We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time staying here for Christmas 23Dec to 27Dec 2013”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Reviewed 29 December 2013

After a very warm and friendly welcome from the Hotel Manager Colin, we went to our rooms which were very clean and comfortable. There was a plate of fruit on the desk which was a very nice touch. The breakfast was very delicious with a large selection and variety of food. We were very impressed with the choice and variety of food for dinner and impressed with the menu. The staff are friendly, helpful and courteous. I would like to thank the staff for all their hard work and for making my stay very enjoyable indeed. This is our second stay at this Hotel and we look forward to our third visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZORAN68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Had a terrible journey from Manchester to join a coach tour staying at the Carrbridge hotel. Immediately I walked in I was greated with a walm welcome and a porter who carried my bag to my room. I had requested a room with a walk in shower and this is what I got. Room nicely fitted out with all I needed and the extras - a bowl of fresh fruit and 2 chocolates. The room was clean and comfortable. Only downside the tv - it was very limited in channels due to their location. Food excellent and varied, only comment I could make is that the waiters/waitress cleared the plates quickly,. Stayed over Christmas. Christmas day the lunch was just right and in the evening a buffet was served. This is a family run hotel. I found all concerned in the working of the hotel very helpful. I will certainly be staying here when I go up to Scotland.

Room Tip: I had room 419
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend in August 2013. We had one of the newly renovated rooms which was lovely, clean and had all the modern amenities we could have wanted. We ate in the restaurant twice, both of which were divine, the first night we had steaks and they were cooked to perfection. Breakfast had a large variety however one tiny niggle, the black pudding had broken, but this didn't detract from the overall breakfast experience. Check-in was swift and the young receptionist, Alan, was cheerful informative, as were all the other staff. We visited Landmark and the hotel was kind enough to give us 25% off discount vouchers - a real bonus to our day. I read that people struggled to find their rooms, we managed to find ours without any problems.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Weekend Break which fitted in fine to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary which was the previous Wednesday.

Exceptionally friendly, relaxing environment. All the Hotel staff were really good to us and our pet Border Collie. Also people we met while out walking were very friendly.

Our room was comfortable and nice and warm for December. We were impressed by the attention to small detail. i.e. chocolates on our pillows on arrival and a digital clock radio. Very handy if you wake up in the middle of the night.

Dinner menu had a good choice. Food was nicely presented. Portions were huge. Very enjoyable meals.

Breakfast menu was good and varied from Continental to Full Scottish Breakfast. Black Pudding was excellent.

We were also invited to the Rotary Club Race Night. A new experience for us. Very enjoyable evening. Thanks again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles60-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

spent a couple of nights here with my sister and brother in law recently. we had a lovely couple of days, basic accommodation but great food and lovely staff. our visit was made even better by being asked to attend the rotary club race night. what a wonderful time we all had, cannot rate it highly enough !! thank you & see you next year!

Room Tip: upgraded rooms available in new extension.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dan55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here 4 nights - part of Newmarket rail holiday - terrific place to stay - basic room but comfy and good food. Will always remember the stunning scenery nearby and further north to Fort William. I cannot speak too highly of this hotel. Even my wife liked it !
.

Room Tip: Stay on middle floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boogly-boogly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having fond memories of spending a delightful skiing week here over 50 years ago when the hotel was vibrant and bustling we just popped in for a quick beer and a sandwich. And what a disappointment - the whole place felt old and tired, the bar was dingy, the furniture worn and what really summed it up was having to collect a pre-packed sandwich from the hall....but a snip at £1.29!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank douglasdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
265 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#1 of 11 in Aviemore
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel was built in 1803 and has been owned and managed by the same family over the last 3 decades The hotel has been extensively expanded to provide a full hotel service within the Cairngorm National Park to include Tourist and Business Accommodation, Conferences or Events, with full set menus or a la carte Grill menu availabile each day. Just off the A9 - some 7 miles North of Aviemore and 23 miles South of Inverness the hotel makes an ideal good value base to expolre the Highlands by bus train or car with Glasgow 3hr, Edinburgh 2:30 min and Aberdeen 2:30min Carrbridge Hotel has a constant well co-ordinated program of refurbishment. There is a £250,000 thousand pound Bedroom refurbishment programmed planned to include new colour schemes,hard and soft furnishings and Carpet from October 2017 until March 2018 All bathrooms were refurbished over the last few years to provide moddern facilitys and the public areas will be refurbished for the start of the 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing