We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous craigellachie in carrbridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigellachie Guest House
Ranked #3 of 8 Carrbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

worn out from ahard day s driving down from the orkneys we pulled into carrbridge and found our way to the absolutely fabulous craigellachie guesthouse and the equally fabulous james and maria. the craigellachie is absolutely wonderful. james and maria directed us to a pub a couple of doors up that had great food and equally great whiskies. next morning we had the finest breakfast we ve ever had on a holiday. everything at the craigellachie is top class from the comfortable rooms to the food and the welcome from james and maria, we would heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: this is a classic guest house rather than a classic or quaint hotel.carrbridge itself is also well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Good day! Thank you for this wonderful review; we really do appreciate the time you spent writing it. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting both of you and we are delighted that everything was perfect for you. Our place seems to be the right one for the Orkney trips. Hopefully, you will come by again, you will always be welcome here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Just to endorse the comments made by our son "Marks 1612". It was a delightful experience and one we would hope to repeat in the future, if travelling North again. We will certainly recommend James and Maria,s "haven" to anyone we know who is holidaying in the area.

Room Tip: No tips required. All rooms" top notch"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AW2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you very much for the kinds comments in your review. We were delighted to have you as our guests and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay; especially since there was a lot of travelling and you could relax in comfort. We really hope you will return, there will always be a very warm welcome for you all.
Take care
James and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent a couple of nights at the Craigellachie Guest House in Carrbridge and enjoyed our stay very much. The main attractions here are: 1) the delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts enjoyed in a sunny dining room-- you can have whatever you like, from the full (and I mean full) Scottish breakfasts to simple porridge or kippers and toast... really great! and 2) the friendly and welcoming hosts, Maria and James- who were helpful in every possible way (including map directions) and offered lots of great ideas of things to do in the area, from stirring history to castles, charming shops and places to eat. The bedroom was very clean-- care was obviously taken and small details attended too; wifi was good; although we are not big watchers, TV was available in a comfy guests' sitting room; Maria and James have only recently taken over this establishment, but they have already made their very warm and generous mark on it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizaHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello!
What a wonderful surprise to read your review, we thank you both, very much for the kind and thoughtful words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here so much, which is important to us; we aim to make everyone comfortable and help them enjoy The Highland experience, even to the breakfasts! It was a great pleasure talking with you both and we wish you well.
Remember to call in again should you return to Scotland.
Take care
James and Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 2 nights here at the top and tail of our trip to Orkney. With spotlessly clean comfortable rooms, a warm and friendly welcome from Maria and James, and a first class breakfast to see us on our way, we knew we had stumbled on a little gem. The rooms are beautifully appointed, and the little touches put the icing on the cake. (my earl grey teapot came with a little black bow tied around the pot :-) )

We left a pillow on our outward journey, and James was kind enough to contact us to let us know.

If you find you need somewhere to rest up on a long journey North, THIS is the spot.
We will return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marks1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so very much for this super review; we really appreciate it. We know how long journeys can be weary and tiring, so, to know that we can provide just what you need to relax and recharge the batteries, so to speak, is our pleasure and our aim. We enjoy preparing the breakfasts, and those 'little extra touches' are a nice addition to the whole experience. We were so happy to see you on your return journey and we are hoping you will visit again sometime soon. You will always be welcome in our home.
Take care,
James and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just spent 3 nights here with my 12 year old son and we both had a ball. James and Maria were brilliant hosts from start to finish, making us feel welcome and relaxed. The house is "a work in progress" according to them, but it is spotless and comfortable, with a large lounge that was a great meeting place for anyone who stayed there. As for the breakfasts, you couldn't ask for more. Never seen my son eat so much first thing in the morning. If you are into Scottish history, James is your man, although Maria gave him a run for his money. Both so knowledgeable not only about history but also telling you of little gems to visit in the surrounding area. I was last here a long time ago and now can't wait to go back. Feel as though we have made real friends and were sorry to leave on Monday morning. We will return!

Room Tip: would be happy to have any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LSB1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

What a time we had! We loved having you both as our guests, and we were impressed by the breakfasts that were eaten! We did enjoy talking with you both and we do really hope you will come back; we know there is so much more you want to see and do, and there is so much more we can talk about. There will always be a warm welcome for you both, and let us hope it is not in the too distant future. (Landmark still has its challenges for you!)
Take care and keep in touch.
James and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here with my son in the family room in July 2014.
Lovely, immaculately clean bedroom, crisp, fresh white linen. It was also nice and quiet and we slept like babies.
James and Maria made us so welcome, we were there with our mountain bikes and James gave us info on where to cycle in Carrbridge and he even fixed my son's brakes on his bike.
Very nice, kind and interesting people who made our stay all the more special and made us feel like Very Important People!
Thank you James and Maria, hope to see you both again soon, Lorraine and Rory :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorriwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello you two!
Well, you certainly had a great time over here and we were thrilled to have you as our guests. We had a wonderful time talking with you and sharing ideas. It is so good to see people taking advantage of opportunities to go out and enjoy themselves in the great outdoors. James and I would be very happy indeed to see you again and spend more time with you.
Take care and keep up that mountain biking!
James and Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed one night here and it was lovely. We had a beautiful, clean, south facing room. We woke up to brilliant sunshine and enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast. Our hosts were friendly and told us not to rush.Carrbridge is a gorgeous village and the pub is conveniently next door!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougiemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariaTS22, Owner at Craigellachie Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello! How are you both?
Thank you for the great review, we are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here and it was a great pleasure having you as our guests. Our aim is to always make people welcome and enjoy their time with us.
Take care,
James and Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,342 reviews
0 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#5 of 8 in Carrbridge
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Ardlogie Guest House
Ardlogie Guest House
#1 of 29 in Aviemore
528 reviews
0.2 mi away
An Sealgair
An Sealgair
#1 of 8 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cairngorm Guest House
Cairngorm Guest House
#12 of 29 in Aviemore
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craigellachie Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigellachie Guest House

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Carrbridge
Price Range: £83 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craigellachie Guest House is a friendly, welcoming, comfortable and clean Scottish location to stay. Situated in the historic and beautiful village of Carr-Bridge in the North West region of the Cairngorms National Park in The Highlands of Scotland; the perfect home base for exploration and adventure. All rooms are either en-suite or have a dedicated private bathroom. Each room offers complimentary tea and coffee facilities and a hair dryer. Off road parking is available, free wi-fi and lock up facilities for specific sporting equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Craigellachie Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craigellachie Guest House Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing