We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic accommodation in an idyllic location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Old School

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old School
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The perfect place to come (home) to after a long journey up from London. On arrival we were welcomed by Kate and her amazing three dogs. We were very impressed by how crisp and clean everything was. We had everything we needed - a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms, free access to the WIFI, great beds and a very spacious living area. Beautifully decorated might I add! Kate and David's home cooked meals and home-made vodka shots were the icing on the cake. Our tip: Bring your swimsuit to make use of the sauna and stargaze in the outdoor jacuzzi. We've already booked our return stay... only three days after having left.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanitaderuijt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a beautiful place this is! We had an amazing time here and the Miss Mackintosh Classroom exceeded all our expectations. It is pure luxury! We loved it all. There's a beautiful kitchen, which has everything you need (do bring your own cooking oil, sugar/salt/coffee/tea, etc, there's a Tesco in nearby Aviemore). There's a lovely cosy living area, with TV/DVD (which we didn't use), iPod docking station (very handy) and two big couches for relaxing. The bedrooms upstairs are big and comfy. We only used the double bedroom, because we were just the two of us. It was beautifully decorated and the bed was comfortable.

There are two nice big bathrooms, one with a shower and toilet (downstairs), and one with a shower/bath and toilet (upstairs).

Kate is very kind, and will help you with any questions you might have. On arrival she had made us brownies, which were honestly the best brownies I had ever tasted. Yum!! Thank you, Kate!

This place was all we could wish for, great for relaxing, but also great for exploring the highlands! No doubt recommended :)

Room Tip: Miss Mackintosh room has a nice view to the front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlies84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent last Christmas in Miss Mackintosh's classroom and it was perfect!!

The building itself is amazing and Kate has put so much effort into the decor!

From the moment we arrived we were uber impressed! Once inside it instantly felt like a home from home. we loved the spiral staircase and the christmas tree was gorgeous! Kate welcomed us with a fabulous home made chocolate log - lovely touch!

we stayed for the christmas week and it proved an excellent base to explore Aviemore and the local area. The christmas parade in Aviemore is a MUST and its soooooooo christmassy!

Kate came in on xmas day to wish us a merry christmas and came bearing gifts - home made vodka! Lethal but very nice!

although Kate lives next door its not obtrusive, you just feel like your at home for the week!

Would recommend to anyone wanting a cosy christmas away from home and excellent value for money! Looking to find somewhere for christmas this yer but struggling to see anywhere that compares!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MICHELLE K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Old School at the end of July for a week and had the most amazing family holiday. On arrival we were welcomed by Kate and her dogs (that our kids nearly took home!). The hospitality and friendliness shown to us during our whole stay was second to none, from the home baked (still warm!) peanut butter cookies on arrival and friendly chats advising us on on where to go and what to see.

Excellent central base to travel to Aviemore, Cairngorms and Inverness. Took a day at Landmark Adventure Park with our kids (aged 7 & 10) well worth a visit!

All in all would highly recommend this accommodation, the facilities are scrupulously clean and the location excellent - a fantastic week made even better with the excellent weather. David and Kate we will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steelesara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Time again for my annual review, after our 4th visit to this beautiful place.
Thanks again Kate and David for another memorable holiday. This time we stayed in Miss Mackintosh's classroom which is at the front of the house with a lovely view from the bedroom window. The addition of the Wi-Fi access was appreciated by the children, although they spent most of their time playing with Kate's very friendly Labradors. The hot-tub proved a great way to ease away the aches and pains after our canyoning/ gorge walking and hill-climbing activities and we used it every evening!
The Old School is immaculate, but at the same time is a really comfortable place to stay, with loads of space for luggage, and storage for bikes etc - I challenge you to find one speck of dirt!!
The eggs from the resident hens and freshly baked brownies on arrival are the icing on the cake, I would recommend a stay here to everyone, THANK YOU Kate!!

Room Tip: Miss Mackintosh's classroom is slightly smaller than Mrs Clarke's but still has a huge amoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at the Old School with friends and had a wonderful experience. The accommodation has been renovated to an extremely high standard, with great attention to detail. We were all impressed with the manner in which Kate and David have transformed the building, and will certainly return, hopefully in the not too distant future. Kate's banana loaf and chocolate brownies are wonderful too and greet you on arrival -a really nice touch.

The house is set in a terrific spot with a great view of the mountains. The sauna and hot tub are in a lovely woodland setting, with the chickens running around in the garden.

Lovely place, just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albarclay2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We just spent 7 days in Mrs Clarke's Classroom at the old school house with a party of five (4 adults and a seven year old). Upon arrival we were greeted by Kate's lovely chickens who later on provided us with fresh eggs almost every day! The accommodation by far exceeded our expectations in every way. The rooms were done up to a very high standard and we felt comfortable from the very beginning. Loved the fresh baked cakes by Kate and were impressed by her gracious response in accommodating some of our extra needs.

The location in the Cairngorms park is perfect for exploring this fantastic area as it is centrally located to all that you would want to see in this part of Scotland.

We were unfortunately not able to fit in a visit to the Sauna or the Hot Tub because of a very busy schedule but hope to do so next time :-)

We were happy to find that there is WiFi in one part of the house for our digital needs and also learned that it is being extended.

Overall we can highly recommend the Old School House and hope to be back rather sooner than later.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_platts_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
1.9 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
707 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old School

Property: The Old School
Address: Duthil, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3ND, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Carrbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Old School Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing