We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Telegraph House
Nearby Hotels
Glen Haven(Saint Thomas)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Comfort Inn(Saint Thomas)
US$82
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cardinal Court Motel(Saint Thomas)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$59
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
47
2
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
2
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfudgeeggs benedictb bcandy storebeds were very comfortablethanksgiving weekendexcellent locationcouple of dayswithin walking distancelarge bathroomsitting areabed and breakfastjonporchhostsstanleyharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Last year we stayed at the Telegraph House and commented on its excellent location, beautiful restoration; elegant furnishings and wonderful owners. This year Vicci and Jon greeted us like old friends and provided the same warm hospitality as before. They easily accommodated my wife's food allergies. Jon's Eggs Benedict (with home-made Hollandaise Sauce) were as good as ever. The breakfasts are the best that we have had at any B & B and the menu is extensive.

Once again we enjoyed the comfortable beds, warm towels, huge shower and bath, and relaxing on the porch overlooking the beautiful garden while watching the Baltimore Orioles on the bird bath. The Telegraph House is the best B & B that we have visited and we will return often to enjoy its ambience and splendid hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have ensuite baths. The bath for the room on the main floor is down the hall.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We visited here two different times and both times we have enjoyed ourself immensely. Our rooms were so comfortable and the food was fantastic. We definitley will be returning soon.
Our first visit was in 2011 and our second April 2013

Room Tip: Great romantic get away.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kidsr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My wife and I happened upon Port Stanley on our tour around Lake Erie. Port Stanley was a pleasant find, and the Telegraph House made our stay so much more special. Wonderful location, great breakfast, and lovely porch for enjoying the cool evenings. The restored interior is worthbthe price of admission!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Telegraph House is an elegant, perfectly restored Victorian home that once belonged to the local telegraph agent. Its location on Main Street, just across from the harbour is within walking distance of all local restaurants and attractions. The view from the porch of boats in the water and pedestrians on the street is delightful.

Rooms are very spacious and accommodate an extra large king size bed as well as a couch, and table and chairs with lots of room to spare. All fixtures are antiques (or modern versions thereof) except the pot lights over the head of the bed that provide excellent illumination for reading. The bathroom is enormous, containing a large walk-in shower and a claw-foot bathtub with a hand-held shower. The heated towel racks are a luxury that we have encountered only in good hotels. They also are handy to dry rain soaked clothing. The silent air conditioning was just the right temperature, but could be shut off or reduced at the vents if required.

Coffee, teas and chilled water are always available in the foyer, and meals are served on the lovely porch when the weather permits. Breakfast is outstanding, with a wide selection on the menu. A bowl of mixed fresh fruit precedes the main course which may include eggs in various incarnations, plus bacon, ham, pastry, toast etc. Almost all the bread and pastry are home-made and all are delicious.

My excellent Eggs Benedict were served with the only home-made Hollandaise Sauce that I have encountered in any B & B; one clue to the fact that the host had been a Chef. Owners Jon and Vicky are warm, friendly and very accommodating. They display the expertise gained while operating a large restaurant for a number of years. Apparently they occasionally serve dinner, which we will certainly order when we return. Telegraph House is undoubtedly the best B & B that we have visited. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have en suite baths. That on the ground floor offers a private bath down the hall.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redfox-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Port Stanley and a visit to the Telegraph House. We have stayed here several times before and are never disappointed. It is just a beautiful spot to stay! The rooms are top notch and the breakfast is delicious. Jon does a wonderful job of cooking up the best perch we've ever eaten. We have compared, and there is, frankly, no comparison! The beds are super comfortable and the little extras are so appreciated. It is our "go to" place when we visit this charming village and have not found another B and B that compares to this one....anywhere. Thanks Jon and Vicci for another great stay!! We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews