We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish Highlands Rail trip via Newmarket Holidays”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The whole trip was excellent and marvellous value for money.
Cost per person included return flights to Edinburgh, coach + driver for the entire stay with the services of an excellent tour guide,4 nights B,B&EM at the hotel + entertainment each evening, and 3 trips by train - on the Strathspey Steam railway, to the Kyle of Localsh and Mallaig.
The hotel is basic but clean, with good meals and friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: Make sure the 'fridge is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SCAMPI206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

We are regular visitors to Carrbridge but only stay in this hotel if we can't get booked into much smaller Cairn hotel. Carrbridge Hotel is clean, warm & professionally run but it caters mainly for coach tours so most clients are retirees. Entertainment. is offered, in form of ceildh until 11pm during high season but we got taxi into Aviemore which is much more lively. Breakfast, sadly is almost inedible. Buffet style food is kept hot for ages so fried eggs are like solid rubber, scrambled are swimming in pool of curds and whey. Toast is cold and chewey, Old Village Bakery, close by, gives brill breakfasts if you don't mind paying..Try to book the Cairn hotel first

Room Tip: get into new annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotlandshorty2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Just spent 5 fantastic days in The Carrbridge hotel. I recieved a very warm welcome from Colin and Theresa the owners and from all the staff. My room was very comfortable with a lovely view of the river and I'm sure my single room should have been a twin or Double it was so big. The food and service in the dining room were excellent and so was the nightly entertainment. Overall this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I would not hesitate to recomend it. A fantastic hotel in a beautiful location!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeg02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We chose this hotel for it's location and price and we found it to be an excellent choice.
Our first impressions were friendly and welcoming staff, we really liked the decor of our room and the whole experience was a wonderful stay.
The breakfast was perfect and cooked exactly the way we wanted it.
The bar and entertainment (which was a nice surprise) was great, and really made our stay enjoyable.
We would definitely come back to this hotel, it was great value and a fabulous place to stay in such a beautiful area of Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

just had 4 nights at the carrbridge hotel lovely welcome room nice and large bathroom large and clean good shower but no hot water from the sink tap after leaving it running for 15 mins.the food was ok on the first night and went down hill from then on roast potatoes were not fresh but frozen the meat was sliced ready to use not from a joint and every night we had carrots portions were on the small size entertainment acceptable location very good for touring around and a nice goodbye from the reception member of staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at the carrrbridge for 3 nights , its a great location for siteseeing and a short commute to inverness.The vaule for mony is outstanding , i would defo recommend to any up looking for a nice quiet place to stay with plenty of things to do

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmcdonald29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Just returned from a fantastic stay in the Carrbridge hotel. The rooms were really comfortable and clean I had one of the best nights sleeps ever. Breakfast is self service, plentiful and was well organised. Evening meal was simply delicious we opted for the inclusive 3 course meal. The staff were very efficient, polite and nothing was too much trouble. The location was great and also had a brilliant day at Lankmark which was only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, we even received discount vouchers for being residents at the hotel. All in all a great short break staying in a great hotel. We'll be back

The only issue we did find is that Carrbridge has no bank or hole in the wall although we were able to draw an amount of cash from the hotel as cashback

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasoned_traveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
808 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1803 and has been owned and managed by the same family over the last 3 decades The hotel has been extensively expanded to provide a full hotel service within the Cairngorm National Park to include Tourist and Business Accommodation, Conferences or Events, with full set menus or a la carte Grill menu availabile each day. Just off the A9 - some 7 miles North of Aviemore and 23 miles South of Inverness the hotel makes an ideal good value base to expolre the Highlands by bus train or car with Glasgow 3hr, Edinburgh 2:30 min and Aberdeen 2:30min Carrbridge Hotel has a constant well co-ordinated program of refurbishment. There is a £250,000 thousand pound Bedroom refurbishment programmed planned to include new colour schemes,hard and soft furnishings and Carpet from October 2017 until March 2018 All bathrooms were refurbished over the last few years to provide moddern facilitys and the public areas will be refurbished for the start of the 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing