We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if you are a non-smoker”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Avoid if you are a non-smoker”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

After spending a week touring around the west and north coast of Scotland stopping at a number of wonderful hotels I finished my trip with a two day stay at this hotel. Unfortunately unless you are a smoker you may not like this hotel. It appear the main smoking area is in the main / only doorway into the hotel. This means you have to make you way through several smokers (including staff and guests) every time you enter / exit the hotel.
The quality of the food served is also of a poor quality. Breakfasts buffets were dried and overcooked. I had a sirloin steak the first night which was dry and tough, and on the second night I had the Jalfrazi Curry which was inedible. The service was that slow that a drink I ordered before my meal I could see them pouring behind the bar as I was leaving the restaurant after my meal.
I plan to return to Scotland, but never to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davisanthony64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    139
    101
    56
    41
See reviews for
71
200
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

As we stayed at the hotel whilst on a coach trip, perhaps the food we received differed from that provided for the independent traveller. I hope so! It was truly dreadful. The worst offering being a portion of trifle that was so rubbery it managed to remain in a perfect cube without support. It was closely followed in awfulness by the haggis in Drambuie. Tea and coffee in flasks was already on the tables before anyone arrived for breakfast. To say the tea was stewed is putting it mildly.
Our room was basic , but clean. If you stay here, however, do avoid staying in room 422 as the 2 storey staff quarters are directly opposite, about 40 feet away. Their windows have net curtains to give privacy, the hotel windows don't. In addition the staff stand on the fire escapes smoking.
We were glad to leave

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rosie2417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Stopped at this lovely hotel in beautiful location in carrbridge whilst i was up working
in the area.Walked into the hotel and was greated by a very friendly receptionist,got booked in no problem , the room is very well decorated with all mod cons which you dont get in some other hotels at double the price.Was up at 7am for breakfast , a buffet style breakfast , prob one of the best fry ups i've ever had. After a hard days work back to the hotel , had a 3 course meal , once again faultless, after a few drinks in the hotel i decided to go to the local bar down the street , think it was called the cairns, went in , look like a nice place but there was a very strange smell , i just could not put my finger on what it was ,so drank the pint quick and went back to the carrbridge .So overall if u are in the area drink, sleep, and eat at the carrbridge hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Came to hotel on a coach tour. Was unsure before I came due to some comments. I liked the free style dining and the food was just rite for our type of eating, not fancy just good food. Breakfast was self service and if u want more just help yourself. The room we had was nice and modern on new extension with a veiw to the golf course. It's in good location for our tour of the highlands and really liked our time there. We had a great coach and very helpful and knowlagable driver and our tour manager was excellent. Would love to go again

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thenandnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

we stayed at the carrbridge hotel in june 2011, hotel was dull dreary in desperate need of a facelift, every floorboard creaked. Staff miserable no personality , waiting staff look terrifed as every thing was so disorganised. Food was terrible, lack of choice, no presentation, just thrown together, in fact it looked like a lot of leftovers from the previous day.We most certainly wont be going back there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank treestump1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

In the middle of some of the most stunning and awe inspiring scenery Scotland has to offer.
The Cairngorms, The River Spey, Aviemore, the mountains, Loch Ness etc. etc. But Oh ! what a disaster of a hotel. Greeted in glowing terms by the owner personally. 'Wonderfull to see you - will make your stay memorable - nothing too much trouble - ad Nauseum.. So, nothing negative here.
The room seemed fine but after a long trip looked forward to a shower and change for dinner. . Ran hot water taps for 10 minutes and nothing - just cold. Contacted reception 'Oh yes the boiler has broken down. We are trying to get it fixed'. 'Why weren't we told then by the owner on our greeting ?? Uhhh must have overlooked it but we are trying!' At dinner others complained of the same thing.
Ah well it happens I guess. Never mind menu looks good.
Chose Cheese and brocilly bake. Mistake. Cheapest commercial cheese sauce topped with 4 spears of RAW - no, not al dente - RAW brochilly. Whole thing not even grilled and tastless. Soup was fine, pudding was indescribably poor. Looked at others in the dining room and could see by food left and being returned all had the same experience. Cheap food with poor ingredients badly prepared. a good cook could have done better let alone someone purporting to be a 'chef'.
So breakfast - (oh yes, boiler fixed so all credit.) Eggs, fine- bacon, well-cheap. Tomatoes TINNED. In a greasy spoon cafe you'd expect it but a 3* hotel ??. Sausage worse than Tesco value - tasteless and greasy. Tesco value bread for toast yuk!
We ended up going to a hotel up the road every other evening with several other very unhappy guests and paying for 1st class food and service with wine and fantastic food at £20.00 a head as recommended by the two nearest pubs and guest houses (yes I did my homework!) who wouldn't comment out of politeness except one who said 'yes I know what you mean'. That said it all!.
So at the Carrbridge Hotel I asked how much they charged non residents for an a la carte dinner - '£21.50 sir'.
She asked if I needed a doctor as I stood dumbstruck.
It almost spoiled a special holiday in an unbeatable area as there is almost nowhere else that comes close for mountains and scenery.
What a shame. Get you act together Carrbridge. Scotland deserves better.

Room Tip: Don't eat there if you want quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weebeeglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Just returned home from a railway themed holiday and we were based at the Carrbridge Hotel. What a lovely friendly welcome we received on our arrival and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was spotless, and as it was on the 2nd floor we had a good view over the village. Food was great and plentiful. Entertainment is varied to suit all tastes. We had a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay there and would recommend it to anyone wishing to spend time touring the Cairngorms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tayquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 4 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing