We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunure Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunure
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunure Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Dunure B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We had a lovely meal sitting outside on one of the sunniest days of the year. Staff were friendly, but I do think it was slightly overpriced and service could have been, especially after our main course as plates were still in front of us 25 minutes after we finished eating.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon123446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    54
    13
    11
    20
See reviews for
61
120
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
U.K.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Dunure Inn overlooks a lovely little harbour in the Ayrshire village of the same name. A stunning setting, with a handful of cottages and a few boats. Views are stunning, especially in the sunshine.
Would highly recommend it for its food, the seafood was excellent with generous portions.
However, I would not stay there again. Our room ( 2 ) was clean with nice furniture , but our mattress was cheap and uncomfortable and there are no curtains, only thin white blinds. We were awoken at 3 am with the summer light streaming in. The ensuite flooring and shower grouting both need replacing . It advertises wifi in the bedrooms but it did not work. It did in the bar area however. At £90 per night it is not cheap. The cooked breakfast was nice but there is only cereal provided as continental.....no yogurts, fruit or choice of breads.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Visited the Dunure Inn on the last evening of our holiday for a meal after reading some great reviews.
Couldn't have been more disappointed if we tried. Everything we ordered was extremely overcooked and equally as tasteless. The mixed grill (charged at £21) consisted of various meats which were all exactly the same colour, not even sure how that's possible but wasn't able to even bite through any of it.
The child's meal we ordered was a frozen pizza which we couldn't even cut. The mussels were the smallest portion I've ever seen and the pork chop was nothing but greasy fat. The whole meal was terrible value for money and we didn't even stay for dessert!
The only positive thing I have to say is regarding the setting of this restaurant, it boasts some exceptional views which would make staying in the hotel worthwhile, just make sure you always eat out!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krystal0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen H, Manager at Dunure Inn, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I am very sorry that you were so disappointed with your meal.
I wish you had conveyed this to us at the time to allow us to address the matter.
As you would see from our other reviews it is unusual for customers to complain about our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have eaten at the Dunure Inn many times and the food is always superb.The owner sources fresh fish and seafood including lobster ( which may only be available at certain times depending on what is caught) and offers a range of top quality food on the menu from light snacks to larger meals. The pies and chips are also good! The staff are always very welcoming and friendly, service is brilliant and the pub/restaurant has a lovely atmosphere for couples.Booking is recommended at busy times.
There are tables available upstairs and more seating downstairs. It is located right on the harbour with a nearby shingle/rocky beach. There is outside seating but it is enclosed by a wall so does not have a direct sea view while seated.
Although I haven't stayed here, there is accommodation offered and it would be a great harbour and beach location to explore the local coast, Culzean Castle and Ayr.
Highly recommended for brilliant meals , excellent service and fabulous ambiance!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annbank
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Yet again the Dunure inn did us proud . After arranging a funeral tea for us Helen the owner Michael and bonnie and Suzanne all made the day special can't thank them enough x nothing was too much and treated the full day with dignity and respect that we wanted .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at this Hotel on 29/30 April. Superb place to stay. Fantastic views from the bedroom over the small harbour. The whole place spotlessly clean. Bedroom (room2) well furnished and comfortable although it could have been better with an additional comfortable chair. Great en-suite shower (small but perfectly formed) with lashings of hot water. All the staff were first rate and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. As for the food - it was first class they have a great chef. Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

A It is on Voucher deal, absolutely fantastic, staff couldn't do enough for us, they were so friendly, the accommodation is spotlessly clean and well furnished. The food was fab, veg was cooked to perfection, portions good and well presented. Sadly we had to leave after one night due to illness in the family, but we hope to return later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunure
7.0 mi away
Western House Hotel
6.0 mi away
Fairfield House Hotel
6.1 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
13.9 mi away
Woodland Bay Hotel
Woodland Bay Hotel
#1 of 5 in Girvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turnberry Road Suites
Turnberry Road Suites
#1 of 1 in Maidens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunure Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunure Inn

Property: Dunure Inn
Address: 17 Harbour View, Dunure KA7 4LN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Dunure
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Dunure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunure Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn with stunning views over picturesque harbor & Ayrshire coastline. Restaurant with traditional food and weekly changing seafood specials. Comfortable lounge & public bar with traditional log fires. All rooms en-suite with satellite TV & tea/coffee making facilities. Two self catering cottages. Many local attractions including the world famous Burns' cottage. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunure Hotel Dunure
Dunure Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing