We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room so awful we transferred hotel after 3 nights of no sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
silverstone
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room so awful we transferred hotel after 3 nights of no sleep”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I can see there has been many positive reviews of this resort which is why we chose to stay here. I can only give you my personal experience from staying in room 103.
First the positives:
Overall resort is ok, the kids enjoyed the waterpark
Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice
Lunch choice was good
Snack bar was open all the time which was good when the kids got peckish
Now for the negatives:
We booked a Garden view room which we subsequently found out were ALL on the ground floor. The main problem with this is there are no nets in the window and with a main pathway in front of the patio doors meant you had absolutely no privacy whatsoever and we had to keep the curtains closed (which were filthy). The room decor is extremely dated and had a strong damp smell, this was very noticeable as soon as you walked through the door, it just felt really grubby and dark. There is no bath tub to wash young children so you will need to sit them in the shower cubicle with a curtain which leaks everywhere.
For 2 of the 3 nights that we were there they had 2 functions set up on the lawn directly outside our window. One was a huge barbeque night which was literally around 5 metres from our door, so another fun couple of hours keeping the curtains closed unless we wanted every man and his dog looking in the room. It was like being in a damp depressing cave. The room was also situated next to wooden stairs to access other floors and often you would hear drunk people shouting and clattering around which woke us up constantly for the 3 nights we were there. Where we were situated was certainly not family friendly. Make sure you go for the rooms on the outer edge away from the centre of the resort, it should be much quieter there.
We asked to be moved and would have been happy to pay for an upgrade but there were no rooms available and were told to keep going back at different times to check availability. I think if we were on the Harmony side we would have had a much better experience as all the rooms have been refurbished - but the money has been invested on the couples only side. Splash (the family side) is in a time warp.
The beach was a no go zone as it was covered in seaweed and 2 tractors were constantly going up and down trying to clear it.
We decided that we had no choice but to transfer to another hotel as we just couldn't bear to stay there any longer. I have read some of the managers feedback and I am expecting a strongly worded response but as I said this was OUR experience of staying in room 103 and quite frankly it was awful.
After being charged a £300 cancellation fee by the hotel we transferred to St James Club further up north. Thankfully it turned out to be a fabulous resort so my advice is if you get the chance, change it before you end up in 103!

Room Tip: outer edge and upper level rooms (3 upwards). Do not go for the garden rooms near the main resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosiefSilverstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Rosie, thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am truly sorry that Coconut Bay did not live up to your holiday expectations. You are correct - All Garden view rooms are on the first floor which allows you to walk right out to the pools and beach. I have just visited room 103 and I agree with a few of your comments. We will giving this room a full refurbishment in September. We have one or two rooms on the splash side to complete and 26 on the Harmony side to complete...Your comments regarding the sheers are noted we are looking to install a less transparent sheer for the first floor on both sides to allow for the sunlight to come in but not the passing eyes. It is comments like yours that allow us to continue improving. The entire team extends their apologies that you relocated during your stay. We hope that after our final rooms refreshing in September that you will allow for us to show you the true Coconut Bay stay...Please contact me personally if you are thinking about allowing us another opportunity to WOW you. You will not be disappointed.

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,269
    1,843
    485
    161
    116
See reviews for
2,437
2,037
75
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,683)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duarte, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall nice resort. Great food (both the buffet and the specialty restaurants). Very friendly staff. I usually go to the caribbean for the beach (the clear and calm water). The beach was horrible at this resort. It was extremely windy, the water was very choppy and there was a constant flow of seaweed, seagrass and anything you can imagine that grows in the ocean coming to the beach. There was a bulldozer cleaning the mess practically all day. Imagine going to St. Lucia and look at a bulldozer all day at the beach. When we went into the water all kinds plants were constantly touching you and made us very uncomfortable. Don"t go to this resort if you like the beach.

Room Tip: Stay on the top two floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kourken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Kourken, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your positive comments about the hotel are appreciated. We have had a very unique phenomenon over the period that you were here... There is a seaweed bed far out in the Atlantic that floats around stuck together and it is larger than the entire united states...It is called Sargaso...occasionally when there are strong weather disturbances like tropical depressions or hurricanes parts of this Sargaso Seaweed Bed break off and the residual heads for land with the tide....yes it is overwhelming, yes it messes the beach up for a few days and yes it is unfortunate that it happened while you were here...In my two years at Coconut Bay this was the second occurrence. We do everything in our power to clear the beach as fast as physically possible...We do apologize that this had a negative impact on your holiday...We hope you will visit us again

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Fabulous holiday … and superb hotel….. best holiday to date for us (mid July). We loved the beach and the watersports, and Pedro and Linus of the watersports centre were fantastic, helpful, great fun and they made the holiday for us. The kids loved the kayaks and paddle boards, with just enough waves to make paddling extra fun. We all snorkelled daily in the warm shallow water of the Coconut Bay reef and loved the windsurfing and kite surfing – thanks Guys ….. even had a huge Hawksbill turtle nesting on the hotel beach while we were there (see our photo). When we weren’t on the beach we were at the pools and while Javid was always working he never missed a ‘High five’ with the kids.
…. And the food, everyone mentions the food at Coconut Bay which was great, and the specialist restaurants were simply out of this world ! Rooms were good, spacious and had effective quiet air-con, but the Family rooms needed 2 single beds for the kids instead of a ‘queen’. The close proximity of the airport was a bonus for transfers (5 mins), and so few planes each day that it was an interest to see them take off.
Thank you Coconut Bay for a fantastic holiday …Way beyond our expectations for an all-inclusive hotel …... We’d recommend you to anyone !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear J and P,

Thanks for posting your review on your stay here at Coconut Bay. Its really great to hear such positive comments on the team here. They work hard everyday to ensure each of our guests enjoy their stay. We are glad to see that you were able to take in some of the water sporting activities at the Resort. I will be posting your response in the staff break area for all to read.

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at Cbay last two weeks July 14 with my wife and two girls aged 11 and 5. This place is excellent and all the staff are so friendly it is really amazing - special mention to the bar staff and kitchen staff (Martha - who knew us by name from one service) who constantly not only serve but entertain you as well. The pool and beach crew are always talking to you and both myself and my wife were really impressed by Dean James who had time for everyone. The food was superb from omelettes or pancakes for breakfast to special main dishes in the evening. We did try the Capri restaurant but the buffet was that good it matters not. The drinks were the best AI drinks we have had and we sorely miss the Perfect Harmony Cocktail sat in the pool bar. We spoke to Mark H a couple of times and would like to make sure he knows how good his staff are because they make it - no worries you can tell he knows.
We met great people from all over the world and wish we were there with them now.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and the king beds are massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRos2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear JenRos2012,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and felt the love the staff have for all of our guests. They are truly an amazing group of people.

We hope that we will see you again.

Cheers
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Just an appreciation to recognized tow wonderful people that make our Stay a memorable one

At the Restaarant : Kenny , the Waiter , go beyond the call of duty to assist us
At Room Service , a wonderful lady , Marianne take such pride in doing her job , we appreciate all the good service .

And yes , we will visit this resort again

Room Tip: lower floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Herman J,

We at Coconut Bay are happy that our team was able to add to the memories of your stay here. I will be sure to pass on your kinds words to them.

Thank you for your visit, we look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I were Coconut Bay from 7/26-8/2. We travelled as a couple and stayed on the Harmony side on the 4th floor. This was our 14th trip to the Caribbean and first to St. Lucia. Let me start out by saying the trip was great. The St. Lucia airport is small and easy to navigate. I had read online that CB is about 5 minutes from the airport. It is more like 2 or 3 minutes. Not even a half a mile away. This was terrific especially after a 4 hour flight. We arrived in the lobby around 2:20pm. Check-in took about 5 minutes. We had lunch and were in our room at 3:00pm. Our room was nice and clean and the fridge was already stocked. We had the concierge service, but really didn’t need it. Everyone at the resort is always willing to help and seem to go out of their way to ensure you have a great time. Our 4th floor balcony gave us a great view of the Atlantic and the St. Marie islands offshore. I think any room on the Harmony side is good because they all face the ocean and you will see the ocean, or part of it. The Harmony side had its own pool and bar. I only wished the bar opened earlier than 11:00am. There are more than enough chairs and hammocks and plenty of towels. Word of advice about the towels. Always try and take them from the adult side. If you borrow towels from the Splash (family side), they mark down your room number and if you don’t return them, you will be charged for them. At least that’s what someone told me. The Harmony pool is small, but it’s great for just going in and staying there for a couple of hours with drinks. There is access to the beach too from the Harmony side. There is Turtle Grass in the water, but the staff is cleaning it every morning. We went in the ocean several times and had no problems. It is on the Atlantic side, so it is not as calm as the Caribbean water, but it is still warm and you get a nice cool breeze all day.
The Splash side has two large pools. One for activities and one with a shallow area for the kids. The shallow pool also has two swim up bars, one for adults and one for kids. We would usually spend the morning there until at least 11:00am and then go back to the Harmony side when things starting to get a little noisy. We also did the water slide and the lazy river. The lazy river was great because whenever we used it, we were the only ones in it. Great way to get a tan. The Splash side also has the Beach Grille, which serves homemade pizza and burgers, chicken sandwiches, fries, salad, etc. throughout the day. The food was great there. Actually, all the food was great. The buffet breakfast was great. All the food was hot and fresh. They also served adults only breakfast in the Calabash restaurant beginning at 8:00am. This was a la carte. The resort has local vendors come onsite on Saturday and Tuesday. Also, you are never pestered by any vendors while walking the beach. At night, there are different local entertainers which always put on a good show. The only excursion we did was the land and sea which was an all-day affair. You get picked up at 7:30am and are back at the resort by 5-5:30pm. It gave a great tour of the island, but you go on the catamaran and then snorkeling and have lunch first. We were pretty tired at this point, but we still had stops at the Botanical Garden, a natural waterfall, the volcano and mud baths and finally a 19th century plantation for tea and coffee. It was good, but really tiring. I would suggest a ½ day tour. The resort is just nice to spend a whole day away. CB also has a small petting zoo, and Spot the Donkey dog that comes running to your feet anytime he sees you. There are too many employees to single out because they were all so nice and helpful. My wife said Kay was her favorite. St. Lucia is also by far the cleanest island we have ever been too. The people seem to take great care and pride in their island.
I know I am probably leaving out a lot of stuff, but send me an email if you have any questions. I had read some people say the planes were bothersome because it is so close to the airport, but there are only 4-5 flights a day, all in the afternoon. At that point, it seems that people are just amazed to watch the planes take off and then disappear into the distance. Take a look and go to CB. Great value for your money and you will have an extremely good and stress-free vacation.

Room Tip: Definately stay on the Harmony side if travelling as a couple. 4th floor has the best views of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MVER98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently returned from a week long stay at Coconut Bay and had a wonderful time. It was perfect for our entire family and St Lucia is spectacular. Everyone was nice and helpful at every turn. I was particularly impressed with the food at every restaurant. I could have been perfectly happy with just eating at the buffet for every meal as they changed it every day and it was excellent. The specialty restaurants were very good as well and we tried them all. We also liked the outdoor bar near the pool/swim up bar area where they made homemade pizzas for lunch. Our two youngest children, ages 6 & 8, enjoyed the kids club and made new friends. Our sixteen year old loved lounging on the beach every day. My wife and oldest daughter loved the spa and each had a massage. The weather there was great with highs in the low 80's every day and no humidity which is a great treat to escape from where we live in the SE US. And there was a nice, steady breeze all the time day and night.

I would highly recommend going on an excursion to see the island, especially the Pitons area. We went on a tour of the volcano, hot springs and waterfalls which ended with a snorkeling session at Sugar Beach which is on a bay sandwiched in between the three Piton mountains. It was the prettiest place I've ever seen and we had a great time seeing all the tropical fish in the crystal clear water.

The kids also loved the water park, the pools and playing in the water at the beach. Our eight year old daughter thought she was in heaven with all the food choices which were available to her any time she chose. The room was nice, nothing fancy but well kept and clean. The resorts grounds were also very nice. I have only ever been to a few islands in the Caribbean and liked each one but St Lucia is the only one that I would definitely come back to some day. The people are nice, the weather is perfect and it is absolutely beautiful there. We had a great time at Coconut Bay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GREG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
22.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
21.8 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
23.2 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 4 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing