We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in Carrbridge”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm welcome in Carrbridge”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's not chic, classy or modern. It's not new or 5 star. But it is warm, welcoming and comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. It is in a great setting, just across the road from the much photographed old bridge.
The management made a point of welcoming us on arrival and were a visible presence every day. Any requests made to reception were dealt with promptly and problems resolved quickly. The staff were excellent from front desk through to waiters, waitresses and bar/catering staff. It really made a difference to our stay.
Our room 206, was a reasonable size and the housekeeping was good. The decor throughout is a little dated and could best be described as tired. This did not affect the quality of our stay.
Arriving as part of a tour group we were pleased (and pleasantly surprised) to being treated as individuals for dining purposes - no 'sittings'. Our only request would be to lengthen the dining times beyond the 7.30 end of service.
One small, but important point, would be to prevent smoking in the outer porch of the main entrance. It looks bad, smells bad and is unpleasant for guests entering or exiting the hotel through a haze if smoke,
Overall however, it was a very positive experience and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon53Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    148
    108
    65
    44
See reviews for
76
219
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great scenery, the weather was fantastic. Hotel was appalling. We will never set foot in the place again. Food had to be sent back twice as it was cold. Bedroom had no view except another bedroom window about 6 feet away. Lumpy bed, cloakroom size sink in bathroom, along with peeling varnish accessories and paint on walls. I could go on but I won't.

Room Tip: One with a view of anything but another bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Franmac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

You really do see a lot of the Scottish countryside on this holiday, but most of it is from the coach and not the railway. We had done nearly 800 miles too-ing and fro-ing from airport to hotel to train station by the end of the 4 days break!........The train trips were enjoyable, but only one (the shortest) was with a steam engine. The most spectacular scenery was on the Fort William to Mallaig (Road to the Isles) trip, when we were very lucky to have a sunny day that showed off the countryside wonderfully. Stopping at the Glenfinnan memorial to Bonnie Prince Charlie on the way back was an added bonus as was the afternoon in Edinburgh where we were free to explore on the return trip to the airport.
The Carrbridge Hotel certainly looks the part from the outside,very Scottish and set in a small village with the picturesque Pack Bridge right outside the front door.The hotel has two different parts, the old creaky part and the newer part added onto the back. Our room (403) was in the old creaky part and overlooked the front entrance.....it was clean and serviceable , although in
dire need of an update, I really didn't think that hotels like this still existed...the similarity to the rooms in "Fawlty Towers" from the 1970's was inescapable.
The staff were all friendly but when we reported that our bathroom extractor fan and mirror light didn't work, twice, no action was taken at all.
The Breakfast self service buffet was usual hotel fare and ok, but the evening meal was less than good and was likened to "school dinners". We stuck it out and ate in the dining room every night , but my tip would be to stick to the Pasta as it was definitely the best on offer. Some of our party went out to the pub down the road to have dinner after the first night, so draw your own conclusions!
If you don't like a lot of coach travel this holiday is not for you, but as I said you do see a lot of the Country. This was a budget break, but a few people said that they would have gladly paid more to travel on the "Jacobite" Steam train service from Fort William to Mallaig instead of the diesel train........it would have been nice to have had the option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just spent a four night stay at The Carrbridge Hotel & would like to say what a very pleasant hotel it is.The room was large & spacious, with a view out to the mountains,very comfortable beds & very clean.It is a bit dated & could do with a makeover but makes up for it by the very friendly staff & excellent food & service in the dining room.Thank you all for making us welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayhall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Hotel is a budget hotel but the facilities are excellent. The beds and bath/shower were perfect and the staff were great: friendly and helpful. It caters very well for coach parties and the Table d'Hôte menu is basic. However the A la Carte menu in the bar was really first class. We were very impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for the Annex. We believe the older rooms are a bit ancient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had a 4-night stay and were very happy with all aspects. The initial impression was that the place was a little jaded but our room was excellent - clean and comfortable. The food was good - plenty of it and well prepared. All staff were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Only tried one so can't help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at the Carrbridge Hotel from Monday 02/09/13 - Friday 06/09/13 organised by Newmarket Holidays for me and my wife, my sister & her husband (us 4 are in our 50's) and my Mum & Dad (in their 80's).
We found the hotel excellent value for money, the rooms were all good, the food (breakfast and evening meals) was very good and the staff were brilliant.
Would recommend the Carrbridge Hotel for a great base to see the Highlands.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
251 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,283 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
670 reviews
6.1 mi away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing