We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel for a Quiet Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel for a Quiet Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This was our second stay at the hotel. Both times we booked into the lodge and both times we were upgraded to the main hotel when we arrived (same room both times!). We thought it was great value for just under £50 for two people with no breakfast from laterooms.com. Yes the decor is a bit dated, but the room was enormous and lovely and cosy with antique dark wood furniture and a nice view over the fields. We didn't eat in the restaurant (wish we had now after hearing all the good comments) but we did have a drink in the lounge with the open fire blazing and it was really nice. A bit too sophisticated for 3 scruffy mountain bikers, but we didn't feel unwelcome. I would definitely go back and eat in the restaurant next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lushley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    61
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
123
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Having driven through Carrbridge quite a few times, we had missed the sign for the Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, the premises being mostly obscured from the road by new houses being built. However, we were glad that we found it via an online search for restaurants in the area. On arrival at this beautiful, quaint hotel we were told that no tables were immediately availabe but were invited to sit in their period lounge to have a drink while we waited. We didn't have too long to wait before being shown to our table in a relatively small but cosy dining room. The menu was wide ranging and the prices were extremely reasonable, particularly in view of the quality and presentation of the food. We all enthused over our indiviual choice of meal and I couldn't resist trying their bread and butter pudding, something I hadn't had since childhood - it greatly exceeded all expectations. I would urge any visitors to this area to seek out this establishment for a memorable dining experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beekay1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

a quiet monday meal there were for adults and a child and were blown away by the quality of food and service, i loved the feel of the lodge. would reccomend to any one looking for a great meal at not overly expensive prices. beef stew and dumplings was ~£9 and was fantastic

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 23grmidlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Eaten here several times over the years. The food is good and the service is excellent with the staff taking a real interest in what were some fussy eaters.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GItrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Dalrachny Lodge is a beautiful Victorian Home. It reeks of charm and antiquity, and the small number of staff work their socks off to please. The main dining room is well laid out with a fantastic fireplace, and some very expensive whisky bottles on show, as part of a collection. Prior to the meal, which was of good quality, we were invited into the drawing room where a glorious log fire was blazing. The view from the windows showed up a fine section of the river, and nearby was a crocodile climbing a tree! Not surprisingly it was wooden, but a good way of keeping the children away from the water. At no time were we rushed and the pace was diffinitely leisurely. Try it and relax over a hearty meal and drink.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the highlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

this 19th century former royal hunting lodge has many original features, theres a particularly fine oil painting of highland cattle in the lounge. stags heads, real log fires and leather sofas make it traditional. might be considored old fashioned to some people but then its not one of the chain hotels that are all the same up and down the country. the food was really good as was the breakfast. the only negative thing i would say was the shabby old bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights whilst munro bashing back in October 2011. Good menu and good service. Rooms clean and tidy, very warm and lashings of scalding hot water which soothed away the aches and pains. Staff helpful, polite and obliging. Pub round the corner had live music, good beer and a warm fire. Hotel sitting room and dining room a wee bit on the cold side and could've done with the opne fire being lit. Would've wished for a more extensive range of bottled beer. Left some gear behind which was posted back to me. Hotel worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinmac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#1 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
6.6 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Property: Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 3 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Our Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. Having taken over just two years ago, a substantial renovation project is ongoing which has seen our Drawing Room and Bar/Bistro refurbished and completion of two new bedrooms with new en-suite bathrooms. In March 2015 a biomass boiler system was installed and another two new bathrooms have been completed. Investment in the Hotel is continuing with work starting on updating more bathrooms later in the year and a self-catering cottage will be available for rental in the Summer. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing