explore The Caingorms, play some golf and sample a nip or two from the multitude or Whisky distilleries in the Spey Valley.
As Shona suggested get an area golf pass as it gives you great discounted green fees at the 7 local clubs - all within 30minutes drive. We played 4 of them – Carrbridge (walkable from the Pine Ridge and quite a challenge –and a hidden gem), Craggan, Granton-on-Spey and Boat of Garten. (Strathspey Steam Railway running along side it –also worth a trip on).
The Local Village Pub serves good food.

All in all we had a great trip and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocco_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2009

Pine Ridge B&B in Carrbridge was situated perfectly for our walking and birdwatching holiday to the Strathspey area. We were in easy driving distance of all the different places we wished to visit and managed to walk in snow covered mountains and sandy beaches in teh same week!
The accomodation itself was really well decorated and very comfortable with everything we needed being available in our room. Also very peaceful away from our normal London home!
Shona and Alan, our hosts, made us feel really welcome, were very friendly and offered us some good hints and tips on local eating out, attractions etc.
The breakfast were really nice with lots of choice (including my favourite - a bowl of porridge) and had the added bonus of a red squirrel feeding on nuts in the pine trees every morning.
We will definately stay here again next time we visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank northnsouthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross-shire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

This accommodation is how every bed and breakfast should be. Our hostess, Shona, was most welcoming and helped at every given opportunity. The house is clean and tidy, in a superb location for the Highlands. The room is extremely comfortable and, after a long day out sightseeing, a relaxing place to return to. So peaceful, the silence only interrupted by the sound of the local woodpecker!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicola25261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#1 of 9 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 9 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 31 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: Pineridge Pineridge Main St, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Ridge Bed and Breakfast Carrbridge near Aviemore is a large traditional highland home and has three large bedrooms where your comfort and enjoyment is our priority. We pride ourselves in offering affordable and comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation that you will remember. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pine Ridge Bed And Breakfast Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing