We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service, great break away!”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great location, great service, great break away!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We've stayed at the Fairwinds 3 times over the past 12 years now and each time has been a fantastic visit, without fail. The owners Alison and Lindsey are friendly and cannot do enough for you. They really add that finishing touch to your stay through making you feel like you're 'part of the family'. We've stayed in the chalets each time, and the tranquillity of the surroundings is just perfect for a quiet retreat away in the country for a few days. The chalets sit around the lochan nestled in the woods of Carrbridge. There are many beautiful woodland walks at your fingertips from the premises and the lovely village of Carrbridge is just a 5 minute walk. Value for money is average. They also open the restaurant in the hotel building (which was an old manse) to non-hotel-residents. Lindsey's cooking is FANTASTIC, she has the potential to be a cook in a five star restaurant! The only real downside to our stays here is that the track leading up to the hotel and the paths around are poorly lit as it can get very dark up there, very quickly. Secondly, the decor of the chalets has a lot to be desired, it's very pine and 80's, however it adds to the cabin feel. Overall though, we'd go back again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
144
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This hotel was a gem of a find. Went with friends for their second trip and can't wait to go back. Alison and Lyndsey are perfect hosts and the food was amaaaaaaaazing. Can't thank you enough ladies, Derek and I had a fab time. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a true Scottish welcome. Will be back in April 2012. Karen

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I highly recommend the Fairwinds Hotel. For the last three years, a group of us travel from the U.S. to Carrbridge in October to participate in the World Porridge Making Championship--the so called "Golden Spurtle." We slept and had all of our breakfasts and dinners at the Fairwinds Hotel. It was so good, we wouldn't think of going elsewhere. Lindsay and Allison, the proprietors, work magic in their kitchen. The meals are gourmet, but with the hearty, comforting element of traditional Scottish fare. Breakfast is hearty! The rooms are spacious and well accommodated. The beds are very comfy. The location is just off the main road that runs through the center of town but it feels like it's nestled in the woods. The best part of staying there is the hospitality you receive from Lindsay and Allison. They're so friendly and kind. You'll love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenPorridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We enjoyed three nights at the Fairwinds Hotel with Alison and Lindsay serving as gracious hosts. Our room was cozy and the food wonderful, but the hospitality was what will bring me back. Thank you for the sweet memories.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The venue, the owners, and the great atmosphere really made our holiday. The rooms were clean, the food was outstanding in fact it was top class. The owners were brilliant. I am planning our next trip.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Don't be put off by first appearances at this lovely hotel. The hotel is starting to look a bit tired in parts, but our room was large, spotlessly clean, very comfortable and with lovely touches like homemade shortbread and Arran Arromatics toiletries. The food was excellent, as was the service. The owners couldn't have done enough for us. We will certainly be back and be recommending it to others.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Alison and Lindsay are very helpful and generous hosts, who are happy to serve and meet all your needs. Many hotels in Scotland today could learn from their desire to offer a high level of service. Lindsay's cooking is lovely, fresh and imaginative.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
6.4 mi away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Property: Fairwinds Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing