We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carrbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast at MellonPatch
Ranked #4 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights when we in Scotland for our honeymoon in the fall of 2011. I'm pretty sure we had the "green room". The breakfasts were great and the view from the dining room was lovely with birds and squirels entertaining us. Robert Bateman pictures from the states were in multiple places. A nice country cozy feeling to the place. The bed was a bit small but that seems to be the norm in B&Bs in Scotland. The hostess was lovely, helpful and friendly. Across the street from trails and woods. Not far from the "downtown" of Carrbridge.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2013

What a little gem. Well positioned for the village, a short walk away. Jane is a most welcoming lady offering clean, comfortable and homely accommodation. You won't walk away hungry as there is plenty on the breakfast menu. Excellent local eating places for evening meals.

Room Tip: Take your pick from the differently coloured rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just returned from great break in Carrbridge. B& B could not be better. Jane is a wonderful and knowledgeable host who cannot do enough for her guests. Lovely area and great base for our first trip to the Highlands. Best breakfast EVER!! Marian and Georgina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location is perfect, not far from the main road Ullapool tot Edinburgh, yet quiet. Everything in this B & B is in tip top order. The breakfast is as abundant as the usual full scottish breakfast but has great quality. The best part is that all the guests are sitting at the same large table, and it is an excellent opportunity to meet and speak other people, while outside squirrels are playing on the lawn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have been to stay with Jane at The MellonPatch three times now...and it's just fantastic! What can we say? Rooms are lovely, homely, spotless and spacious. Jane is astounding, I have never met someone with so much energy and zest, she amazes me. Nothing is too much trouble, always smiling, welcoming and accommodating. I always have to have a lie-down after breakfast...as much as you can manage out of melon and strawberries, cereal, porridge and a full Scottish! You couldn't get better than this, we feel homesick after leaving.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikkithomas29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

I am French and I wanted to surprise my grandparents and my uncle by booking this B & B. So, all age groups are represented and loved it! Jane is an angel really, super helpful, very nice and we felt like home. This is one of the best B & B I've seen I really recommend it. The place is perfect, very quiet, you could see the squirrels in the morning. Moreover, in the village there is a pub (which I recommend to eat or drink a beer with a great atmosphere) or a restaurant. In short a perfect evening really, the hardest part was leaving the morning after excelling Scottish breakfast. Again thank you Jane!I am French and I wanted to surprise my grandparents and my uncle by booking this B & B. So, all age groups are represented and loved it! Jane is an angel really, super helpful, very nice and we felt like home. This is one of the best B & B I've seen I really recommend it. The place is perfect, very quiet, you could see the squirrels in the morning. Moreover, in the village there is a pub (which I recommend to eat or drink a beer with a great atmosphere) or a restaurant. In short a perfect evening really, the hardest part was leaving the morning after excelling Scottish breakfast. Again thank you Jane!

Room Tip: Very quiet and lovely home !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yoann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed with Jane numerous times and the welcome gets warmer each year! This is the perfect B & B, picturesque and quiet location, off street parking, beautiful rooms with very comfy beds. The breakfasts are all you can wish for and will definately set you up for the day ahead. The cheeky red squirrels feeding outside the dining room window are always a winner! The Mellon Patch is exceptional value for money and one night is never enough! Would highly recommend. We will definately be back soon.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.5 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Craigellachie Guest House
Craigellachie Guest House
#3 of 8 in Carrbridge
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Rowan Tree Country Hotel
0.2 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#2 of 8 in Carrbridge
223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carrmoor Guest House
Carrmoor Guest House
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at MellonPatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at MellonPatch

Address: Melon Patch Station Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have comfortable, friendly and affordable accommodation in Carrbridge, near Aviemore and the Cairngorms, at the heart of Scotland's beautiful Strathspey (Speyside) and Highland country. Sumptuous Bed and Breakfast in a beautiful, traditional, Scottish Highland village, Carrbridge. Five minutes off the A9, the main artery through Scotland's Highlands. Two minutes from the Carrbridge Train Station on the Edinburgh - Inverness route. Easy access from Edinburgh and Glasgow to the South and from Inverness to the North. Ten minutes from Aviemore, the Cairngorm and Monadhliath mountains. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast At MellonPatch Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing