We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carrmoor Guest House
Ranked #2 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Guesthouse”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Just got back from visit to the above for the 5th time over the past few years. The standard of accomodation and food again without reproach. Would recommend 100% to anyone looking for a break/holiday in the Scottish Highlands.
As always our hosts Christine & Michael were first class in all they did during our stay.
Again would thoroughly recommend and do not consider that service and standard could not be bettered anywhere in Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_ling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
108
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

When you find a guesthouse whose customers return year after year there has to be a reason and at Carrmoor it is the friendly reception and the superb food. There is a sitting room where guests can have coffee following their meal and chat with other guests. After several visits you begin to become one of the family of guests who visit Carrmoor regularly. An excellent stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rneil_hodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at Carrmoor Guest House. Christine was gracious; full of warmth, and on top of every last detail. Michael shared a wealth of knowledge on the region; what to see, and what to overlook. His food was outstanding. He even added Sticky Toffee Pudding to the menu after I raved about some I had elsewhere, and his version put the previous dish to shame. The rooms were attractive, comfortable, and clean. The tiny village of Carrbridge was great for walking, just a few minutes from bustling Aviemore, and surrounded by lush forest.
Tea and coffee with repeat guests was the highlight...
You know its a good stay when you're sad to say goodbye. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Carrmoor Guest House. The food was fantastic and was the hospitality. We will definitely stay here again if we manage to make it back to Scotland.
It was so quite at night, we had a great sleep. It is in a very gorgeous wee village close to a variety of attractions nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

When we arrived at Carrmoor Guest House I was immediately taken with the lovely gardens and location. Christine welcomed us warmly and upon arrival promptly served my husband a coffee and biscuits (I opted for a glass of wine!). In the lounge where we snacked, we met other relaxing guests and learned that they were return guests (always a good sign!). We learned that not only is it a B&B but that Christine's husband, Michael, was a professional chef and that they had a liscenced dining room for evening meals as well. We opted to stay in and eat and were so pleased ... the rainbow trout I ordered was cooked to perfection! Their menu is quite impressive for such a tiny spot and although we had just the one night to sample the goods, the other guests assured us that everything on the menu was delicious! Our room was up a small flight of stairs and was furnished nicely with an ensuite bathroom. Everything was very very clean and there were coffee/tea/biscuits in the room as well. There was no television in the bedroom (not an issue for us) and no WiFi. Christine gave us a couple of options for an evening stroll and we walked through a lovely wooded area surrounding the town before walking through the village itself. I wish we had had more nights to stay at this place. It's a great location for hiking the Cairngorms, taking distillery tours, visiting Loch Ness, Nairn, Forres, etc., and would be a wonderful home base from which to do these things. The beds were quite comfortable and we slept very well. We very much appreciated Christine's hospitality (and her refills on butter and cream!!) and will certainly recommend this place as the best to stay at while travelling through this area. Thanks, Christine and Michael, for a fantastic evening with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stittmichael, Owner at Carrmoor Guest House, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words but we would just like to say we do have Free WIFI for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Perfectly located within ten minutes of the Cairngorms National Park, a very warm welcome, and with a professional chef as one of your hosts, the food was never going to disappoint. The hosts went beyond their duties in making sure our stay was unforgettable, including answering yet another phone call from us for arbitary reasons. Summary. Do stay! When you do, you are also close to the Pottery Shed, which has the best cakes and one of my favourite places of all time to sit and watch the natural world...

John Versfeld

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_versfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We were taking our mothers for dinner on the Strathspey Steam Railway and decided rather than drive back to Glasgow we would find somewhere to stay close by. We were delighted with our find you cannot praise Christine and Michael enough. From the warm welcome to our cosy bedrooms, to breakfast and even departure we were made to feel like one of the family. We wished we had booked for longer and we were going to add a night but unfortunately they were fully booked. Breakfast was smashing plenty to eat and all cooked fresh with a great choice. We wished we could have sampled their dinner menu but that will have to wait until the return visit. You will not be disappointed here cannot wait to book again. Christine and Michael I hope you read your reviews - thank you for having us in your home you made us feel really welcome and we can't wait to return. Well done - Scottish Hospitality at its best

Room Tip: Both the rooms we stayed in were lovely Room 4 had a double and single bed and room 2 had 2 singles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennieBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#4 of 8 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrmoor Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrmoor Guest House

Property: Carrmoor Guest House
Address: Carr Moor Carr Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrmoor Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run licensed Guest House & Restaurant set in beautiful Highland Village. All rooms en-suite, tea & coffee making facilities. Excellent base for golf, fishing, sailing, ski-ing & birdwatching, RSPB within easy reach. We are centrally situated for touring the Highlands of Scotland ie Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Whisky Trail, Cairngorms and much more. We are also in the Cairngorm National Park. We guarantee a warm welcome and high standard of cuisine prepared by chef/proprietor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrmoor Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrmoor Guest House Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing