We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great 16 days in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We booked this trip as an all-inclusive package from Air Canada Vacations, and chose this property because of the many online positive reviews. It is the only resort in the South of St. Lucia, and also the only one to have an Atlantic, rather than Caribbean, beach. Ocean swimming was not a factor for us; if it is for you, note that the waters here are rougher, and the beach has more (but avoidable) rocks than the resorts North of Castries.
Ocean swimming aside, this is a resort of pools, from a large activity pool, kids having fun pool, to an adults-only pool. In fact, one might almost consider this two resorts sharing a common lobby, dining room, restaurants, gift shop, and some bars. Effectively all the area in front of the adults-only wing is reserved for adults, with it's own (small) pool, bar, lounge chairs (the latter including perhaps a dozen sunning pads for two that can be rotated to face, or face away from the sun, complete with umbrellas), and very attentive waiter service, bringing not only beverages as asked, but circulating with snacks.
Our room was on the 4th floor concierge level of the adults only wing, and had a very comfortable 4 poster bed, luxurious lines, and a seating area with a couch, mini-bar (kept stocked), and a small but adequate for two balcony. Aside from keeping the room supplied with wine and a choice of mixes and hard liquor, at 4 p.m. each day a small snack tray was delivered to the room, usually with some fruits, pastries, etc., or small sandwiches. Room service was usually efficient, and invisible, except the odd time we were left without towels, but a phone call to the guest services desk remedied that, usually within minutes.
The snack service was welcome, but not necessary. The dining room, which is buffet style, has at least 40 hot dish stations, for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and there is a grill that daily offers at least two of meat or fish grilled to demand, a soup and bread station with two soups and a half dozen breads, and a pasta station ,also a dessert station (which includes a marble slab ice cream dispensary, a great hit with kids), as well as pastries and fruits. There is also a non-alcoholic beverage station, for tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk, soft drinks, and juices, and for adults, circulating wait staff takes orders for wine of beer, and mixed drinks, at both lunch and dinner. The food quality is very high, given the usual caveats with buffets (it is being kept hot, although they use induction heating rather than hot plates or gas flames), and there may be little left of a particular dish, and that a little dry (but the staff is very attentive, and usually within minutes a new, full serving dish would appear). As an aside, the only negative comment about this resort that I found on line was someone complaining that they couldn't find anything to eat - one has to wonder from what planet they were visiting - as virtually any kind of national or diet preference seemed to be catered to; certainly anything North American, British, European, vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, you name it, was accommodated.
As well, beyond the buffet, there are three a la carte restaurants, with a West Indian, Oriental, and Italian theme, respectively. These are by reservation, and, a very nice touch, families with children can only reserve the 6:00 or 6:30 p.m. slots; thus if one reserves for 7:30 one is virtually guaranteed a child-free dining experience. The quality of the food in these restaurants was of the same high standard as in the buffet, and all manner of beverage choices were available, including a decent wine list beyond the (very good) house wines (at extra cost).
Dining variety was enhanced by two weekly outdoor dining nights (but one could still dine at the buffet or in the restaurants) at pool side. One was paired with a Caribbean dance show, including stilt walkers and fire breathers, For that evening, side dishes were available from hot casseroles at several "food cart" stations, and two cooking stations run by competing chefs, trying to become the "chef champion" of the week with at least two, but more like three, dishes and sauces. The champion was determined by the applause of the diners. Another outdoor evening was based on a "country and western" theme (who knew that St. Lucians are crazy about country and western music). Food was self-serve from the usual "food carts". For both these, circulating wait staff took care of drink orders.
For those staying in the adults-only wing, there was a third outdoors dining night, by invitation and RSVP, at tables around the adults-only pool. This was a waiter service event, at least three courses; the food, given the challenges of serving perhaps 200 guests outdoors, of excellent quality, and very innovative.
A note on the entertainment. While of excellent quality, the acts are (at least they were for 2+ weeks we were there) on a 1 week rotation. So, if you stay for more than 1 week, be prepared to see the same thing over again.
A qualification on my note that this is a "romantic" hotel. True, but you have to stay in the adults-only wing, which can be very romantic, in your room. But, dining will be with families with children, and the central lobby and bar area will be full of little people. But, St. Lucia itself is conducive to romance; as always, your mileage may vary.

Room Tip: If you travel with kids, you might look for a ground-floor room in the family section, on the pool s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank GSyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Hello Waterloo...thank you for your stay and your review...It is rare that our Canadian Guest get to spend more then a week with us....We are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday. Your comments are very much appreciated and the team will be glad to hear that they made an impression on you and your family. We certainly hope we can host you again in the future and soon!
Thank you again!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,646 - 2,652 of 6,195 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

Where to start. It has to be with a big thank you to the management and staff of CBay for providing us with a fantastic family holiday. I have seen negative reviews and I genuinely cannot support these. Yes there are imperfections but without these expect to pay 50% more and the price point for Coconut Bay allowed us the opportunity to return to St Lucia some 25 years after our previous visit to renew our vows. This time we had our 3 kids ( 9,8 and 6 ) in tow.

Pre kids we travelled widely and have stayed in some very nice accommodation so feel able to offer a objective view.

I have read issues with the quality of rooms- yes they are not perfect but they are more than adequate, secure, spacious and in our opinion clean with fresh towels and toiletries daily. I have to admit when we first entered the room did have a musty odour but this dissipated within a few minutes and once we had unpacked we were perfectly happy. We had the adjoining ground level rooms which did mean we had to close our curtains at times when we got ready but this was really not an inconvenience and in truth rarely did anyone pass by the front of the room. When we did have an issue with the lights fusing it was fixed within 10 minutes
(something I have failed to experience at supposedly higher quality hotels).

The sea is choppy and there is turtle grass. If you need clear Caribbean waters then look elsewhere. That said we regularly swam and played in the sea which shelves nicely and has breaks to calm the waters. We canoed and snorkelled and saw some very pretty fish a few metres off shore.

Well that's it for the negatives ( which were not in our view as we knew what to expect).

The positives. Many people comment on the staff as if they make up for other deficiencies. The staff were second to none but that is doing the rest of the hotel a disservice. The lobby area is well presented as is coconut walk restaurant. Maybe we were lucky but I noted no more than 2 people smoking inside the lobby all holiday as most respect others and go outside. Blu bar is adequate although and I am sure that will have future refurbishment planned.

The food we found to be of excellent quality. The daytime grill we used daily for snacks including fresh pizza, chicken wings , burgers etc. Coconut walk was an excellent default restaurant and probably the best we have encountered with a good range of options for breakfast and dinner many freshly cooked in front of you. The two signature restaurants, Silk and Calabash were first class. Capri is slightly more down scale and possibly the poorest food option but nice for a change.

The entertainment was a bonus as it is not something you expect in the Carribean. Three good shows which the entertainment staff worked very hard to deliver and a family Karaoke were a treat along with many other early evening options. Well done to all.

The daytime entertainment was just right. It is there if you want it but not rammed down your throat. I played volleyball daily and also tried water polo, aqua aerobics along with some of the silly family games.

In between we played on the water slides which we loved and floated round the lazy river with books and drinks in hand.

Not forgetting the three excellent family pools.

The kids club was also an excellent facility and only let down by the lack of support from guests. It was a welcome break for our kids from the daytime sun and they enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately attendance is sporadic which impacts on some of the organised activities. Our kids also had tea some evenings which allowed us to eat out as a couple and they enjoyed an evening camp out, film night and pyjama party.

To the staff. Their enthusiasm and joviality and willingness to please appeared entirely genuine and they were very supportive of Mark and the rest of the management team with never a bad word to say.

I am not a great one for names so I may miss some individuals for which I apologise. Indeed many I would not even know their names as we may have only met in passing but all with a smile and a welcome greeting. Right from the maintenance team to the front of house.

A few special mentions however. To Samanfer, Charma(?) and the rest of the ents staff for their company. You would think that playing volleyball daily would make them experts but apparently not.

To Linus for his good company and advice on water activities.

To the grill ladies, Sevee and Melee for their good humour and lovely smiles.

To the swim up bar staff , Dillan, Corry , Kay and the rest of you for keeping my beer glass
(which seemingly had a hole in the bottom) topped up and introducing me to the delights of a Coconut Cloud.

To Matthew who provide us with a great riding experience and clearly loves his horses.

To the animal farm keeper ( apologies as his name escapes me) who went out of his way to introduce us to his new foal and to let my kids bottle feed the new born goat and clearly loves his animals.

To Kendal who provided us with a wonderful photographic record of our special day ( getting our 3 kids to look the same direction and smile is a feat never previously achieved).

Finally to Onita ( and to Barbara) for making our renewal of vows day so special. Given that this was offered free of charge with our package we were given a first class service and one we would have happily paid for. From the breakfast in bed, through the ceremony, the picnic and the flowers on the bed I truly thank you for a wonderful experience and one which still makes me well up (like a real man) when I think of it.

For those looking at Coconut Bay, rather than Jade Mountain or Anse Chastenet and have a positive outlook like ourselves then I am sure you will likewise have a great time.

Mark, I truly thank you and your team for making our holiday so special. We saved hard for this and indeed questioned whether we were doing the right thing. I can say with absolute certainty that it was one of the best decisions we ever made. Thank you for the experience and memories and I sincerely hope we can return one day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Happyfamilyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Familyguy...congratulations on your renewal of vows....and we are thrilled she said "YES"!
Thank you for such an in depth review...the staff you mentioned and all the team, work very hard to make everyone's holiday spectacular...We are so happy we exceeded your expectations....that is our goal day in and day out...yes we have our small issue share and there and every once in awhile a big issue but the team does everything in its power to solve those issues just as quickly as possible. A family holiday is special and we are thankful for your stay and your comments...we hope we will see you again.

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful time at Coconut Bay! The food was great and the staff was excellent (ESP. PEDRO). It was a mix of families, couples, and friends.

Good value and beautiful beach, water was a little rough though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LindsTravel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Linds and your stay with us. Pedro will appreciate the shout out!

Come see us again!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend in July after our original resort canceled on us.

While there is nothing overtly bad about the resort it just had a general tired feeling, in need of some refurbishment and upgrading. The staff try hard and were very helpful and the food was quite good in the buffet restaurant and Caribbean restaurant upstairs.

The resort had a feeling of a much cheaper place and general maintenance could have been better. For example, the metalwork incl. fire extinguisher holders were quite rusty.

The cleaning up of dirty glasses and plates could have been better and the cleaning of tables and surfaces was poor. As was connection to the wifi within the room (we were top floor) which was a cost addition (bizarrely for an all inclusive resort) which we eventually canceled.

Overall not an unpleasant place, just not as good as it could have been.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veryred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Veryred...thank you for taking the time to post a review...We are happy that you enjoyed your holiday and that you felt some aspects were quite good. We value all of our guests comments and appreciate the feedback. I apologize that you felt the resort tired in places...we aim to keep all 85 acres repaired, refreshed an manicured and it is something that is forever ongoing...there are several areas that are receiving a major overhaul in September 2014 as we close for one month to make some new additions and refresh some of our existing facilities.

Thank you once again for your feedback and

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 10 days in February with my 2 daughters age 13 and 17.
Room was clean and tidy each day. Shower was a bit disappointing but did want it needed to do.

Food was lovely in all restaurants and waitresses remembered our names.

Pool and beach chilled out and always had a sun longer.

Kids club my daughter enjoyed and looked forward to it.

Cocktails where amazing.

Looking forward to returning

Stayed: February 2014
3  Thank fiona t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Hi Fiona...thanks for your stay with us and thanks for the review...we are thrilled that you and your daughters had a great time with us...we look forward to your return!

Cheers
MArk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A nice place for family and couples looking to unwind and chill out. I visited the resort for my sisters wedding. The wedding was very nice, the setting a tropical retreat and the reception by the ocean was a nice plus. Wonderful being 5 minutes away from the airport. Check-in was quick and you were greeted with huge smiles and a glass of Caribbean rum punch! The food overall is good, but not enough variety for a dinner buffet. Calabash and Silk were excellent. Capri should cater to more of a Caribbean theme, flavour. The Beach grille is great, Wings are fantastic. Entertainment was ok. I live in cowboy country and the country themed night they have on Saturday nite was poor .. doesn't make sense on a caribbean island. Caribbean nite was good as was the tribute to the stars show. This shoulb be their main show. They do very little during the day. The entertainment crew is just not visible or active. Beach is ok. Not the fault of the resort, but it had way too much seaweed.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have a better oceon view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hello Kurt and thanks for the stay and your review...We appreciate all of our guests comments...We are thrilled you enjoyed many of our restaurants and the majority of the entertainment...When I first moved to St Lucia I had trouble wrapping my head around the whole country music thing myself...here's how it makes sense...it has been part of the Lucian culture for more than 60 years...there are country music radio stations and almost every Lucian can square dance...its arguably more a part of the culture than Soca music...there are dozens of country bands and its celebrated throughout the Island culture...so as I've learned you don't have to be from Nashville or Calgary to have Country music as your culture...wait until you see a 19 yr old guy cruising with the trunk open massive speakers blaring out Hank Williams SENIOR ...your mind will be blown...that's why Coconut Bay celebrates a St Lucian Hoedown Country and Western Nite....

Thanks again for all of your comments

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Spent a few days in the hotel and apart from the great food, beautiful and comfortable room...the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Encountered, Ulric Joseph, one of the securities a couple times while he was on duty. He was always helpful and polite. And the end of the trip we made sure we got his name, to ask for him the next time we returned. Overall, our experience was wonderful, and we will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends and families.

Cheers.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Anika J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay here with us at Coconut Bay. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you in the future.


Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
980 reviews
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
10.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
24.8 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range: £224 - £636 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 8 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing