We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Victorian and friendly, attentive owners”
Review of Telegraph House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Stanley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Telegraph House
Ranked #2 of 9 Port Stanley B&B and Inns
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grand Victorian and friendly, attentive owners”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I happened upon Port Stanley on our tour around Lake Erie. Port Stanley was a pleasant find, and the Telegraph House made our stay so much more special. Wonderful location, great breakfast, and lovely porch for enjoying the cool evenings. The restored interior is worthbthe price of admission!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Telegraph House is an elegant, perfectly restored Victorian home that once belonged to the local telegraph agent. Its location on Main Street, just across from the harbour is within walking distance of all local restaurants and attractions. The view from the porch of boats in the water and pedestrians on the street is delightful.

Rooms are very spacious and accommodate an extra large king size bed as well as a couch, and table and chairs with lots of room to spare. All fixtures are antiques (or modern versions thereof) except the pot lights over the head of the bed that provide excellent illumination for reading. The bathroom is enormous, containing a large walk-in shower and a claw-foot bathtub with a hand-held shower. The heated towel racks are a luxury that we have encountered only in good hotels. They also are handy to dry rain soaked clothing. The silent air conditioning was just the right temperature, but could be shut off or reduced at the vents if required.

Coffee, teas and chilled water are always available in the foyer, and meals are served on the lovely porch when the weather permits. Breakfast is outstanding, with a wide selection on the menu. A bowl of mixed fresh fruit precedes the main course which may include eggs in various incarnations, plus bacon, ham, pastry, toast etc. Almost all the bread and pastry are home-made and all are delicious.

My excellent Eggs Benedict were served with the only home-made Hollandaise Sauce that I have encountered in any B & B; one clue to the fact that the host had been a Chef. Owners Jon and Vicky are warm, friendly and very accommodating. They display the expertise gained while operating a large restaurant for a number of years. Apparently they occasionally serve dinner, which we will certainly order when we return. Telegraph House is undoubtedly the best B & B that we have visited. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have en suite baths. That on the ground floor offers a private bath down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim ON
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Port Stanley and a visit to the Telegraph House. We have stayed here several times before and are never disappointed. It is just a beautiful spot to stay! The rooms are top notch and the breakfast is delicious. Jon does a wonderful job of cooking up the best perch we've ever eaten. We have compared, and there is, frankly, no comparison! The beds are super comfortable and the little extras are so appreciated. It is our "go to" place when we visit this charming village and have not found another B and B that compares to this one....anywhere. Thanks Jon and Vicci for another great stay!! We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roatan, Honduras
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This delightful bed and breakfast sits across from the harbor at Port Stanley. It is a real 19th century home, once the home of the local telegrapher. This a a comfortable, homey B & B. Rooms are large, well appointed with period fixtures and furniture, immaculate. Bed was fluffy and soft. Bathroom was a trip unto itself with a huge claw footed tub and a bottle of bubble bath! Breakfast was a true delight. I would recommend the pancakes or maybe the eggs Benedict or perhaps the omelet. John and Vickie are delightful hosts and made our experience memorable!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor and it was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnc47292019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland City, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I spent a couple nights at the Telegraph House this past week so we could visit with his cousins who were vacationing in Port Stanley, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have been to a number of B and B's over the last twenty plus years and can safely say that this B and B has reached the gold standard! (Note: We stayed at the Telegraph House a couple of years before to visit family and although we didn't review it at the time, the service and accommodations were consistent then with what they were last week.)

The room we stayed in was roomy yet cozy and attractively decorated. The bathroom was large and like the bedroom, immaculate. Additionally, in the bathroom there were heated towel racks to give an extra measure of comfort.

Then there was what all persons dedicated to seeking out the best in B and B's look for: Breakfast, complete with menus to choose from! And what breakfasts we were served featuring the innkeepers' homemade bread, homemade jam, omelets, Eggs Benedict, hash brown potatoes pancakes made with corn flour and fresh fruit and good coffee to go with the excellent breakfasts! (Foodies, take note!) Breakfast was served outside on the porch where we could enjoy watching people go past and look out on the harbor.

The Telegraph House is the perfect place to launch a visit to a charming and unspoiled beach town on the north shore of Lake Erie and be with family from Ontario. We live in Tennessee and found that the couple of days we spent there were well worth it both times we stayed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I'll make this review short.

Port Stanley has quickly become a favourite destination for us and on a whim, we decided we wanted a room during the recent Civic long weekend. The only place available was the Telegraph, which was fine as we had admired the B&B in prior visits.

Upon checkin in, Vicci greeted us and right away just rubbed us the wrong way. In fact, she looked my girlfriend up and down upon arrival. Strange. We mentioned that we would try and make it for breakfast, but since we were down for only one evening and visiting friends we weren't sure. We didn't make it for breakfast and upon leaving our room for checkout at 11, were rudely greeted by a man I can only assume was Vicci's husband. I said good morning and the only response I received was "Ya we're just going to need your card" I was taken aback, but had already decided that I'd never be returning so let it slide.

The Telegraph House is a beautiful property. I had no problems with the rooms or the amenities, except for the near 6 inch gap between the floor and door bottom which allowed every noise to enter your room. But if you are of a relatively young age (we're in our early and mid 30's) don't bother. The vibe was entirely wrong for a bed & breakfast and we will not be returning.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicci C, Owner at Telegraph House, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I also had to apologize to the room guests that rented above you for your noisy return to the house at 4:30 a.m. and your loud shouting and banging during that early morning time and the retching sounds from your bathroom at breakfast. I did provide a large bottle of free tylenol to your girlfriend upon check-out at her request. You are right in suggesting we are probably not the right fit for younger crowd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Jon and Vicci could not have made our stay more comfortable. They are warm and welcoming people experienced in the hospitality industry. You know people are passionate about what they do when they spend to attend expensive conferences to benefit their guests. The Telegraph House is 5 star and the food matches. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and it made the birthday one to fondly remember. Thank you Jon & Vicci!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Stanley
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 3 in Saint Thomas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoneridge Inn & Conference Centre
21.3 mi away
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
Idlewyld Inn & Spa
#1 of 41 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites London
0.0 mi away
Kettle Creek Inn
Kettle Creek Inn
#1 of 9 in Port Stanley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Harbour
Inn on the Harbour
#3 of 9 in Port Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telegraph House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telegraph House

Property: Telegraph House
Address: 205 Main Street, Port Stanley, Ontario N5L 1C4, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Port Stanley
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Port Stanley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Inn on the harbour. Each room has en-suite bathroom. Breakfast off the menu included. Walkable to all village amenities, beaches, theatre, restaurants, shopping, Port Stanley Terminal Rail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Telegraph House Port Stanley, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing