We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated excellence”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I have stayed at and reviewed Fairwinds before, but as it was a couple of years ago, I was keen to see if there were any changes. About 30 minutes south of Inverness, Fairwinds is a gem of a place to stay and the consistently high reviews on this website is a tribute to the effort made by the two owners. In my experience, the very best service is provided by the people who own a business and Alison and Lindsay put many of the larger chains of hotels to shame. The rooms are very well presented and have lots of thoughtful touches. I didn't have dinner, but breakfast was second to none. The grounds (several acres I believe) are well maintained and local wildlife, including red squirrels, in abundance). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyHolidayTaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We work hard to maintain standards and we are delighted that your return visit met your expectations from your previous trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to fairwinds in the future.
Alison and Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I are just back from a short stay at Fairwinds. I can't praise this hotel enough. The owners are very welcoming; the rooms are large, well-furnished, spotless and comfortable; the loaction is quiet yet within easy reach of all that Speyside and the Cairngorms have to offer. The food in the large and airy dining area was invariably excellent; one can pay much more in fine restaurants and yet not eat as well as this!
The whole atmosphere is relaxed, friendly but professional and Alison and Lindsay are terrific hosts and greaat fun. This is now my favourite small hotel on the Scottish mainland - and I don't say that lightly.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are quiet and comfortable - it would be difficult to go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_C552009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We work hard to try and ensure that our guests have a great experience and always appreciate feedback on how we are doing!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairwinds in the future.
Alison and Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

booked this hotel for a weekend away in the highlands and really struck gold. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome by the hotel owners Alison and Lindsay. There's a lovely atmosphere – it was like being invited to stay in someone's home, but with the privacy of a hotel should you want it. Alison took the time to sit with us after dinner on the first night and help us plan the following day's walking, lending us maps and other tips – truly invaluable advice.

Our double room (Morlich) was clean, cosy, and comfortable, with everything we needed for our stay. The bathroom in our room was newly refurbished, and there were complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room and a freshly homebaked treat each day (chocolate brownies - fab!). The conservatory dining room / sitting area is a great place to sit and watch all sorts of birds which frequent the grounds. There are also red squirrels, one of whom put in an appearance on our last morning (thanks to Alison for the heads up!).

The highlight of our weekend was undoubtedly the food – Lindsay is a maestro in the kitchen! As many other reviews have said, the venison is AMAZING – definitely one of the best meals we've ever had!! The breakfasts were also fantastic, plenty to choose from and everything was freshly cooked to order. It was like having a personal chef for the weekend (and all meals now seem inferior!).

We would highly recommend a visit to Fairwinds (AND dinner!), and would definitely return here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thanks for your very comprehensive review of your recent stay with us at Fairwinds Hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Another fantastic break at Fairwinds. The hosts are very welcoming, the room was really comfortable and the food is amazing! We have always been very happy to return to this very special hotel. It is a real gem. Ideally situated to explore the Cairngorms and surrounding area. Meals in the conservatory restaurant are a delight. The breakfasts are large and individually prepared - nothing is too much trouble. The evening meal menu is always a tempting dilemma. Delicious, locally sourced food, well prepared and a pleasure to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

As a regular visitor to Fairwinds, you know how much we value the feedback from our guests: thanks for taking time to post a review of your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We're just back from 2 nights at the Fairwinds. It was our first visit but won't be the last.
The standard is excellent starting with the warmest of welcomes to all guests from Alison and Lyndsay. They treat everyone with a laugh and good conversation.
The hotel is so clean and comfortable with every detail thought out from the bedding, towels and cosiness to the complimentary water, home baking and toiletries.
The food was excellent - the breakfast and dinner menu had a good variety to choose from and were beautifully cooked and presented in lovely surroundings.
We have been lucky to travel and this is one of the best places we have stayed.

We would thouroughly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us and look forward to welcoming you to Fairwinds in the future.
Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We ended up here after everything else we tried was booked for a few events that were in the area. It was a referral from a referral. It was a clean room. The twin room was quite small and not much more then a bed in the room. The double was much bigger with a small sitting area to have a glass of wine. We walked to the Cairns Hotel Bar across the street for a nice meal with a great local ambience! Met a charming local family that we chatted with all night. The breakfast the next morning was good and plenty. The two owners did go out of their way to accommodate my dietary restriction but not without letting me know how much trouble it was. We felt since we were their only guests that night that we had put them in a bit of an inposition to work! The endangered red squirrels were a treat out the front window in the sequoia trees. So, we had mixed emotions about this place. It was one of our most expensive rates to pay in our week long trip.

Room Tip: Get the double as the twin room is very small and the double had a nice view of the Seqouia tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We always appreciate feedback as it allows us to see what we are doing well and what we need to improve upon. We are sorry that you did not fully enjoy your one night stay with us in October. I can fully understand why you would be disappointed in your room size if you were expecting a twin but in actual fact you will find that your reservation was for our single room. As the description suggests, this room is smaller than a twin or double with one bed and furnishings appropriate for the occupancy of a single person. It is also charged at single rate. Our single room is in actual fact relatively spacious as single rooms go.
Thankfully you were happier with the double room which was our superior double room, Cairngorm: we gave you a complimentary upgrade to this room on arrival from the smaller double that you had booked.
We are also disappointed that you felt the service was lacking. You have mentioned the special dietary needs for breakfast (which were notified to us at the last minute) but all other requests including assistance with itinerary prior to arrival and early breakfast were met and we both spent a lot of time chatting with you all and answering all your questions. As you will see from other reviews on Tripadvisor this is not out of the ordinary for us. The service also continued post trip - you will remember that we safely packaged and forwarded an item of left property to you at our expense.
We try to offer best value for money here and are competitively priced with similar accommodation in the area. We place great emphasis on quality here. The Arran Aromatics toiletries, luxury 600g towels, bed linens from Dorma as well as complimentary bottled water, complimentary wifi and home baking in the bedrooms: these are all the little touches which are greatly appreciated by the majority of our guests. And there is also the added benefit of the extensive grounds complete with red squirrels.
We are naturally disappointed with your review but given all this we are really not sure how much more we could have done for you to make your stay more enjoyable.

Alison and Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

What a beautiful location, what fantastic breakfasts and delicious evening meals. Sitting in the conservatory eating a hearty breakfast is the experience we all need. Red squirrels for neighbours, all sorts of birds, love it. It snowed on our first evening/morning, it was like fairyland. Our room was massive with two lovely comfy armchairs. Complimentary bottles of water daily and delicious cakey treats. There is nowhere anywhere in the area to compare. I know this sounds sickly sweet but it truly is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeaniusw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
817 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,353 reviews
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: £90 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing