We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And red squirrels too”
Review of Fairwinds Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairwinds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“And red squirrels too”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Set back from the road, Fairwinds Hotel provided just what we needed for our final stay of our much needed holiday. We arrived to find red squirrels on the feeder which delayed us leaving the car because our view was so good! Our room was exceptionally comfortable and the service and food at both dinner and breakfast was delicious and well served. We definitely chose the right place. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    29
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
146
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were after some peace and quiet and a little pampering and that is what we got thanks to the warm and attentive hospitality of the owners. The hotel is set back off the main street of the village and could be in the middle of nowhere in terms of tranquility and yet it is a couple of minutes walk into the village. We opted for the evening meal which was delicious with generous portions. Carrbridge is so handy for the fabulous attractions of the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at Fairwinds for four nights at the beginning of September and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Everywhere was clean and comfortable and we had what appeared to be a super kingsize bed.
On arrival we were told to help ourselves to a welcome drink set up in the bar area which was a decanter of whisky and another of sherry which we thought was a very nice touch. Also as mentioned previously each day on the tea/coffee tray was something homemade and delicious instead of the usual packet of rather dull biscuits often provided.
The breakfasts were very good indeed....a delicious array of fruit and plenty of choice of cooked dishes. We booked dinner as well and they were very good indeed.Three courses of quality food (mmm that venison fillet!) cooked extremely well and served very nicely and often with quite a bit of humour which really added fun to our stay.
Alison and Lindsey were great hosts and on our wedding anniversary they presented us with a beautiful iced cake complete with ribbon and a candle which we thought was very kind and was certainly appreciated.
Another highlight of our stay was their little dog Lucy who was an absolute delight. A gorgeous little ball of white fur with the most appealing nature. We absolutely loved her!
All in all we had a very good time at Fairwinds and would definitely recommend it to other visitors.

Room Tip: Watch for red squirrels in the big tree at the front and also in the grounds...very cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were in the area for the Loch Ness Marathon. Many other hotels in the Inverness area had increased their prices for the weekend due to the high demand but not Fairwinds. Spotlessly clean, excellent customer service and local advice. Good parking, breakfast, bedroom facilities, shower, etc. etc. As a seasoned traveller including overseas this place at the very top of the quality ratings in my book. Just one thought....would it be possible to offer free Wi-Fi?

If you are looking for a place to stay in this area I don't think you'll better it!

Louise & Henry D

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snippi, Owner at Fairwinds Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do actually offer free wi-fi here which is available throughout the building including guest rooms. Sorry you missed out on that!
Congratulations to your son on his fine run in the marathon - I'm almost tempted to enter next year. Almost!
We look forward to welcoming you back to fairwinds the next time you are visiting the area

Alison and Lindsay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massena
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at several B&Bs during our recent tour of Scotland and Ireland. This was our first and they certainly set a very high standard for the rest of our trip. The grounds were lovely, the room was very well appointed and the duvet was especially sumptuous. A minor housekeeping incident was brought to our attention by Alison. She immediately took care of it and was very apologetic for the oversight by their housekeeping staff. A few moments after she left our room, she returned with a chilled bottle of wine as an expression of apology. It certainly was very generous of them and we did enjoy the wine. There also was a beautiful tray with refreshments including a homemade treat. (incidentally, this is the only place we stayed where a homemade treat was added to the traditional tea/coffee tray). The breakfast was also the best we experienced in our travels. The dining room was lovely, very welcoming and guests were friendly without being overly involved. The food was outstanding. I cannot recommend this B&B enough. It was one of the highlights of our trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just want to thank Allison and Lyndsey for a fabulous weekend...in one word..excellant..rooms superb...breakfasts superb...hospitality excellant...would recommend this hotel to everyone...set in beautiful surroundings julieannhowatd

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie ann mcpherson howarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Standard, quality, welcome, friendliness, decor, service, food choice.......everything was just perfect. The two ladies Alison and Lindsay who run this hotel have definitely got something to be very proud of, a hidden gem, made so by themselves. On arrival we were greeted with a smile although it was late, shown to our rooms, which were super and offered a welcome drink. The personal touches were many, home baking in the room instead of the usual pack of coconut biscuits! The setting is off the beaten track and a car is needed. The breakfast is superb and again service with a smile. It is like being allowed into the home of very good friends. The grounds are lovely and there are plenty of walks nearby. We were busy whilst we were there but what a haven of peacefulness, a real place to unwind. A definite place to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsRop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.3 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
242 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.3 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
5.5 mi away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carrbridge Hotel
Carrbridge Hotel
#3 of 3 in Carrbridge
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairwinds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairwinds Hotel

Property: Fairwinds Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairwinds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairwinds is a small owner run hotel in the Highland village of Carrbridge at the north end of The Cairngorm National Park. The Hotel and Chalets sit in 7 acres of peaceful, private grounds which are surrounded by mature woodlands and are a haven for wildlife including red squirrels, roe deer and numerous bird species including crossbills. The Hotel offers high quality serviced accommodation in 5 individual bedrooms. Quality toiletries by Arran Aromatics, heavyweight towels, bed linens by Dorma, bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities,ipod docking, TV and free wifi: all are standard within the guest rooms. The 6 self catering chalets are positioned around our private lochan and offer the opportunity for guests to cater for themselves. Carrbridge is ideally situated off the A9, just 6 miles north of Aviemore and 23 miles south of Inverness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Fairwinds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairwinds Hotel Aviemore
Fairwinds Hotel Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing