We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this place could be great, but it needs a makeover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Wonderful old building, great setting, very quiet and amazing views. Ideally placed for enjoying the Cairngorms.

But it seems the owners have been there too long. The place is very old fashioned in many ways, from the bizarre and twee furnishings in the rooms and communal areas, to the outdated way of 'serving' meals.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

Very welcoming owners, huge coal fires, amazing food especially breakfast. clean, plenty hot water, will certainly be going back! Top notch, keep it up :-)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewbobs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We booked a double room for two nights. The room was large, but the decor was incredibly tired, and poorly lit. (What on earth was an oil painting of a flamenco dancer doing over our bed?) The red padded velvet headboard above the rock hard bed was dusty. The hospitality tray contained a single packet of biscuits. The bathroom suppies consisted of one small bottle of body wash, one shampoo, and one body lotion. For two people. We used the shampoo on the first night. It was not replaced.
The bathroom was carpeted, and shabby. The bath had been chipped and then repainted.

At breakfast we were initially given a tiny pot of coffee for two people. Yes, this was refilled on request, but seemed to say it all about this hotel. Nothing about it was generous, no one went the extra mile. We shared our breakfast table with the weariest, dustiest, most distressed basket of dried flowers I have ever seen.

This hotel was not cheap. It really needs to re-examine the quality of its offering.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ExTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We have just completed our third trip to Dalrachney and would have been happy to stay for the rest of the year! Everything about this hotel is great - room, food, service, staff, location - which is why we keep going back. So far we have stayed in the Coach House and always choose the same room but as we had such a fantastic time at Christmas in 2006, we have booked Christmas week this year in the Lodge. Christmas at Dalrachney was pure magic and a couple of days before Christmas Day when it was cold but sunny, we went on the railway up Cairngorm Mountain where people were skiing and the views were spectacular. On Christmas Eve we attended the carol service at 10pm in the local church where everyone made us very welcome. The holiday period at Dalrachney was something else with log fires blazing away in the dining rooms and lounge and so much food we thought we would pop! We went for a woodland walk after dinner each day and the sun sparkling on the hoar frost covering the pine trees was just beautiful. We are really looking forward to Christmas at Dalrachney again this year and would recommend you get your booking in quickly if you are interested!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Great place to stay. Very warm welcome from staff. Food very good. Room very spacious. We liked the decor and furnishings which was in keeping with the building. It was like a home from home and if its a quiet relaxing time you want this is the place.
The hotel would suite the outdoor types as it is close enough to winter resorts, hunting and fishing.
Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Set in a lovely quiet location with very friendly and helpful staff. The dinner was super and the large Scottish breakfast was fabulous. We stayed in the large superior double room with en-suite which was wonderful. There is a lovely lounge to relax with a drink after dinner. A great hide away to relax and unwind. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2008

A lovely country house hotel in the village of Carrbridge. We stayed for 4 nights and had very a very nice room on the third floor which was light and spacious. There was a good selection of choices for breakfast and the dinner menu was extremely good and precluded the need to find anywhere else to eat of a evening. The staff were very helpful and accomodating, especially when we arrived early in the morning on the Caledonian Sleeper, allowing us to check in at 8am and have breakfast!

The en-suite bathroom only had a shower attachment on the bath so if you would like a shower then it would be best to ensure the room you book has a proper one.

A first rate hotel in a beautiful area of the country.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ADB101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
827 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
229 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.3 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalrachney Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalrachney Lodge Hotel

Address: Grantown Road, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: £123 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dalrachney Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dalrachney Lodge is an independent family run Country House Hotel in Carrbridge in the heart of the Scottish Highlands. We recognise how precious your relaxation and holiday time is away from home and we aim to provide a tranquil environment in which to enjoy our wonderful surroundings. Dalrachney Lodge a former Edwardian Hunting Lodge, is set in 2 acre grounds within the Cairngorms National Park and rests directly beside our own 1 km stretch of the Dulnain River. Our Bistro menu features locally sourced food and a good selection of whiskies. We have Egyptian cotton bed linen, Heirlooms towels and Floris toiletries in all rooms. Some Superior rooms have handmade Savoir Super King size beds. We hope you will come and enjoy our Scottish hospitality and all the Cairngorms has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dalrachney Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalrachney Hotel Aviemore
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing