We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
Review of Red Cap Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pubnico
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Cap Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pubnico
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The rooms were basic but very clean. I had a quiet and restful sleep.There are not many places to eat in West Pubnico, but the Red Cap Motel turned out to have a nice restaurant with tasty food. I would recommend the Red Cap for reasonably priced rooms and good food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2012

We loved this little restaurant,. We were on our way up the 103 when we needed to stop to feed our little girl. We saw the restaurant advertised in the Taste of Nova Scotia 2012 culinary adventure guide. We didn't stay at the hotel but the restaurant is well worth getting off the highway!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank firefighter1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

The Chef here is a young lady named Amy Scott, and her food is on par with any fine dining restaurant, anywhere.
I have been a Chef for almost forty year, and while I do not know who trained this Chef, "they done good" and should be very proud.
Wonderfully presented and perfectly seasoned, and do not leave without trying a dessert. The read pudding with a citrus infused simple syrup is something worth the trip.
My only concern is the early closing times, but this Chef is bound for big things, she is that darn good!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChefSteve56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed overnight and had dinner that night - wonderful food, very comfortable room, and best of all, they sent us a Thank You note for visiting them! Am now planning a visit during tourist season so we can enjoy the Acadian Village experience! This is how success is built!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NovaScotiaTollerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

The Red Cap Restaurant is both "a quaint, out-of-the-way place" and a venue that offers top-qualtiy, complex, gourmet fare. This is a (French) Arcadian fishing village and the traditional Acadian RAPPIE PIE (featuring roasted chicken) is incredible. So too the seafood -- especially the haddock with lobster sauce, seafood lasagna (with haddock, scallops and lobster) and hot crab dip. Wednesday nights during the summer there is live, local musical entertainment so expect longer waits. Great blueberry pie (in season) too. Staff is very friendly and utterly without pretensions. The motel next door is clean and economical. This is the perfect restaurant for any traveller looking to experience genuine, local, small-village Nova Scotian culture.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonfromHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had a great stay at the Red Cap Motel. We would definitely stay there again. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable. We were going to a wedding in the area and the motel was highly recommended. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bluenosers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Motel is very clean and family-run which shows in the attention to details. Windows open and air-conditioning also available but not needed with the breeze. But it is the food which makes going to this place worthwhile. The ingredients are fresh and local and we would go back for a meal anytime. Eat here if you are anywhere in the area. You will be amazed that seafood can taste so fresh. And the rappie pie- best I have ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pubnico
18.6 mi away
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
Comfort Inn - Yarmouth
#3 of 6 in Yarmouth
151 reviews
19.2 mi away
Rodd Grand Yarmouth Hotel
19.4 mi away
Lakelawn B&B Motel
Lakelawn B&B Motel
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
1.1 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
23.9 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Cap Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Cap Motel

Address: Route 335 | Middle West Pubnico, Pubnico, Nova Scotia B0W 2M0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle > Pubnico
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pubnico
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Red Cap Motel Pubnico, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing