We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
199
73
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
73
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarchie the dogdrawing roomtop floorcinnamon toastcountry houseroom was largebefore dinnerlovely viewoverlooking the gardenhotel is lovelyexcellent staycomfortable bedgreat showerenjoyed our stayfirst classpublic roomsfamily room
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

A fantastic little gem of a place the owner Nicholas was so helpful after I had booked wrong dates he managed to sort it out and what a place food fab room fantastic so relaxing you could come and stay here and just chill with a book and go for a pleasance walk

I will be back here so if you want a quiet location and easy acceptable to local area then this is the location

A five star location in every sense

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank valhalla4901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. Gordon was glad to be of assistance and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our Premiere Super King room. It is great to know that you will be coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Our family of five were lucky enough to stay together in one room - this hotel was capable to accommodate us. Our room was clean and tidy as well as our bathroom and actually the rest of the hotel. As we stayed on the top floor we had a pretty view out of our window and a pleasant sound of a running river below. The hotel's decor throughout is far from being modern but definitely has that "grand antique" charm that made us feel welcomed.
Breakfast was freshly cooked apart from cereals and yogurt.
Overall we were satisfied with our stay here but probably we won't pick this hotel as our first choice due to its price.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleased with your room and the lovely view of the river. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Over-priced and dated. Really have to fit in with the owners' way of doing things; more like a boarding school than a hotel. First red flag was the snotty email from the owner (think Sybil Fawlty meets Mystic Meg) with the house rules (Check in after 8.30 must be arranged 48 hours in advance, dining expected to be booked in advance (without menu or pricing) and "Guests are not allowed to bring their own alcohol, hot food or take-aways into the Hotel." where "not" is highlighted in red). Food not allowed in the lounge. Hotel bar closed before 10.30 on a Saturday night, wouldn't accommodate because "keys are upstairs". Had to wait to be funnelled in to dinner; much hilarity among other guests at the hosts' expense. Perhaps would have suited Miss Marple, but woeful service for the extortionate cost of a shabby room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank relaxedtraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

To say you found the concept of pre-dinner drinks in the Drawing Room and then being shown into the restaurant hilarious, only serves to show just how far out of your comfort zone you both were. Stick to the modern chain hotels with fast food diners and no atmosphere or personality - they will clearly suit you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Stayed for two very enjoyable nights during a recent hiking trip to the Cairngorms. Gordon and Trixie were extremely welcoming into their beautifully appointed period hunting lodge. The room was large and comfortable with a new contemporary bathroom. Being able to open the window fully and be trusted not to fall out is always a bonus and hard to find in modern hotels. Breakfast was excellent and the perfect set up for a day’s hiking. We will certainly make Dalrachney Lodge our number one choice when returning to the area in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hayden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We stayed at the Dalrachney for 3 nights in July as we went hiking in the Cairngorms National Park. My husband and I, our son and his girlfriend and our daughter (all adults). The stay was wonderful. The Lodge is comfortable, the hosts friendly, the food delicious, the bed dreamy, the bath new, the water hot and with plenty of water pressure. The service was personal and outstanding.

Drinks before dinner in the drawing room before dinner, very relaxing. Our dinner was delicious. Our hosts, Gordon and Trixie, were personable and friendly. They were also happy to share their knowledge of whisky, as we spent a very pleasant evening sampling different whisky in the bar.

I have to mention Archie the dog. Very personable English Springer Spaniel. Our family went out on the lawn to play a game with our flying disk-which happened to coincide with Archie's evening constitutional. He joined our game and we all enjoyed it!
We really enjoyed our stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrisei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fox9999, Owner at Dalrachney Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review! It was great to meet you all and we are delighted that you were pleased with your room, especially the Savoir bed and enjoyed the food and whiskey! Archie had a great time playing with you all - lovely to see the photos you posted too. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and really hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews