We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome”
Review of An Sealgair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
An Sealgair
Ranked #2 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were welcomed by both Scott and Jadine and made very comfortable.
The house is very tastefully decorated and was very peaceful. We felt very at home.
The breakfast was fab (especially the poached eggs!)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    23
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
83
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Me and my partner stayed for two nights at the end of August and had a really enjoyable time. The owner Scott was incredibly welcoming and made sure that we had everything we needed. Breakfast was delicious with a wide range of vegetarian options upon request, something not every B&B caters for. We booked the standard room and it was more than big enough for the two of us and all our belongings. I can highly recommend An Sealgair to anyone travelling through the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantram88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

our 3rd stay with Scott and Jadine, who always provide a warm and friendly welcome. rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is first class best scrambled eggs I have had anywhere. The train station is only a 5 min walk perfect for getting into Aviemore our reason for the trip up up thunder in the glens we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else and have already booked for next year. Thanks for another brilliant stay, we would not hesitate to recommend this b&b, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Österreich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A really big thanks to Scott and Jadine for making our stay in the Cairngorms just perfect. We really felt at home at An Sealgair, the room was very nice and breakfast was really fine, too. Our little daughter liked playing with the cats and also enjoyed her bed (and ours) a lot.

But maybe the best thing was how we were treated not so much as just "paying guests" but rather "good friends coming for a visit". Had some very interesting talks and got so many useful recommendations... this is really why I prefer B&Bs to hotels!

The location is good! Generally I would prefer Carrbridge to the very busy and touristy Aviemore any time. But also the An Sealgair being just a short walk from a very nice pub (the "Cairns") is really a plus.

Next time we come to the region, we will definitely stay with Scott and Jadine again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottish borders
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner from 5th August to 8th August,
Rooms were clean and very welcoming,
Hosts Jadine and Scot absolutely fantastic like staying with friends,
However a special mention for Scot his breakfast was the best fried breakfast I have had in all my stays in a b&b,
I believe a lot of this is down to the produce used and his expertise cooking,
The b&b is only a matter of 10-15 minute walk from Landmark and a 5 minute walk from the train station.
A must to stay when in carrbridge.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbiemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen
Level Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

As a weary cyclist on a Land's End to John o'Groats trip I arrived to a warm welcome from Jadine and Scott after which my bike was safely stored in the garage. My bedroom was large and clean as was the bathroom across the hall. If I had one comment to make it would be that the bathroom is somewhat dated and a shower above a bath with shower curtain not ideal. It was a large room so a separate shower might be a good idea. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it! An Sealgair is a ten minute walk from the village centre where there is a very good pub which does meals (Cairn Hotel). My thanks to Scott for checking my bike over and making adjustments where necessary! All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Modern tasteful decor unlike the local hotels was what made me choose here to stay and I was not disappointed! The family room is a good size, with bunk beds and a double bed. We couldn't hear anything from the other rooms either so we were never disturbed. Scott is a brilliant host, always chatting and giving local tips and he makes fab poached eggs I could use a few tips! There is a TV with DVD player and we were even offered DVD's to watch, a faultless B&B and excellent value for money. Carrbridge is so close to loads of activities we were overwhelmed with choice and would definately need to stay longer next time. I would recommend staying here without hesitation and would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.4 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
218 reviews
5.6 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
184 reviews
5.5 mi away
Carn Mhor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Sealgair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Sealgair

Property: An Sealgair
Address: An Sealgair Station Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Sealgair is a family run bed and breakfast offering a warm welcome to all visiting the idyllic village of Carrbridge located within the spectacular Cairngorm National Park Carrbridge is easily accessible by either road or rail being approx 7 miles from Aviemore, 9 miles from Grantown-on-Spey and a short 1/2 hour drive from the City of Inverness, the capital of the highlands. The train station is situated approx 400 metres away from us and the village centre is only a 10 minute walk away. Whether you're planning a short relaxing break or a fun packed holiday there's something for everyone on your doorstep. Situated only a short walk away the Landmark Forest Adventure Park offers thrills and spills for the young and old alike, while our local woods accessed directly from our back gate offer short scenic walks. Carrbridge also hosts an excellent 9 hole golf course as well as the Carrbridge Pony Trekking centre and guided mountain bike treks. Also held in Carrbridge every year is the globally renowned World Porridge Making Championship Competition and Carve Carrbridge - a chainsaw carving competition. Our accommodation consists of 1 double with en-suite shower room, 1 family room with en-suite shower sleeping up to 4 and 1 twin room with private bathroom. All rooms offer coffee and tea making facilities and have a TV with built in DVD player We have a travel cott and highchair available on request. Secure storage available for cycle bikes and motorbikes if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your An Sealgair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Sealgair Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing