We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent one night stop over”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in the area for the Loch Ness Marathon. Many other hotels in the Inverness area had increased their prices for the weekend due to the high demand but not Fairwinds. Spotlessly clean, excellent customer service and local advice. Good parking, breakfast, bedroom facilities, shower, etc. etc. As a seasoned traveller including overseas this place at the very top of the quality ratings in my book. Just one thought....would it be possible to offer free Wi-Fi?

If you are looking for a place to stay in this area I don't think you'll better it!

Louise & Henry D

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We do actually offer free wi-fi here which is available throughout the building including guest rooms. Sorry you missed out on that!
Congratulations to your son on his fine run in the marathon - I'm almost tempted to enter next year. Almost!
We look forward to welcoming you back to fairwinds the next time you are visiting the area

Alison and Lindsay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for Fairwinds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at several B&Bs during our recent tour of Scotland and Ireland. This was our first and they certainly set a very high standard for the rest of our trip. The grounds were lovely, the room was very well appointed and the duvet was especially sumptuous. A minor housekeeping incident was brought to our attention by Alison. She immediately took care of it and was very apologetic for the oversight by their housekeeping staff. A few moments after she left our room, she returned with a chilled bottle of wine as an expression of apology. It certainly was very generous of them and we did enjoy the wine. There also was a beautiful tray with refreshments including a homemade treat. (incidentally, this is the only place we stayed where a homemade treat was added to the traditional tea/coffee tray). The breakfast was also the best we experienced in our travels. The dining room was lovely, very welcoming and guests were friendly without being overly involved. The food was outstanding. I cannot recommend this B&B enough. It was one of the highlights of our trip!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just want to thank Allison and Lyndsey for a fabulous weekend...in one word..excellant..rooms superb...breakfasts superb...hospitality excellant...would recommend this hotel to everyone...set in beautiful surroundings julieannhowatd

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie ann mcpherson howarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Standard, quality, welcome, friendliness, decor, service, food choice.......everything was just perfect. The two ladies Alison and Lindsay who run this hotel have definitely got something to be very proud of, a hidden gem, made so by themselves. On arrival we were greeted with a smile although it was late, shown to our rooms, which were super and offered a welcome drink. The personal touches were many, home baking in the room instead of the usual pack of coconut biscuits! The setting is off the beaten track and a car is needed. The breakfast is superb and again service with a smile. It is like being allowed into the home of very good friends. The grounds are lovely and there are plenty of walks nearby. We were busy whilst we were there but what a haven of peacefulness, a real place to unwind. A definite place to revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagsRop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Everything was excellent from the warm greeting and welcome drink to the super way Alison and Lindsay met our food request due to our late arrival - the cold platter brought to our room was perfect. Breakfast was excellent including the varied menu to suit all tastes and the standard and quality of both the hot and cold choices. Our comfortable room had everything we needed and more. Throughout our whole stay friendliness and efficiency combined to deliver Scottish hospitality at its best. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Visitng Scotland for the first time my adult daughter and I spent two nights in July in the Fairwinds Hotel, Carrbridge. We selected the hotel because the picture looked quaint, but crossed our fingers that it would vaguely resemble the photo. We need not have worried because the hotel is even lovelier than pictured and is in a gorgeous part of the highlands. Carrbridge itself is simply divine and is near to Aviemore which is a delightful small town that is very geared (apparently) to skiing. Everything was just spot on at this hotel, thanks to the careful and attentive management of Lindsay and Alison - of whom too much cannot be said. The room was very large, impeccably clean and had tea and coffee facilities, two comfortable armchairs and - rarity of rarities - a sink available outside the bathroom. Most convenient for kettle filling! The breakfast was great, the best we had in the UK. All in all this hotel lived up to its superb TripAdvisor ratings and then some. am extremely grateful for the assistance and care that was extended to me during my stay, and despite being ill at the time managed to have a wonderful time in Carrbridge.

Room Tip: Do try the porridge for breakfast - it's a winner!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leetonozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have been at Fairwinds several times in the past few years and this trip was again superb. It's a remarkable place, beautifully run by Lindsay and Alison. A welcoming drink, lovely room, food which is 'how food should be' in the conservatory restaurant, with wildlife and majestic trees all around. A real haven of tranquility which must be experienced, in fact, because words do not do it justice. In an era of mass-produced conformity, this superb hotel, with such a warm personal touch, really does stand out, and rightly so.

Room Tip: The rooms are all lovely and individual - you can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
256 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
778 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range: £79 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing