We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!!”
Review of Dunure Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunure Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Annbank
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous !!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Spent a absolutely delightful afternoon in the Dunure inn with my family . Lovely warm open fire cosy booth and superb service. The manager Helen couldn't of been more helpfull as was the bar staff Ian and Suzanne who couldn't of been more attentive.

Chef personally came out and recommended dishes that he thought we would enjoy.

To sum it up a excellently priced menu of fresh produce and worth every penny would definitely recommend.


Miss D Smith

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    55
    13
    11
    20
See reviews for
64
121
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Dunure is one of my favourite places, so when in Ayrshire over the festive season, we called in at the Dunure Inn for lunch - 3 adults and 2 toddlers. What a gem of a find! Warm, clean, welcoming, excellent staff and food made in heaven!! Half a lobster with all the accessories, chips and salad for £11.50? Excellent value for money! So good that we were back the next day for some of the same, except this time we were told there was only one lobster left but if we wanted more they'd send the boat out - 'it may take a little while though'! Where do you get told that if you want lobster they can take the boat out and get you one? I can't recommend this place highly enough! Thanks for a brilliant experience! Oh and - colouring in pictures and crayons were given to the children, one of which was good enough for the manager/owner(?) of the Inn to stick on the notice board - leaving one 3yo very very happy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCGILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

We arranged a family birthday lunch here and had requested lobster if they were available. It was great that we pulled in to park the car just as the restaurants fishing boat docked. The Father ( who is the restaurants resident fisherman) had been out and caught the lobster for our order- you can't get fresher than that!
Service was friendly and attentive, they really wanted us all to have a lovely meal. Food was fabulous. Our party are big seafood eaters so chef ( he is one of the dons) came out and offered to make up seafood platters of mixed fresh fish so everyone could sample- this wasn't on the menu but proved how fresh the food was being cooked and how versatile chef and his team were!
Lobster mains were amazing as was desserts- albeit very big!
The restaurant is in a great setting and this family are clearly going out of their way to make this a success. Good luck to them- we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Get_away_fr0m_it_all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Called in today while in the area. This was my first visit and certainly not my last. Food, service and surroundings were first class. Very friendly staff.......I will certainly be back.
I never saw the rooms as I just stopped for lunch, but the place was so clean and tidy and the views of the area just breathtaking.I intend to spend a weekend here in the very near future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamescoogans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked the Dunure Inn for an overnight birthday surprise for my hubby on 20th October 2012. We were shown to our room by one of the girls behind the bar. The room as lovely, clean and amazing views of the sea from our window. We did not eat dinner at the Inn but the menu looked good so we will be back to sample it soon. The breakfast the next day was good and service was very friendly and efficient. Cannot recommend this place enough for a romantic getaway and we will be back again as we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WandererScotland30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norn iron
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Went here while on holiday with family, lovely surroundings, staff very pleasant. I had lobster tails which were lovely, hubby & uncle had T-Bone steaks, which were cooked very quickly, too quickly for steaks?? The steaks were meant to have been 16oz ??? maybe 12 oz - although they both thought they tasted great!! Son had sirlion which he enjoyed too. Daughter had fish & chips & aunt had chicken & chips. Personally the chips I thought were not great - I would say thay were frozen! Would have helped if the plates had been warmed!! Cold plates in a resturant??!! which really is a no no.

Desserts were good!

Only advice serve better chips & WARM the plates.

But all in all very good so give it a go!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loppylouni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beith
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Food was very disappointing. I always have the 'scallop/black pudding starter when we go anywhere and this was the smallest ever. It was ONE scallop sliced into 4 .Poor value for £6.50(?). And the lobster was frozen not fresh, and tiny. Lukewarm FROZEN chips(why?). Haggis balls were dry and shrivelled, more like crumb balls the size of olives, and the batter on the haddock looked lovely, but wasn't cooked inside,and was soggy .For the price? nah. However, the presentation was very pretty, just think chef should try TASTING the stuff now and again. Had been here many moons ago before it was 'done up' and they say one should never go back and in this case I agree. The situation is very special and the outside looks the part, but we found the place plastic and soul less, its lost its little fishing harbour ambience, what a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Dunure Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
You should have complained about the food at the time especially if you felt the fish was undercooked. We could then have addressed the problem.

I would strongly disagree that the Inn is "plastic and soul less" -you will see from the other reviews that many others also disagree with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunure
7.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 17 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
5.9 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turnberry Road Suites
Turnberry Road Suites
#1 of 1 in Maidens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.2 mi away
Craig Tara Holiday Park - Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunure Inn

Property: Dunure Inn
Address: 17 Harbour View, Dunure KA7 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dunure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunure Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with stunning views over picturesque harbor & Ayrshire coastline. Restaurant with traditional food and weekly changing seafood specials. Comfortable lounge & public bar with traditional log fires. All rooms en-suite with satellite TV & tea/coffee making facilities. Two self catering cottages. Many local attractions including the world famous Burns' cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunure Hotel Dunure
Dunure Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing