We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place near Michigan”
Review of Eagles Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eagles Rest
Ranked #4 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We were looking for something close to home but away from it all. Port Stanley is a nice little town on Lake Erie reminiscent of Leland without fishtown. The house sat on a cliff overlooking Lake Erie with a wonderful view. The rooms were clean and modern and the breakfast delicious. The hosts were perfect. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank warblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place is seriously under rated.
It is a beautiful B&B but this isn't evident from its Trip adviser profile.

The B&B is located a little away from the centre of town but its a short 2 min drive into town so no big deal. Besides, it is really private and a relief to return to at the end of a long day.

We stayed in the East Suite which has its own bathroom and private entrance. The suite also had washer- dryer facilities which we were allowed to use.
We took a look at all 3 rooms in the B&B and they were all excellent.
The entire place has HUGE windows and is quite airy.
There is a fire pit and BBQ in the backyard which we were free to use. On our first night, the hosts put together a fire in the evening and we sat and chatted around the fire drinking beer and wine with the hosts and one other couple who was staying there.

Gord and Ruth were excellent hosts. They were very welcoming. Ruth is a very warm person and Gord is quite funny.
We didn't really feel like leaving because of the way they welcomed us.

Breakfast was good - we are vegetarians and Ruth ensured we had more than enough to eat - waffles, yogurt, muffins, pastries, a variety of beverages such as juice, coffee and tea.

Their fridge was always stocked and they asked us to help ourselves to anything we needed.

Ruth allowed us a late checkout without any hesitation as she didn't have anyone checking into our suite on our checkout day - she was very very accommodating and we appreciated that.

When we come back to Port Stanley, we will definitely stay here again and we will recommend this place to our friends and family.

Port Stanley is a great little beach town unspoiled by the commercialism of Sauble or Wasaga beach.
The beach is very clean and the water cool and swim-able.

GTs is a great place on the beach to eat, drink and hang out.
We didn't like Mackie's as much - it was overcrowded and the food was OK. People with young kids may enjoy it since there is a play area.
PizzaWorx on the beach makes awesome pizza - we ate there 3 times - there isn't much room to hang out there but the pizza and poppers are worth it.
There are other pubs and diners in the area as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k5shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

To be honest, we ended up at Eagles Rest because the better-known B&Bs in the area were fully booked. But we couldn't have been happier with the result.

Eagles Rest is brand new, open only since March, the hosts told us. The house is newly renovated and spotless. The room we stayed in, with a queen-size bed and a private bathroom, is tastefully decorated, with a comfortable bed. It's not huge, but there is plenty of room to unpack and spread out -- and a private entrance, with key provided.

We also ended up liking the location a lot -- in a quiet residential neighbourhood a three-minute drive or 25-minute walk from the centre of town. It's also a ten-minute walk from the smaller (and quieter) of the two beaches in town, which is accessible via a little path that runs between two private homes. For our sand- and water-loving toddler, this beach was perfect.

But the most important reason Eagles Rest gets five stars is the hosts, Ruth and Gord. They couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfasts were delicious and informal, the conversation was interesting, and they were so nice to our daughter. They even left her a couple of stuffed toys to play with, which she had a bit of a hard time parting with at the end.

We hope to visit Port Stanley again, and we will head straight for Eagles Rest. This place is the real deal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gonin60seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Eagles Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Rest

Address: 140 Brayside St, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Eagles Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagles Rest Port Stanley, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing