We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife Wonderland!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Just home from this first class accommodation! Well equipped n warm n cosy! Daily visits from various birds and short walks with mallard ducks! Look out for red squirrels passing by as you relax in the conservatory! Long time since I saw a red squirrel! Children had a wonderful time and there is lots to do! Staff couldnt be more helpful too! Highly recommend this tranquil place to stay and cant wait to return in Spring.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2014

This was our first time at Lochanhully and I couldnt fault it. We arrived with our 2 dogs and had a brilliant apartment with an enclosed front garden which made life easier.
The quality of the complex overall couldnt be faulted. The staff were extremely helpful and always pleasant.
We ate in the bar one night with friends and had a great meal.
Most of the apartments had families and i have to say that it never seemed like there were many people around. It was quiet and had a great atmosphere.
We are hoping to get back in the summer to enjoy the great walks that the area has to offer.
10/10
Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Llanric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just back from a short break at this place, I was a little concerned over some for the reviews posted here, however none of them are well founded. The lodges are well equipped and maintained. You pay for your electricity when you leave, which as the cabins are electrically heated is more if you are there in the winter. If you are looking for five star plus hotel accommodation then keep looking, this isn't for you. If you are looking to stay in a small cabin, in a lovely area then this is more for you.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DFrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were surprised that this resort was part of a chain.....it has all the charm and qualities of a family run business.
The staff were lovely, the lodge was spotless, the beds were just the most comfy I have ever slept in and the kitchen (described as a "mini-kitchen) was better than the resort we stayed in the previous week in Aviemore (owned by the same group) who advertise a full kitchen.
The setting could not be more beautiful. The lodges surround a small Loch with woods behind that can be explored with walks that extend up hill and down dale with stunning views. Carrbridge is only a small village (with a brilliant Pub) but is just 7 miles from Aviemore and we found heaps to do even off season. (our favorites were the Colluden Battlefield exhibition, The Caingorm Brewery tour, the Dalwhinney Distillery, the Cairngorm Wildlife Park and the funicular railway up the Cairngorm Mountain and walk to the summit).
Having spent the previous week in the area, there were a couple of days we preferred to spend "at home" just chilling, feeding the ducks and red squirrels outside the conservatory. The resort were more than happy to lend us DVDs (with a small deposit refundable on return) and board games. The pool, though small was very warm and luxurious.
Our holiday in Lochanhully exceeded expectations and we very much hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrisbaneHoppalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A surprise trip to Lochanhully, and what a lovely surprise! Stayed earlier this year and hoped to get back some day! The lodge was perfect - again. Cosy, clean and with every amenity. Us and our two kids fitted in it just great with our long weekend gear. The kids loved the visits from the ducks and the peacock, they soon know to check in on you in the mornings for some grub! It brings a smile to all of our faces. We didn't make it to the pool this time - but can recommend from our previous visit. Very child friendly and warm. We tried the resort clubhouse for something to eat this time and it was fine. Nothing fancy - chilli, scampi, sandwiches and chips, all nicely cooked, no frills but enjoyable all the same. A nice change from cooking in the lodge and no car required so a glass of wine and a beer were no problem! Staff very friendly and chatty. Cant fault Lochanhully, it may not be ultra modern in decor but it is exactly what you'd hope for in a self catering lodge - clean, quiet, cosy, with a real feeling of being away from it all and with everything you could need in terms of lodge facilities. Hope to be back again!!

Room Tip: double check its a 'refurbished' lodge you are booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsmummywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A cold weekend in November and these comfortable lodges stood up well to the weather. Decent heating, comfy beds and a well stocked kitchen make this a good find for those not bothered about food or onsite facilities.
The lodges are a little small if expecting to sleep 6 comfortably but with only the 3 of us this was an ideal size.

Probably the biggest benefit was getting the lodge at £75 per night and this includes use of the facilities at the MacDonald Resort in aviemore. Saving us around £25 for a day ticket. The onsite swimming pool wasn't busy but would feel crowded with 3 people in it.

ducks ducks ducks - while not very noisy we were wakened by 30 ducks outside our lodge on the lake side. bags of food can be bought a reception. they will eat from your hand but will visit every day if you do feed them !

Check out was a little dis-organised but the staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I had read people's reviews before going on this holiday and so was a bit worried. If you look on the Macdonald's own site the place is described in glowing terms naturally, but people had varying views of the place. We arrived about 6 pm on a very rainy Saturday and so it didn't look at all appealing. We booked in and we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Other reviewers had said staff were unfriendly. The lodge itself was clean and although basic had everything we needed. There was only my husband and my son so I could see how people could complain it was cramped if you had full occupancy of 6 people. The beds were really comfortable which is a bonus for me as many times we go away and they are dreadful particularly abroad. We were at the back of the site and so it was really quiet and the club house was a short walk over a bridge. The pool is tiny so it is worth going to the sister site in Aviemore and use the facilities there. The club house is basic, we didn't eat there as the food looked unappetizing and expensive, there are much better places in Carrbridge itself. Over all I would stay there again, don't go with high expectations, we have stayed in several places in and around Aviemore and always found the accommodation on the basic side and this was no different. It was warm and clean and good base to tour the area from.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lock go for 22 to 24. If you want quiet with no through traffic 46 to 50 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue7662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carrbridge
7.9 mi away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,370 reviews
7 mi away
Macdonald Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
271 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairwinds Hotel
Fairwinds Hotel
#2 of 3 in Carrbridge
229 reviews
6.5 mi away
High Range Self-catering Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club

Address: Lochanhully | Carrbridge, Carrbridge, Aviemore PH23 3NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore > Carrbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Carrbridge
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Hotel Carrbridge
Macdonald Lochanhully Woodland Club Carrbridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing