We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Old Scotish Hunting Lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Dalrachney Lodge is a stunning Victorian Hunting Lodge in a lovely position beside the Dulnain River with a really charming ambience. I stayed with a friend in early December for a couple of nights. We were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome and shown to a lovely twin room. Our room had a stunning new Villeroy and Boch bathroom...... a big bath with a built in shower which was really powerful with plenty of hot water which was very much appreciated after a day packed with visiting the local attractions. A trip to the funicular railway in the Cairngorms and an afternoon in Loch Ness with lunch at the Dores Inn (see separate review).

On one evening we dined in the charming hotel bistro. There was a very good selection of food on the menu and I choose the Venison Casserole, which came with perfectly cooked seasonal veg. The casserole was absolutely delicious big chunks of really juicy venison I had the Chocolate Box for dessert and that was very good too. After our meal we took our drinks through to the cosy lounge and sat in the comfy sofa's next to the big roaring fire.......bliss!

The bed was very comfortable and after a very good night's sleep we had breakfast in the breakfast room which was very good and with plenty of choice. If you can, get a seat by the window and enjoy an excellent cup of coffee, look out across the stunning grounds and watch the wildlife go by.......................could have sat there all day!

Wish we could of stayed a bit longer perfect trip!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Over-40-and-fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for one night. The service and food was great and we were welcomed by the staff. We had dinner then sat in the lounge for a drink. The room was clean with all features but the bathroom in the room we stayed was not apart of our room and it looked a bit tired and didn't include a proper shower. Overall despite the bathroom it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattymeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We only ate in the restaurant, so I cannot say anything for the hotels rooms.
Dinner was great, good seasonal menu, and some super wines. Dined with my girlfriend parents and parents friends, a wonderful evening had by us all. Between us all, we managed to have a good spread of the menu and there were no complaints at all.
We will return soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed at this hotel 24th aug,and have to say i was very impressed, the house itself was very impressive, staff friendly and welcoming. The house was beautiful and our room was a good size,And our view from the bed room was just stunning. The decor was old fashioned but it fitted the style of the house perfectly. In the morning the we had a great choice of food for breakfast i would most certainly stay at this lodge again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here before a couple of years ago in the family room which was great.
We couldn’t get a room this year as we left it too late but had diner there as we had enjoyed it so much before. The meal was lovely and I really enjoyed the experince. The restaurant is the best in Carrbridge by a mile. There are new owners and they have managed to pull off the trick of maintaining the highest standards in a nice understated way.
Definitely will be back the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PallyAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Scotland is one of the most beautiful and unspoilt countries in the world and the magnificent Grampian Highlands region is situated in the spectacular North East.
From the minute I arrived at Dalrachney Lodge the staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in a huge bedroom with a double bed + single bed in it - the décor was very dated but the whole place is very old fashioned in many ways, but that is not that important as its charm is undeniable. No ensuite, but a private bathroom right next door. The bathroom only had a shower attachment on the bath and the bath was very shabby and old but there was GALLONS of lovely hot water!
The meals were superb with loads of choice but pricey, however you can relax and really take your time.
Car parking available onsite.
I would return and definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for lovely homely accommodation in this area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbles73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Family room was very good. The Lodge was a good old fashioned Highland Hotel with just the right ambience. My cousin and I stayed fo 2 nights with my teenage grandaughter and her friend and the girls enjoyed the freedom allowed by the surroundings. Both evening meals and breakfast had excellent choices and were very reasonably priced. The staff were very helpful and friendly and looked after us well. Fabulous place to stay with teenagers. Landmark adventure park is within walking distance. Aviemore is seven miles away and the funicular railway in the Cairngorms a 45 minute drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
782 reviews
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
550 reviews
6.0 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: £123 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 2 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Some Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing