We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
david t
Stirling, United Kingdom
Chalets to continue: visit Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Sept 2021
As a reviewer below said, Fairwinds hotel will become a private home soon but the chalets on site will still be available. We had a lovely stay and warm welcome by the host (with our dog) and would have gone back. Anyway, Carrbridge itself is a lovely village to visit and stay in one of their wooden chalets. The Cairn Hotel, recommended for dinner, an excellent pub for service, food, good drinks range (cask ales etc). Nice forest walks all around the village (plus Landmark for kids)
Date of stay: September 2021
Room Tip: too late (probably)!
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£160
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £157
  • Vio.com
    £139
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
Free Wifi
Free parking
View from Carrbridge Golf Course
Booking.com
£120
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    £120
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.2 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
Free parking
Restaurant
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Official Site
0.9 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
Free parking
Pool
kitchen
Agoda.com
Multiple ways to pay
  • Booking.com
3.9 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
Free parking
Lol.travel
    2.1 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free Wifi
    Booking.com
    £90
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    3.1 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £149
    • Expedia.com
      £107
    • Vio.com
      £96
    • Hotels.com
      £101
    3.3 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    £172
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      £172
    • Vio.com
      £172
    • eDreams
      £172
    5.9 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Tripadvisor
    £134
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    6.1 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free parking
    Restaurant
    Booking.com
    £132
    Fully refundable
    • Expedia.com
      £125
    • Hotels.com
      £119
    • Agoda.com
      £132
    6.0 miles from Reuben's Highland Retreat - Speyside
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Carrbridge
    Reviews (267)
    Filter reviews
    267 results
    Traveller rating
    227
    36
    4
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    227
    36
    4
    0
    0
    See what travellers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 267 reviews
    Reviewed 20 September 2021

    And perhaps more importantly comfy beds. From a personal welcome by the owner to an amazing cooked breakfast, with a choice of cereals and standard full English breakfast with generous portions, included in the price. Overall can thoroughly recommend Fairwinds to any type of traveller

    Room tip: Pre-arrange if vegetarian options are required
    Date of stay: September 2021
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank sarahpL7343ST
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 14 August 2021

    There isn't a bad thing to say about the Fairwinds Hotel - a lovely old house in a beautiful setting, complete with ponds and ducks. We got a very warm welcome from our host who gave us a great recommendation for a place to have dinner in the evening. Our rooms were beautifully decorated, comfortable and cosy and we had a great nights sleep. Breakfasts were excellent, several choices of hot and cold on the menu and we were very well looked after by the young staff member. Everything was really clean and the staff were obviously very particular about their Covid protocols. I couldn't recommend the Fairwinds and their team more highly.

    Date of stay: August 2021
    Thank caroline1derry
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 August 2021

    A beautifully furnished small hotel set in 7 acres just off Carrbridge High Street. A warm welcome. Our twin room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a large en suite containing both shower and bath. The owners have clearly given thought to the facilities in the rooms - two chairs (so no perching on the bed), and two luggage racks (so no tripping over a suitcase on the floor - if there is space why doesn't everyone do this) also delicious home made traybake. The honesty bar is very reasonably priced and we had a nightcap after an evening meal at the nearby Cairn Hotel (good menu, good food).
    Breakfast was in the huge conservatory and was extensive.
    Sadly the hotel is closing in October when the owners intend to live in it themselves, although self catering cottages and the converted church will remain available.

    Date of stay: August 2021
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Mar186525
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 July 2021

    The Fairwinds hotel is a small hotel in the lovely village of Carrbridge. It is very convenient for the many attractions in the Cairngorm national park and a far nicer place to stay than the nearby Aviemore.

    The hotel is tucked away down a roughly surfaced side lane and is surrounded by the Carrbridge woods which offer excellent local walks with several well marked trails. On arrival, we were shown to our room, a very sizable, well decorated and furnished room with a proper American-sized king-size bed. The on-suite bathroom was also very large with a very decent sized bath - ideal after a long and strenuous walk in the local mountains, a huge shower with both conventional and large shower roses, and double sinks as well as the WC. Again, it was very nicely decorated and, as with the bedroom, spotlessly clean.

    Although the Fairwinds does not provide evening meals, there are several establishments within walking distance where you can eat (the Cairn hotel is recommended by the Fairwind's owners and for good reason). There are, of course, many more eateries and takeaways in Aviemore. The hotel does provide an honesty bar with a range of bottled beers and ciders, wines, and spirits including a nice little selection of malt whisky.

    A full breakfast menu is available and was delicious. There was fresh fruits, cereals, continental breakfast or full Scottish breakfast. The latter provided an excellent start to the day and meant no more than a light lunch (if any) was required.

    This is a lovely hotel and the owners were great; full of excellent advice and very friendly. Sadly, I believe that the hotel will close for good at the end of this year as the owners are looking to reduce their workload. However, next to the hotel, they do have several self-catering lodges and they intend to convert their old church building into a self-catering holiday home. I have no doubt that these will offer a great break in a lovely location and certainly one that we will seriously consider in future.

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dave F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 11 July 2021

    Stayed here just before we started our NC500 trip, really nice B&B. Hosts were very helpful prior to check in with all the required COVID-19 arrangements and advice on local restaurants. Very spacious and well equipped bedroom. Small lounge area for guests was very nice with a well stocked "honesty" bar. Lovely breakfasts

    Date of stay: July 2021
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank stuartt153
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews