We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, lovely owners!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigellachie Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fort William, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house, lovely owners!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here with my son in the family room in July 2014.
Lovely, immaculately clean bedroom, crisp, fresh white linen. It was also nice and quiet and we slept like babies.
James and Maria made us so welcome, we were there with our mountain bikes and James gave us info on where to cycle in Carrbridge and he even fixed my son's brakes on his bike.
Very nice, kind and interesting people who made our stay all the more special and made us feel like Very Important People!
Thank you James and Maria, hope to see you both again soon, Lorraine and Rory :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorriwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello you two!
Well, you certainly had a great time over here and we were thrilled to have you as our guests. We had a wonderful time talking with you and sharing ideas. It is so good to see people taking advantage of opportunities to go out and enjoy themselves in the great outdoors. James and I would be very happy indeed to see you again and spend more time with you.
Take care and keep up that mountain biking!
James and Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
50
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portree, Isle of Skye
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed one night here and it was lovely. We had a beautiful, clean, south facing room. We woke up to brilliant sunshine and enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast. Our hosts were friendly and told us not to rush.Carrbridge is a gorgeous village and the pub is conveniently next door!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougiemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hello! How are you both?
Thank you for the great review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here and it was a great pleasure having you as our guests. Our aim is to always make people welcome and enjoy their time with us.
Take care,
James and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We have just stayed here for a night whilst touring Scotland on our Motorbikes. We were very warmly welcomed, and given safe parking for our bikes. The hotel was spotlessly clean, our room was really comfortable, and the TV lounge was also really comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was stunning, and we would strongly recommend this guest house to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullYorkshiregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the lovely review; we had a wonderful time having you as our guests. We were more than happy to ensure your bikes were safe and sound, and we thoroughly enjoyed talking with you. We really do hope we meet again and we will spend more time with you. Take care and safe riding.
James and Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

New owners James & Maria are some of the warmest and welcoming hosts i have met on the road. Im a regular reviewer on trip adviser. And never once have i met two more wonderful people like James & Maria. They sell Craigellachie Guest House very well. The decor in great. The surroundings are beautiful. The food is great they also cater for people like me who have gluten allergies. I was given a choice of two rooms although small the room was clean and inviting. No tv in the room but its not a negitive at all infact it adds to the charactor of the on the rooms. Tv room downstairs in the lounge if you wish to watch tv However. with the local pub close bye for your evening meal and tv if you require it but i dont see why you would want to travel to the heart of the scottish highlands to watch a tv. Maria & James have put there heart and soles into this B&B i dont think it will be too long before they start winning awards.

Talking about awards i give this B&B
6 Stars ******.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmungall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Good morning Paul,
You are such a lovely person and you were a great guest. We thoroughly enjoyed talking with you, especially about your venture. Thank you so much for the lovely, lovely review. We hope to see again soon. All the best, James and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent B&B carnt recommend highly enough James & Maria were perfect hosts a warm friendly welcome awaited us which was lovely. There is free Wifi throughout which was an added bonus, there is plenty of choice for breakfast from porridge to a full Scottish cooked breakfast which will last you till lunch (very filling), our room was spotless with excellent decor & tea,coffee facilities.
If your visiting the Cairngorms & highlands this is in the perfect location, there is a friendly pub/restaurant down the road where you can get hot delicious meals.
Will defiantly be booking again in the near future.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mandyjo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for this wonderful review. We thoroughly enjoyed having you both as guests in our guest house; the first Cheshires! We are so happy that you both enjoyed not only the stay with us, but the whole of The Highlands. We cannot wait to see you return.
All the best, James and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Craigellachie House. James and Maria are the new proprietors and were the perfect hosts making us feel welcome and at home. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The breakfast excellent; especially the Highland Full Scottish Breakfast. Carrbridge is a lovely peaceful and friendly village with a famous packhorse bridge and plenty of scenic walks which kept us busy. We will be back as soon as time permits.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank britishandgrenouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello,
James and I just wanted to say thank you very much for the wonderful and complimentary review you wrote. We thoroughly enjoyed having you as our guests and we are delighted that you discovered just how beautiful this area is. We look forward to you returning.
All the very best James and Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Maria and James have taken over this B & B recently - and they have pulled out all the stops. It would be difficult to find a warmer welcome - certainly not a better breakfast - anywhere. And I think I would know, having stayed away from home several nights a month for business and pleasure over some 30 years.

Of course, it is spotlessly clean. Of course, all the facilities you might need. But it is all delivered with a warmth and enthusiasm which is difficult to convey here in print.

Absolute perfection in every respect. And yes, previous reviewer - they've fixed the Wi-Fi, which is freely available throughout the accommodation.

Top marks - and thanks!

Room Tip: Seen two - all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfMikeFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello! James and I wanted to say a big thank you for the fabulous review you wrote. We had such a great time talking with you and you were wonderful guests. We are delighted that you enjoyed the breakfasts; they certainly set you up for the day! We hope the rest of your trip was excellent, too. Hopefully, you will be back; you will be very welcome. Take care, James and Maria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.2 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
517 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Guest House

Property: Craigellachie Guest House
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigellachie Guest House is a friendly, welcoming, comfortable and clean Scottish location to stay. Situated in the historic and beautiful village of Carr-Bridge in the North West region of the Cairngorms National Park in The Highlands of Scotland; the perfect home base for exploration and adventure. All rooms are either en-suite or have a dedicated private bathroom. Each room offers complimentary tea and coffee facilities and a hair dryer. Off road parking is available, free wi-fi and lock up facilities for specific sporting equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Craigellachie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Guest House Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing