We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Than it Seems!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ecohotel La Juanita
Ranked #5 of 57 Manizales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2014

At first look, the Ecohotel seems isolated with no places to eat and seemingly far from the city. However, looks are deceiving. The owners and staff are very accommodating and provide for take out if requested and fast taxi service which is inexpensive to get to center of Manizales.
The view from the hotel is so beautiful especially at sunset and it was so nice to be away from the city.
The owners and staff are so very warm and friendly in addition to being accommodating!

Room Tip: Check the mattress when you arrive. Mine was initially bowed and lumpy but it was changed upon reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, awesome views from the balcony, nice breakfast, very authentic with rice crackers, room was a bit moist and therefore smelly, one day the water was not really hot, hotel is a bit far off but easily to reach with a taxi (cheap), very friendly and helpful owners.

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Breathtaking views were the first thing we noticed when we arrived at La Juanita. The cozy, clean rooms were secondary. It was hard to drag ourselves away from the wrap around terrace, where we spent many any hour gazing off into the distance. An electrical storm across the valleys even treated us to a spectacular light show one evening. The owner and staff were all extremely friendly and we were made to feel welcomed and at home. Our daily breakfasts were shared as we watched the numerous species of birds compete in a chorus of songs. As this hotel is a little removed from the busy city streets, we planned late lunches as there were no restaurants close by for dinner in the evening. All in all we were comfortable and will definitely stay here should we pass this way again. Only downside was a noisy dog next door the first night, but much quieter the next couple of nights.

Room Tip: From what we could tell there were no bad rooms. Some were a little larger but we were shown a coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GekoPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Had the most lovely time here. The views are spectacular, the rooms are spotless, the hosts were charming- the only thing is that it is probably about an hours walk into the city, so unless you walk each time or get a taxi the food is (except for a tasty breakfast) reliant on ordering in takeaways- to be fair, the takeaway food was actually quite nice but we hadn't anticipated that. We had some excellent tours organised, including a coffee plantation tour with Angela, from la tia conejo (Uncle Rabbit) which was one of the best things on our whole trip, and also went to Isabela glacier in Los Nevados, which was out of this world (the guide didn't speak any English but his Spanish was nice and slow so it was possible to get the gist, and he was incredibly knowledgeable about all the plants there). Highly recommend this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This hotel is somewhere between rustic and basic but its saving graces are the fabulous location and view, and the wonderful hosts. The room we had was very basic, with only an overhead light and no bedside tables of any sort, so difficult for things like reading at night, one of us unable to sleep, etc. The bed was extremely firm, which was to my liking, but my wife characterized it as hard as a rock and found it quite uncomfortable. The hotel sits on top of a ridge surrounded by hills and trees, with a great variety of interesting birds all around. The hosts are generous and warm, and their enthusiasm and love for the Manizales area and Colombia add a lot to the visit. They speak very little English, so for someone with no Spanish at all it might be a bit of a challenge, but it's still probably doable, as they're patient and good-natured about communications.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We loved our 3-day stay at Eco Hotel la Juanita and would definitely recommend it. The owners were at the hotel most of the time and were very helpful, offering tips and advise for tourist destinations, but they only speak Spanish. The best feature of the hotel is the wrap around balcony with amazing views and flowers. Breakfast with delicious hot chocolate is included. We paid $45 US for a simple, but clean room with two beds. Fish dinners are available; they catch the fish in the pond near the hotel. The hotel offers horseback riding and fishing. The hotel is on the outskirts of Manizales, but it is easy to get taxis to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RATS88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Luis Nestor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecohotellajuanita, Gerente at Ecohotel La Juanita, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manizales hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
Hotel Estelar Las Colinas
#3 of 12 in Manizales
124 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Escorial Manizales
Hotel Escorial Manizales
#10 of 12 in Manizales
21 reviews
6.9 mi away
Estelar Recinto del Pensamiento Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mirador Finca Morrogacho
Mirador Finca Morrogacho
#2 of 53 in Manizales
61 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hacienda Venecia Coffee Farm
8.5 mi away
Termales el Otono
Termales el Otono
#4 of 57 in Manizales
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ecohotel La Juanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohotel La Juanita

Address: Vereda Cuchilla de Los Santa | Via a La Linda Manizales, Manizales, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Caldas Department > Manizales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Manizales
Price Range: £19 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ecohotel La Juanita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer rural accommodation, we have 10 rooms each with private bathroom, hot water, some with bathtub or tub, jacuzzi, cable tv, wi-fi zone, parking, green areas. As strengths we have: * Strategic location, very close to the city 10 minutes from downtown. * Four urban transport routes, * Taxi service, easy access. * Spectacular scenery, *Bird watching, * Privacy and tranquility. * Complete information of attractions of the city and the region. * Meeting room for meetings, meetings, business activities. * Pleasant atmosphere to make you feel like family. *Path. * Camping Zone. * Spa service with a variety of massages so that your stay has a greater Wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ecohotel La Juanita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing