We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a serious business hotel, but one of the few options”
Review of Varuna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Varuna Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Manizales
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed in Manizales for few days on business. The hotel is old and the rooms and bathroom as well. No double windows and thus the cold/hot/noise passes through easily. The staff was helpful enough, however the wifi was sporadic. Location is decent and the street is clean and quiet. The breakfast was very limited.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Varuna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

First: Location, location, location. Then convenience. And then the helpful friendly staff. See the other reviews for mundane info. There are no unpleasant surprises at the Varuna and a couple of nice ones.

Please Note: The Plaza Serrano is not a place - its a local restaurant.

When you come out of the front doors of the Varuna, look down the hill to your immediate right to see a little cafe where you will likely be having breakfast. Very close & convenient. You WILL get arepas with queso with your breakfast here unless you tell them not to give it to you. Also note: across from the front doors of the hotel to the left there is Carrera 23C. This street has your closest excellent cafe & EXCELLENT restaurant. The cafe is the Cafe Tal and the restaurant is the Plaza Serrano, open from noon until 10 PM. See the pictures. They are side by side on the right side of the Carrera 23C, just a few doors down, and if you stay at the Varuna this is the closest place to the hotel where you can find a meal much better than the usual Colombian restaurant fare. Consider the buffalo steak - or anything else on the menu. I was surprised that there is no mention of the Plaza Serrano restaurant on Trip Advisor: It has a huge write-up from in several languages on Facebook.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Enjoyed our stay in this area of Manizales - lots of restaurants and cafés nearby, and easy to get downtown by cab. Our room was large with two comfortable double beds, nice and clean, large bathroom and shower with good water pressure and thick towels. We had good Wi-Fi in the room.
Room faced the back and was very quiet. Front desk staff was helpful and courteous. Helped us get to the thermal pools one morning, which I recommend going to.

Lots of restaurants on every street in the area, so explore some of the side streets and discover your own. After our experience at a dismal hotel in Armenia where the mattress was as thin as the towels, staying here at the Varuna in Manizales was a good experience.

Only small drawback is I think they should include breakfast, although we did enjoy trying out the neighbouring cafés in the morning.

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and was quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This is a perfectly OK hotel to base yourself - a quick cab ride takes you to the centre of town; although the local area has a strip of fast-food joints to cater for the big student population. The staff are friendly but this was first time we were made aware of a tax charge that you may not have noticed as it's buried in the small print. The amount is (as I recall) c.7,000 pesos per night per person. The rooms are basic business spaces - try and get one on the upper floors (4th and 5th). Breakfast not the best but there are cafes close by. Wd recommend a cocktail bar, which have stupidly forgotten name of - out of hotel, turn left and left onto the main road, walk about 125yards and it's something like 'New Bar'. It's definitely not the best-looking or inviting at first sight, being on the first floor on side of a rather ugly shopping precinct, but inside the staff are great and you can sit back and watch non-stop music videos on ceiling-to-floor screens and the cocktails are fun - lychee martini recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VandALondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I chose this hotel due to its location, thanks to some Tripadvisor reviews and that made a big difference. The area around Cable Plaza is pleasant and feels safe. There are lots of restaurants and shopping. The hotel is okay. Staff was very friendly. I was annoyed that they charged a bit more than agreed on in the reservation. Noise travels easily through the building however, I did sleep very well. Though close to the busy area my room faced away from the plaza and I didn't hear any party noise. The hotel was hard to find for me. It is off the main street about two or three buildings. Breakfast was not included and at 11,000 was rather mediocre. My room was clean and my view wonderful. I would stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces west.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Manizales is a clean, friendly city built on steep slopes, on the hills around the Nevado del Ruiz volcano (5200m high), which is visible at a distance, weather permitting. The Hotel Varuna is a simple and clean business hotel, well located, close to restaurants, the Universidad Nacional, and the Stadium. The rooms are recent and quite large, with all the usual furnishings needed for a comfortable business trip. Service is fast and efficient. The breakfast buffet is modest, but includes local dishes such as chorizo, arepas and buñuelos, with excellent fresh local coffee and fresh fruit juices. A good choice if you are looking for a honest, reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malagueta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I've stayed here for 3 days so far. This place has a TON of problems. I would strongly suggest another hotel, maybe Estellar or Carretero.

1) The Internet is extremely slow at times. You can't use skype and it takes hours to do work that should take maybe an hour. On night 1, I had to stay up till 4am working b/c the Internet was so slow. You're talking about 1mb or less/second to some spots. It also keeps kicking my off the internet every hour or so and I can't get back on.

2) They lost my laundry for 2 days so I didn't have any clothes for work or for going out and I called 3 times to verify and was lied to about this.

3) The food/minibar service is horrible. I needed water and some peanuts late at night and was told for 2 nights in a row that the rooms are all full and thus there are no bottles of water or snacks for the minibar. The 2nd time I asked I was told that the guy in charge wasn't here today. So basically if you want a beer, water, potato chips, you need to go to the store before returning to your hotel at 1am.

4) The walls are super super THIN. You can hear the phone conversations of people next door. In fact I was watching tv the 1st night and was called at 2am and told that i needed to lower the volume. It was crazy because the tv was at a pretty low setting and the call actuallly woke me up.

5) The beds here aren't very comfy. I woke up with some huge back problems on day 1.

I seriously hope that my next days will be better, but this is not a good start.
If not Il be switching to Carretero.

Fast Internet and things like water and peanuts should staples in the hotel industry.
I would give this hotel 2 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FacebookVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manizales hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Benidorm
#1 of 12 in Manizales
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
#3 of 12 in Manizales
118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Carretero
Hotel Carretero
#2 of 12 in Manizales
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoteles Portico Galeria & Cava
0.6 mi away
Hotel Portal de Milan
Hotel Portal de Milan
#5 of 12 in Manizales
23 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Escorial Manizales
Hotel Escorial Manizales
#10 of 12 in Manizales
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varuna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varuna Hotel

Address: Calle 62 No. 23 C - 18, Manizales 170004, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Caldas Department > Manizales
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Manizales
Price Range: £46 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Varuna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Varuna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing