We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Killer View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I recently spent a night at the Cape view with 3 friends. Our hosts were friendly & welcoming. The room was very clean & comfortable & the view from the room was amazing. I would definitely stay at the Cape view again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

We keep coming back since 3 years!! We have been here in autumand June before! It always was very beautyful! The hosts are perfect and the location is amazing! It takes you only 5 minutes to walk to Mavillette Beach! That location can be checked out with the webcam who is there, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fox2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Two of us spent four nights at the Cape View Motel and Cottages and loved every moment of it. The couple who run the place--Russ and Carol--are gracious and helpful hosts. They know about all the good places to eat, shop, and see.

The rooms are simple, unadorned, comfortable. But the rooms are not really what you go there for if you are looking for chocolates on your pillows and heart-shaped tubs; what you go there for is what you see out the window of your room: Mavillette Beach stretching as far as the eye can see where the Bay of Fundy (which has the largest tides in the world) meets the Gulf of Maine, all glittering in the sun.

You can just sit outside in the Adirondack chairs and watch the tide come and go (and the sun set), or you can stroll to the beach from your room and dip your toes in or, if you are brave enough to handle the chilly water, dive in. (I just dipped in my toes in, thank you very much.)

We also enjoyed the French Acadian culture in the area, which is alive and well here.

We looked into a few other places to stay in this part of Nova Scotia, and this appeared to be--and turned out to be--the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a motel room because the back doors open up to a view of the beach. The cottages do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this motel. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The rooms have a great view and are quite spacious. There is a comfortable sofa to sit on as well as a chair with foot stool.The bed is very comfortable. Love the idea of the old cloths for use instead of using towels if you need to clean shoes, windscreen etc. The wifi is complimentary and works well, continental breakfast is also complimentary and proper cutlery and dishes are used instead of the usual plastic and paper. There is a lovely friendly atmosphere in the breakfast area. Parking for your car is right outside your room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gazza53255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at cape view on a very rainy day riding a motorcycle.The owner was very nice and let us check in early.The place looks great from outside not to far from a beautiful beach . Across from this place is a restaurant with ok food but they couldn't get our orders right.
The breakfast at Cape View was decent and the lobby clean.
However....in my opinion the room was very poor with a lumpy old bad and everything looked very old. It is bare block walls. The bathroom is crying for renovation.One time there was a window in there, covered with plywood now.I feel bad saying this because the owners are very nice but my loyalty is with the travelers.(The cottages may be nicer,we didn't see them inside)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter-Goldwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell W, Owner at Cape View Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Someone who doesn't know the difference between tongue & groove cedar and plywood probably shoudn't be writing reviews!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night and were blessed with wonderful weather. We spent the afternoon walking the (almost private) beach and even got into the water a bit which was quite warm. We fell asleep on our beach blanket then walked some more. Supper was very good seafood at the restaurant across the road but we could have cooked for ourselves in the cabin had we brought the food, everything else one needs is there. After supper we were back on the beach to watch the sunset and this time there was only us...how nice after living in Edmonton the past 4 months! So, the cabin unit is clean, much bigger than where my son lived in Montreal, quiet until you are awakened by the many morning songbirds, continental breakfast was nice and the owners are very friendly, hospitable and want you to enjoy your stay....a great home away from home!

Room Tip: Bring extra layers as it does cool down at night, the cabin itself was warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tusket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This was the first time we stayed at the Cape View and we were quite pleased. While not fancy, it was neat and clean. The view of the Bay of Fundy from our back window was amazing. They have a list of requests on the back of the room's front door; and that is what they are - requests, not orders or rules. They all made sense to us. The only issue we had was that the heat was hard to control. We were there in May, it was still quite cool, and only one heater worked, but it wasn't the end of the world. I can't imagine why people would not want to stay there, so close to the water you can be on the beach (and what a beach!!) in about 5 minutes. It's a gorgeous place and we will return to stay again, that's for sure.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell W, Owner at Cape View Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thanks for the review Melissa.
We happy you enjoyed our property but sad to hear we had a problem in the room.
If we had known a problem existed we could have fixed at once or quickly moved to another room.
We are very sorry for that issue and it will be fixed as soon as the hardware store opens tomorrow!

Russ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mavillette
14.9 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
20.3 mi away
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
#1 of 1 in East Kemptville
173 reviews
14.5 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
154 reviews
18.5 mi away
Brier Island Lodge
Brier Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Westport
254 reviews
14.1 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Motel and Cottages

Address: 124 Lake Doucette Rd | Mavillette, Nova Scotia, Bow 2h0, Mavillette, Municipality of Clare, Nova Scotia B0W 2Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Clare > Mavillette
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Price Range: £77 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape View Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Motel and Cottages, Mavillette, Digby County, Nova Scotia, Canada is far enough away to be enjoyable, and yet close enough to have all the amenities of two Nova Scotia towns. Yarmouth is only 20 mile drive with Digby a mere 40 miles. Enjoy a comforting stay while exploring a picture postcard view of Mavillette Beach, Cape St., Mary's fishing village, lighthouse, Saint Mary's Bay and the Bay of Fundy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cape View Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing