We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cape View Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Fabulous 3 days at this clean welcoming motel. Carol provided great continental breakfasts with homemade treats. Most beautiful beaches, almost too nice to share with the world! Nice local restaurant across the street with weekly local musicians performing. Highly recommend this well kept secret!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We always stay in the motel rooms facing beautiful Mavillette beach, stunning sunsets and vistas. The best part is that you have a unblocked view right down to the water. Close proximity to digby if you're coming off ferry from st john.

Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnSand82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

About a year ago, while planning a get-away wedding anniversary weekend for my wife and I, I stumbled upon this location and I must admit, this place sounded pretty perfect. After speaking with the owner on the phone twice before arriving, he seemed very pleasant and accommodating. We were travelling with our dog and this was disclosed prior to making the reservation. I was informed of the three pet rules that have been mentioned in other reviews/replies and agreed that those seemed fair. After driving with our dog for 3 hours in the vehicle and arriving at the destination, we let her out to stretch her legs. Full disclosure-she was not Immediately put on a leash as I had to get it from the back seat. At no time did she stray more than 4 feet from my wife or I and she was on a leash within 30 seconds of exiting the vehicle. There were no other guests within sight and we were more than 50 feet from any building entrance point. A man (who I later found out to be the owner) immediately yelled at us to "get your dog on a leash now". Not really thinking anything of it, upon going inside to check-in, we were immediately lectured and reprimanded for our apparent neglect of the "rules". There was never any sort of greeting, just a rude lecture. We were told that if we didn't want to follow the rules, we wouldn't be staying at the establishment. Our reservation and credit card information was then ripped up and thrown into the garbage. Needless to say, at this point, there was no way in hell we would be staying here, even if the owner "allowed us". After a back-and-forth heated exchange about customer service and hospitality, with four other guests present in the room, I left (my wife had left when our reservation was shredded), aggravated and disappointed in the owner and the experience her was providing us with.. Having grown up in the Maritimes my entire life, this is not at all the level of service or hospitality I have come to expect from an establishment of this nature. And, as can be seen in previous responses by the owner, it is likely there will be some sort of reason or excuse for our experience, if the owner chooses to respond. Bottom line-if you plan to travel to this area with your dog, I strongly recommend not staying here. The owner simply does not have a clue about how to treat their guests or project a welcoming atmosphere, both key aspects in the tourism/hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell W, Owner at Cape View Motel and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

I would like a to say Sorry to all the responsible pet owners out there that we no longer accept PETS!
It is because of the people that think the rules don't apply to them and they can do as they please with there pets in a public space.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the Cape View on our last night of our Nova Scotia holiday. We were booked into the motel room next to the office (#5) and so happy with the stunning views of Mavillette Beach right out our back door! Russ and Carol, thank you so much for making our short stay so memorable! You obviously know how to take care of your customers! The Cape View is charming and very clean and the rates are so reasonable. Would love to return some day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I recently spent a night at the Cape view with 3 friends. Our hosts were friendly & welcoming. The room was very clean & comfortable & the view from the room was amazing. I would definitely stay at the Cape view again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We keep coming back since 3 years!! We have been here in autumand June before! It always was very beautyful! The hosts are perfect and the location is amazing! It takes you only 5 minutes to walk to Mavillette Beach! That location can be checked out with the webcam who is there, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fox2719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Two of us spent four nights at the Cape View Motel and Cottages and loved every moment of it. The couple who run the place--Russ and Carol--are gracious and helpful hosts. They know about all the good places to eat, shop, and see.

The rooms are simple, unadorned, comfortable. But the rooms are not really what you go there for if you are looking for chocolates on your pillows and heart-shaped tubs; what you go there for is what you see out the window of your room: Mavillette Beach stretching as far as the eye can see where the Bay of Fundy (which has the largest tides in the world) meets the Gulf of Maine, all glittering in the sun.

You can just sit outside in the Adirondack chairs and watch the tide come and go (and the sun set), or you can stroll to the beach from your room and dip your toes in or, if you are brave enough to handle the chilly water, dive in. (I just dipped in my toes in, thank you very much.)

We also enjoyed the French Acadian culture in the area, which is alive and well here.

We looked into a few other places to stay in this part of Nova Scotia, and this appeared to be--and turned out to be--the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a motel room because the back doors open up to a view of the beach. The cottages do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mavillette
17.3 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
16.9 mi away
Best Western Mermaid Yarmouth
17.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#4 of 6 in Yarmouth
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
#1 of 1 in East Kemptville
170 reviews
16.5 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
453 reviews
15.4 mi away
Brier Island Lodge
Brier Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Westport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape View Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape View Motel and Cottages

Address: 124 Lake Doucette Rd | Mavillette, Nova Scotia, Bow 2h0, Mavillette, Municipality of Clare, Nova Scotia B0W 2Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Clare > Mavillette
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mavillette
Price Range: £74 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cape View Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape View Motel and Cottages, Mavillette, Digby County, Nova Scotia, Canada is far enough away to be enjoyable, and yet close enough to have all the amenities of two Nova Scotia towns. Yarmouth is only 20 mile drive with Digby a mere 40 miles. Enjoy a comforting stay while exploring a picture postcard view of Mavillette Beach, Cape St., Mary's fishing village, lighthouse, Saint Mary's Bay and the Bay of Fundy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cape View Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing