We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“booked for feb again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Reviewed 27 August 2014

we where at cb this past feb and we have just booked again there for this feb. cant wait to get back and see everyone again and enjoy the fine food and the excellent staff. so we will see you again feb 9/15 Mark and your fantastic staff. cheers from Ottawa Ontario.

Room Tip: all rooms face ocean. higher floors have better ocean view. we where on 3rd floor harmony last year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank time2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello Ottawa....thank you for your note and the fact that you are coming back to see us. We love our returning guests!
See you in February.

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,689 - 2,695 of 6,249 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

I have been back from St. Lucia for about 4 days now, so here goes...

I went with my girlfriend for 5 nights and 6 days, just to get away before the school year started. First and foremost, this resort is literally a 6-7 minute drive from Hewanorra International Airport, which was great after sitting on a plane for 5 hours.

Instead of rambling on, i'm gonna try to make this as short and sweet as possible.

The Good: The resort had two sections, one designated for adults and then one designated for families. I love children, but i didn't want to have them running around me on vacation. We literally spent every single day laying out at the harmony Pool & Bar, with Mitch & Nax (go see them and have Mitch sing a song for you. They're both awesome and valuable employees!). The resort also offers additional excursions/tours that you can go on. If you're with your wife/husband/girlfriend/boyfriend and know how to drive a Manual transmission, go and do the drive and Fly through Island buggies! When booking it, request Loli (I hope i spelled it right). Loli made the trip amazing, giving us time to stop & take pictures, but also let you ROMP on the buggies through the streets of St. Lucia! I'm a car guy, so this was an absolute pleasure for me to be able to do. Yes, they are Right hand drive, but don't be afraid, it's a great experience! You literally take a 2 seater dune Buggy through the island of St. Lucia, to an amazing Zip line park. I'm not to sure what the zipline park was called, but request that Moses & Kenny be your tour guides. Kenny and Moses were Hilarious (So Salty), but they really took charge and let you enjoy. Kenny took the camera out of my girlfriends hands and took all the pictures and videos himself, so we didn't have to worry about dropping the camera. For a couple just wanting to let loose on vacation, this is the tour for you.
There was one person though that really WOW'd me and that was Benjamin @ Capri. although we were getting eating alive and sweating, i felt like i was at DelFrisco's back home. His service was impeccable and he was one of the most attentive people i have ever met. Unfortunately, we ate a calabash for the remainder of the trip.

The bad: Honestly, i'm not one to complain, but the food definitely needs a lot of work. I'm not a huge fan of all the twists and seasonings they put all over the food, so my quote for the week was: "NO SAUCE". although it's a little plain, the food tastes much better. If you're there with adults only and would like a great breakfast, go and see Hannah in the morning until 11:00 for some nice eggs and bacons in Calabash. They have a great adult breakfast that will definitely fill your tummy. Additionally, the worst part was that the hotel gift shop was just so darn expensive. I paid $14.00 for a bottle of bug spray that we pay $2.00 back home. $12.00 on a bag of Ruffles? I understand it's a business, but that is a bit excessive, plus i'd rather give that money to your employees as a tip. Bring snacks for your room refrigerator!

All in all, my girlfriend and i had a fabulous trip and met some super cool People along the way! Whether it be guests or employees.

Just some special Shoutouts!
Mars @ Calabash- Request him to be your server and he'll know what the "No Sauce" is all about!
Kerdy @ the Lobby bar at night. Super Sweetheart and takes some great photos!

Davidson@ bell services- he was a savior. I was craving a red bull and he ran out to the local market for me, since the hotel ran out of them. Really nice and didn't even hesitate.

Last but not least, our housekeeper Pearl. We did not get a chance to meet her, but we came to a spotless room and great note every single day we arrived back at the room.

One thing i wanted to note: For those traveling from the U.S, don't worry about getting EC. They accept (actually love) the american dollar. Don't do a currency exchange or anything, because i did, and it was a waste.


Thank you for making our first St. Lucia trip a memorable one. Can't wait for the adult section to get Renovated and come back!

-David

Room Tip: Definitely request a Oceanfront room, that is at least on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear David, thank you for the revies and more importantly your stay with us...We appreciate all our guests input and take note of your comment on your food preferences....The staf fthat you have mentioned including Benji truly are amazing and we are so glad that you had the opportunity to interact with them to the point that you were able to see how wonderful they are. The entire team really are wonderful!

Thanks again and we hope you will come back and join us for a return visit.

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The hotel and staff were divine. Excellent service and accommodation. The food in this resort is out of this world. Anyone visiting there must taste everything. I am not a greedy person but Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa's food will exceed anyone's expectations. You don't have to enter the restaurant to start salivating. Trust me I had a blast there and you would too!

Room Tip: "Choose any room. You would not be disappointed"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Learie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Divine...thank you for your stay and your wonderful review....We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Let is be noted this resort is on the Atlantic Ocean side not the Caribbean side.
The garden view means the ground level floor but the rear or the room does have a nice view of the grounds.
Resort is very nice but will be under renovation this Sept and they indicated will be completed in Oct. room is nice food at restaurants is very good, lots of activities for young and old. Entertainment is offered every night. My and my wife had great time during our stay August 2014.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Joseph, thank you for your review and your stay with us...we are very glad you both enjoyed your holiday and the food and entertainment...we hope to see you back with us again!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This was our second trip to this destination and we cannot say enough good or positive about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa! From the time we were dropped off at the Lobby (5-10 minute drive from the airport) to the time we left, we were treated so well. We were greeted by very friendly staff and a welcoming drink. The staff at the check in were fast and efficient and helped us to make our reservations for the Silk (Japanese) and Calabash (Caribbean) restaurants . A porter helped us get our luggage to our room which was on the Harmony side. The room was clean and the air conditioner was set at the perfect temperature. The view from our balcony was breath taking! The first night we were treated to a Manager's meet and greet with drinks and excellent snacks and then an outside buffet! The adults only pool was the perfect place to totally relax and read books - the bartenders were so much fun! We spent most of the day every day at the pool. There was an adults only dinner out by the pool one night which was a lot of fun so even the brief rain shower during the meal couldn't dampen our spirits. We made use of the spa and booked a massage for both of us. The turtle grass on the beach was interesting and it was good to read about what it was on a plaque at the coffee bar. The last night was another great evening meal outside with a country western theme.

The staff were phenomenal (so friendly and could not do enough for us), the food fantastic, and our room was very clean and well maintained. We were pleased to meet the General Manager as he was out and very approachable throughout our week.

Our first trip was in October 2013 and it was with our adult children. On that trip we did take in the ATV ride and the volcano/mud bath/mineral bath and swimming/snorkeling by the Pitons. So this time, we just totally relaxed.

We are on a count down for July 2015 for our third visit and CANNOT wait! All in all, Coconut Bay Beach Resort and Spa was an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The Premium Ocean View was spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank Mary-Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Mary Lou..thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us...we are thrilled your family enjoyed your stay and the team will certainly appreciate the shout out you gave them. The staff and management of the resort are committed to ensuring each and every one of our guests has a wonderful vacation and we are so glad that you did. We look forward to your return in 2015!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've been to the Caribbean numerous times, but this is the first time we decided to go for 3 weeks. That's a bit of a risk investing that many days and nights in one hotel we'd not visited before, but it turned out to be a good choice. St. Lucia has often seemed "expensive", compared to the Dominican Republic or Jamaica, however in my opinion the Coconut Bay offers superb value for money.

I'll not go into all the details about how close it is to the airport, how many pools it has or how great the food is and the choice of different dining options. There are already 3500+ reviews on TripAdvisor saying pretty much the same thing. The consensus is generally positive. There are endless reviews about what the beach and the ocean is like, the quality of the kids club, the entertainment and so on. I'll summarise it simply by saying - for the price it provides great value and it'll suit most people just fine.

If you do go looking for things to complain about, sure you'll find them, but that's true of most hotels. What I'd suggest you do if you aren't happy is that you make it known to one of the managers whilst you are there, so it can be rectified there and then.

As many have said, staff are super. We particularly felt that Kenny and Shay in the restaurant were fantastic, and can't wait to see them again when we return next year (already booked). Sinead on reception was very genuine and polite.

We sat down with the GM and had a good chat about this and that and it didn't feel like he was in a rush to get rid of us, so respect for this.

Let's wrap this up with 5 great things and 5 things they could do better. The could do betters first then.

1. Variation in entertainment - we were there for 3 weeks and saw everything 3 times. All good, and of course you aren't forced into it but some new shows next year please! The music played poolside also became repetitive.

2. I found myself picking up other peoples plastic cups and straws constantly on the beach, many which had blown around by the constant breeze. I hate seeing litter on beaches, but do feel it wasn't really my job whilst on holiday.

3. Door cards. These seem to "time out" every so often, and also get wiped if you put them in your pocket with your mobile. We had to return to reception at least 6 times to re-program them, although it doesn't take so long.

4. Teens - our 14 year old struggled to mix with other teens. Too old for the kids club, too young for the bars and club. There is plenty to do of course for all ages, just no "zone" for teens as such.

5. Uncomfortable benches in the beach grill (ok we struggled to find a fifth thing).

Now to the great things

1. Very relaxed attitude everywhere, no pushy vendors, nothing too much trouble.

2. The staff and management. Everyone is doing a good job. You can't say this about too many hotels.

3. Food, yes it's a considerable cut above the average for AI and that's being cautious with my words. I'd say it's the best AI dining experience we've ever had. Italian, Asian and Caribbean restaurants all super. Chocolate Extravaganza was a delight, don't miss it. Snacks delivered to the room in the afternoon, a nice touch. Top that with very drinkable house wines and premium brands drinks (good selection of rum), I couldn't have been happier.

4. 24 hour pools & hot tub. No rules here, night swimming was a treat.

5. Fantastic guests. We met some wonderful people from the UK, US, Canada, Trinidad and elsewhere and made new friends.

See you again next June, Coconut Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, higher ones have "better" views, but lower ones offer easier acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank seany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Seany, thank you for such an in depth review of your stay...you definitely were able to get a true appreciate for all aspects of the hotel and service in a three week stay! We appreciate all of our guests comments and suggestions and the areas that you feel we can improve upon we will definitely explore. The team will appreciate the shout out and your comments. We look forward to your return visit!

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Coconut bay resort is a great family resort with many redeeming features:-

Restaurants - Calabash is an excellent restaurant worthy of paying good money. Both visits the food was great but the service hugely different on each occasion. First time was extremely attentive right down to the signature coffee liqueur and the second time it was not even offered so when asked it was delivered begrudgingly, not the end of the world by any means but consistency is and should be key.
Silk is also a very attentive restaurant serving Asian food. The menu sounds great but the dishes are somewhat disappointing and not very hot.
Beach Grill is great for snacks during the day, i have to say this works extremely well with a great menu and a very simple queue and order system but it can get very busy at the obvious times. I like the soft drinks self service machine, a good touch.
Coconut Walk is a very good buffet restaurant serving excellent breakfasts (be aware that it gets extremely busy in the mornings and we queued every morning between 8.30 and 9.00am) and always doing something different in the evenings with a Pasta station one night and a grill station another and also 2 nights a week it closes and they do an outside themed buffet which again was very good.

The bars were ok, swim up bar was a bit hit and miss with good service and sometimes it seemed to take an age to get served. I understand the time taken making cocktails but if you want a quick beer it could take a while, this could be easily sorted to be fair. The main Lobby bar is a nice place and service is generally very good with a reasonable selection of drinks and a nice breeze running through nearly all the time.

The rooms were very good, we paid a little bit more and had a room on the 4th floor that just about had sea views if the wind was in the right direction and the palm trees were swaying. The room was kept spotlessly clean and credit should go to the room maids, i think from memory our room maid was Eugenie and apologise if i am wrong but she was excellent and also very friendly.

The resort itself is kept in excellent condition and credit should go to the ground staff. I know Mark (manager) does make an effort in this area especially on the Monday night Managers Cocktail Party where he gives credit to behind the scene staff which i think should be very motivational for them to be acknowledged. i did hear some groans from people who said the hotel was a bit "tired", TRUST ME it is not as we had spent the previous week in Smugglers Cove which is in the north of the island albeit a lovely place that is what i would call tired. Coconut bay is 40 odd years old but they have spent money on the place and i believe it is getting a further upgrade later this year.

The beach is fine and ignore some of the moans about seaweed, it gets cleared by a tractor, yes but it is done quite subtly and as i walked up and down the beach 2/3 times a day did not find it in any way off putting and believe me when we were there it was much worse than usual due to the "sargaso seaweed bed"" and bad weather making the seaweed break off and come to land.

The bits i/we struggled with:-

Tipping -it is an all inclusive resort so i was confused about who or when you should tip, the bar staff changed on a regular basis, the restaurant staff changed on a regular basis and not one particular member of staff consistently went out of their way to please me, now maybe this is because i didnt tip except for the maid at the end of my stay. Not sure what the hotel policy is on this but tipping DOES happen in the bars and restaurants.

Late check out - I asked for a late checkout within 1 day of arrival and was told i had to wait for the day before my departure. I was more than happy to pay for this but like a good boy i waited for the last day before departure to be told a firm NO to a late checkout. Being honest it was the height of UK's summer holidays and i guessed it may be busy so i was not surprised in some way my request was denied and i think i was only irritated at the way i was denied rather than the denial itself. I was told they had communal showers that could be used and in any other time that would have been fine but the few days before we were due to leave the area they were in had a failed A/C unit and the temperature must have been a sultry 110 degrees in there which made it extremely uncomfortable.(moan over).

This review is not aimed at putting anybody off and hopefully it hasn't, i am just trying to give constructive feedback.

Coconut Bay is a great resort and if you want Sandals quality (and its soulless atmosphere) you will be paying double so Coconut Bay is extremely good value. we will be coming back to St Lucia next year but still unsure on my choice of accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank johnp1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, General Manager at Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Johnp...thank you for taking the time to write your review...it is much appreciated...we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We agree consistency is the key and I apologize that there were times that your service may have been inconsistent. My good friend always tells me greatness is a process and not an event...we continue to improve on our processes...Thank you for the comment on the upkeep of the hotel...85 acres, 250 rooms and a constant salt air breeze...the team does work very hard at keeping the resort repaired and refreshed.
I apologize we were unable to grant your late check out and how it was handled. You are correct with an influx of UK guests there is often a struggle to get everyone the opportunity for a late check out. We are very fortunate that we are a busy hotel and we are required to have all rooms ready for 3pm arrivals...we are upgrading our public restrooms and departure showers in an effort to make this a much more comfortable process on check out day if someone can not purchase the late check out.
We truly do hope that when returning to St Lucia you do choose to stay with us again. But if not its a beautiful island with some lovely locales so do be sure to return.

Thanks again

Cheers
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieux Fort
12.5 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
987 reviews
20.8 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
22.1 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
10.9 mi away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
760 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Beanfield, Vieux Fort, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Vieux Fort Quarter > Vieux Fort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Vieux Fort
Price Range: £224 - £630 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 85 acres, Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa offers two worlds in one prominent oceanfront setting along St. Lucia's exotic south coast. Located closest to the international airport and the island's most exciting attractions, this all-inclusive resort features: 250 air-conditioned rooms, complimentary WIFI, 8 restaurants plus beach grill, 7 bars including swim-up pool bar, 5 pools (including 2 adults only), 1 mile of beach, complete fitness centre, oceanfront spa, the island's largest waterpark, supervised Kidz Klub, paintball, kitesurfing, snorkeling, kayaking, stand-up paddle boarding, daily activities, nightly entertainment and much more! Designed to please all ages, this casually Caribbean, incredibly all-inclusive retreat is perfect for singles, families, couples, weddings or honeymoons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Bay Resort St Lucia
Coconut St Lucia
St Lucia Coconut Bay Resort
Coconut Bay Resort All Inclusive
Spa Coconut Bay
Resort Coconut Bay
Coconut Bay Beach Resort St Lucia
Coconut Bay Resort Spa St Lucia
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa St. Lucia/Vieux Fort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing