We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“COACH HOLIDAY OVERNIGHT STOP”
Review of Carrbridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carrbridge Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“COACH HOLIDAY OVERNIGHT STOP”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst working in the area.Even though this hotel is refitting some of the bathrooms it is lacking in TLC.Most of the guests arrive by coach for an overnight or short stay.
The decor is tired and the corridors are badly illuminated.I only took breakfast which is buffet style,the fare is adequate but unlikely to win awards.During my 3 nights the fire alarm went off twice due to a fault.
Overall one to avoid unless you are stuck without accommodation

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROGER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCH2, Guest Relations Manager at Carrbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
We were sorry to learn via trip advisor that we were unable to fully meet your expectations on this occasion.

The hotel has a ongoing and comprehensive refurbishment program. The original part of the hotel was built 1803 and retains many of its period features.

We fully appreciate that the colour schemes, decor, hard and soft furnishings may not be to everyone's taste.

The hotel has a fully addressed level one fire detection system, with smoke detection in all areas for guests safety and protection.

The main causes of false fire alarms are steam from showers, aerosol sprays when used near to detection heads, cigarette or cigar smoke and water leaks. All staff are trained on how to minimise false alarms.

The fire alarm system is professionally maintained on a six monthly inspection, also daily checks are carried out in house.

We do fully appreciate the annoyance caused to individuals, if the fire system goes to full alarm and apologise for the inconvenience.

Can we ask, you contact us at guest relations on 01479 841202 so we can discuss your issues more fully and in a continual effort to further improve our guest customer service and care .

Kind regards

Guest Relations, Carrbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    140
    103
    57
    42
See reviews for
73
204
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This family run hotel needs a face lift, the rooms were basic fairly clean and acceptable.though I doubt the bathroom floor was cleaned,soap on floor (not ours)for three days when my wife binned it.
The staff friendly and aim to please. The food, breakfast ok though no kippers in sight if you fancied a Scottish flavour.Dinner very poor I'm afraid the first night set menu main meat dish bangers and mash yuk!!!though again the staff did try to make good.our thanks to Colin and Paula for their efforts.there is the option of al a carte, having paid for dinner you wouldn't want to pay again.
The weather was excellent which made every thing feel good,wasn't we lucky. I feel the tour company Newmarket Travel should ensure a reasonable standard of food for their clients. It's unlikely I would book with them again.

Room Tip: To avoid disappointment if it's a good 3 star room / hotel you want don't choose this one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCH2, Guest Relations Manager at Carrbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We were saddened that we did not fully meet with your expectations on this occasion,.

The original part of the hotel was built in 1803 and retain many of the period features. The most recent bedroom extension was completed in 2013.

The hotel has a comprehensive and ongoing refurbishment programme. We do fully appreciate and respect that the colour schemes, soft furnishings, and layout may not be to everyone’s taste.

The bangers and mash with a red onion caramelized gravy is a vey popular main dish. We do full appreciate that it is not to everyone’s taste.

Staff are trained to accommodate reasonable bespoke requests for food. We also have a full a la carte menu to select from and offer substantive discount by way of cost offset against your set meal allowance.

Kind regards,
Carrbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carrbridge hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here for the last night of a five-night tour of the Highlands and Islands. Our previous two nights had been at the Carbafaidh Hotel in Stornoway. This is an excellent hotel which I have separately reviewed. The Carrbridge is very much at the other end of the spectrum. We accepted that it would not be on a par with the Carbafaidh but understood that it was an old-fashioned, cosy, family-run hotel. We had had a long journey from Stornoway, by ferry and then coach, and arrived at about 7.00pm. We were told that we had to be down for dinner at 7.30pm at the latest; by the time we had collected our luggage and hauled it the not inconsiderable distance to our room on the second floor there was no time to freshen up and change for the last meal of our tour. Surely they could have shown a bit more flexibility. The decor was tired and drab. Here and there rooms were being redecorated, not sure if this will improve the hotel much and consequent activity made still worse the atmosphere of the place. One might have expected that they would have focussed on one corridor at a time rather than do up rooms on a seemingly random basis. Our room was pokey and badly designed with irritations such a pedal bin whose lid fell off whenever one used it, not to mention bath water that was barely hot. Having expected a cosy dining room with simple but wholesome food, we were dismayed to walk into a cavernous dining area that had all the character of a works canteen. The food was poor. Chicken Ben Macdhui, named from a nearby mountain, sounded interesting, suggesting something with a Scottish twist, but was actually a dry and tasteless breadcrumbed piece of chicken with a bit of gravy and tired looking vegetables. We each wanted a large glass of wine with our meal but only small glasses were available. We were very grateful, as were others in our party, that we had only one night there, not two as in our previous hotels. The Canadian receptionist was helpful and friendly; that is about the only good thing I can find to say. Yes, a visit from the Hotel Inspector is overdue.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidofepsom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCH2, Guest Relations Manager at Carrbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
We are sorry to learn retrospectively of your dissatisfaction via TripAdvisor. We apologise that in this occasion we have failed to meet your expectations.

Meals are served up to 9.30 pm 7 days a week, later or earlier dining times can be arranged via the group tour director or guide.

The hotel does provide a full porterage service for cases at no extra charge.

It is wholly unfair and misleading to compare a four star product and service with a three star product and service, and even more so when on a twelve hour overnight stop in mid-transit, but we do respect your subjective view.

The hotel has a well-planned and comprehensive repairs, renewals, and refurbishment programme.

We fully respect and appreciate that our house dish of “Chicken Ben Macdui” which is fillet of chicken, butterflied, and coated with bread crumb, then deep fried until golden brown, served with a seasoned tomato and mixed herb sauce will not be to everybody’s taste.

Staff are trained to accommodate reasonable bespoke requests for food.

We thank you also for your positive comments regarding breakfast. We have passed all your feedback onto the team.

Kind regards,
Carrbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Carrbridge Hotel as part of a weekend with friends at an organised road trip for vintage vehicles.

We had an evening meal for about 40 people as part of the stay. Looking at the menu it was extremely appetising. In fact the food was cold. The main was dried up chicken. The dessert consisted of left over fresh fruit from breakfast...in a crumble!!!!! The bedroom was tiny. Bedding threadbare. Shower curtain dirty!! At 8.00 on the Sunday morning were were awakened by a joiner sawing and hammering. So we got up and showered using a shower head which would not stay up. Breakfast was buffet style. Greasy. Cheap produce and mouldy bread. Yuk!!!

Don't go its vile!!!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Puffytoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCH2, Guest Relations Manager at Carrbridge Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. We have made preliminary enquires in reception, maintenance and food service, all of whom were unaware of any reported issues.

Can we ask that you contact us direct so we can make a fuller investigation.


Kind regards,
Carrbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I recently went to the Carrbridge hotel as part of a coach tour of the Highlands,the manager came on the coach to welcome us which was a lovely touch.
The hotel is a bit tired looking, the food is very good v& varied one evening IO did not fancy anything on the menu & they cooked me something else.
The rooms were clean & comfortable we had entertainment every night for the three nights we were there.
There is a place in the hotel where you can get sandwiches from the machine & meal deals for a reasonable price. Also the alcoholic drinks are very fairly priced. Close to a lot of places of interest to explore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is a no frills base for people who want to explore the surrounding area. Although a little tired the rooms are clean and comfortable and the food is good. Overall a good value for money 3 star Highland hotel with cheery helpful staff and in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went to Carrbridge with Newmarket Coach holiday. The staff were all very pleasant & efficient, however our sheets were not changed while we stated, as there was a small stain & a patch on the bottom sheet. Also the food was poor except for the puddings & the cheese & biscuits. The only entertainment was Bingo & quiz so was disappointed do not think I would go there again although I enjoyed my holiday

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
0.1 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
18.5 mi away
Highlander Hotel
Highlander Hotel
#3 of 3 in Newtonmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrbridge Hotel

Property: Carrbridge Hotel
Address: Main Street, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Carrbridge
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrbridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carrbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrbridge Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing