We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It's a good hotel in a magical setting with a gracious staff. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Food is well prepared and served a-plenty. But it was the staff that really made this such a wonderful stay. Just lovely people - so welcoming, so helpful and so friendly. Felt as if I was treated as family. Thank yo Colin! Thank you Paula! I'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leif_Weston_Andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

A great hotel, Breakfast was really great and dinners wholesome . A little problem with finding your room( need a satnav ) as all on diffrent levels. Rooms clean and staff very helpful. I would use the Hotel again.

Room Tip: Go for south facing rooms top floor in the new part.(rooms 240 onwards)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mervsymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A great deal was made of the welcome by the management on our coach. Dishes of food mentioned in this were not even available on the menu. Room was largish looking out over the main road and a garage - hence noisy. We shared it with some massive spiders. The decor was dated and bed uncomfortable. Food in general was cold and roughly presented. Ham salad was three slices of packet ham with a few tired lettuce leaves and half a tomato. The vegetarian dish that night was unpleasant in appearance and taste. I managed to order a drink at the bar and was given a glass with a slither of glass on the outside which pierced my finger. Staff were attentive once the designated first aider arrived. Until then I was not even given a plaster. Perhaps the most revealing fact about the hotel set up is that I was not even offered a free drink! Breakfast was no better. The nicest thing in Carrbridge is the old bridge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

It's not chic, classy or modern. It's not new or 5 star. But it is warm, welcoming and comfortable and a pleasure to stay in. It is in a great setting, just across the road from the much photographed old bridge.
The management made a point of welcoming us on arrival and were a visible presence every day. Any requests made to reception were dealt with promptly and problems resolved quickly. The staff were excellent from front desk through to waiters, waitresses and bar/catering staff. It really made a difference to our stay.
Our room 206, was a reasonable size and the housekeeping was good. The decor throughout is a little dated and could best be described as tired. This did not affect the quality of our stay.
Arriving as part of a tour group we were pleased (and pleasantly surprised) to being treated as individuals for dining purposes - no 'sittings'. Our only request would be to lengthen the dining times beyond the 7.30 end of service.
One small, but important point, would be to prevent smoking in the outer porch of the main entrance. It looks bad, smells bad and is unpleasant for guests entering or exiting the hotel through a haze if smoke,
Overall however, it was a very positive experience and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon53Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great scenery, the weather was fantastic. Hotel was appalling. We will never set foot in the place again. Food had to be sent back twice as it was cold. Bedroom had no view except another bedroom window about 6 feet away. Lumpy bed, cloakroom size sink in bathroom, along with peeling varnish accessories and paint on walls. I could go on but I won't.

Room Tip: One with a view of anything but another bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Franmac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

You really do see a lot of the Scottish countryside on this holiday, but most of it is from the coach and not the railway. We had done nearly 800 miles too-ing and fro-ing from airport to hotel to train station by the end of the 4 days break!........The train trips were enjoyable, but only one (the shortest) was with a steam engine. The most spectacular scenery was on the Fort William to Mallaig (Road to the Isles) trip, when we were very lucky to have a sunny day that showed off the countryside wonderfully. Stopping at the Glenfinnan memorial to Bonnie Prince Charlie on the way back was an added bonus as was the afternoon in Edinburgh where we were free to explore on the return trip to the airport.
The Carrbridge Hotel certainly looks the part from the outside,very Scottish and set in a small village with the picturesque Pack Bridge right outside the front door.The hotel has two different parts, the old creaky part and the newer part added onto the back. Our room (403) was in the old creaky part and overlooked the front entrance.....it was clean and serviceable , although in
dire need of an update, I really didn't think that hotels like this still existed...the similarity to the rooms in "Fawlty Towers" from the 1970's was inescapable.
The staff were all friendly but when we reported that our bathroom extractor fan and mirror light didn't work, twice, no action was taken at all.
The Breakfast self service buffet was usual hotel fare and ok, but the evening meal was less than good and was likened to "school dinners". We stuck it out and ate in the dining room every night , but my tip would be to stick to the Pasta as it was definitely the best on offer. Some of our party went out to the pub down the road to have dinner after the first night, so draw your own conclusions!
If you don't like a lot of coach travel this holiday is not for you, but as I said you do see a lot of the Country. This was a budget break, but a few people said that they would have gladly paid more to travel on the "Jacobite" Steam train service from Fort William to Mallaig instead of the diesel train........it would have been nice to have had the option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer part of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianvickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have just spent a four night stay at The Carrbridge Hotel & would like to say what a very pleasant hotel it is.The room was large & spacious, with a view out to the mountains,very comfortable beds & very clean.It is a bit dated & could do with a makeover but makes up for it by the very friendly staff & excellent food & service in the dining room.Thank you all for making us welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mayhall68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
263 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
683 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1803 and has been owned and managed by the same family over the last 3 decades The hotel has been extensively expanded to provide a full hotel service within the Cairngorm National Park to include Tourist and Business Accommodation, Conferences or Events, with full set menus or a la carte Grill menu availabile each day. Just off the A9 - some 7 miles North of Aviemore and 23 miles South of Inverness the hotel makes an ideal good value base to expolre the Highlands by bus train or car with Glasgow 3hr, Edinburgh 2:30 min and Aberdeen 2:30min Carrbridge Hotel has a constant well co-ordinated program of refurbishment. There is a £250,000 thousand pound Bedroom refurbishment programmed planned to include new colour schemes,hard and soft furnishings and Carpet from October 2017 until March 2018 All bathrooms were refurbished over the last few years to provide moddern facilitys and the public areas will be refurbished for the start of the 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing